Also there will be scope for advertising too. But it certainly won't overwhelm the site. Have also a few new features that I'll test the water on at some point.
Would be good to see the squad on the website updated.
Hey folks, I'm going to be designing and setting up the new website. I'll take any suggestions from here onboard, whichever works basically. It's got some new features that I hope you'll be impressed with, but I'm going to keep it under my hat for now, at least until I get it up and running which will take a while. Your patience is much appreciated.
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Just to let people know as well that LTFC is now on Twitter as well which is great cause I think we were the only club without a Twitter page, the Facebook page has been a massive success with nearly 2000 friends so hopefully the Twitter page will be the same you can follow it @LongfordTownFC
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Facebook would probably get more if it was set up as a page rather than a person (if that makes sense - you "like" a page, rather than become friends). I'm probably a bit long in the tooth, but I only become "friends" with real people (and really show my age with this one - people I actually do know!). No idea whether it can be changed or whether there's other issues going that route, or even if that stops some randomer who's maintaining the page accessing my profile, which is the reason I'm a bit circumspect.
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Well hopefully the Twitter account gets used for news, updates etc as Twitter is very good for that if used right. The existing Facebook group is a bit "jokey" if it's to be the only Town presence on there. I know it wasn't officially set up by the club and isn't run by it but it's the only existing group or page and having things like "Harvard" and "St Mels" under "Education" and "Born on 1 June 1924" is a bit stupid IMO. Oh and the fact that it's titled Longford Town "Fc" rather than "FC" also irritates me!
Better than nothing I suppose and ye hopefully the Twitter is constantly updated with club news etc
Was thinking, maybe if we set up an official Longford Town facebook page (set up as a business page) and still publicise the existing group as non-official. (not the views of Longford Town FC etc). For the official pages, best not to offer opinions.
Yeah sounds like a good idea. Use the business page for promotion, news, some photos etc.
Yep, I like the business page proposal. Promotion of matches, links to the site, linking to (other clubs) highlights etc. I guess all these things come down to maintaining them, so fair play to whoever volunteers.
Any volunteers for the Facebook business page lads? Hands full with setting up the website for now. Also if anyone wants any LTFC-related news that they want to promote on Twitter, maybe leave a direct message @LongfordTownFC on Twitter or myself at padraigstapleton@gmail.com. Cheers folks!
Also live updates on Twitter might be a really good idea, if anyone's up for taking it on. There's a lot we can do with it.
Last edited by Pauro 76; 11/08/2011 at 10:22 AM.
I was asked by podge to do the stats section of the website which I will be honoured to help out.. I have compiled all the stats from 84-85 season to date so that can be put into the website.. I also think it would be a wonderful idea to put in old pictures of longford town squad and players on our website as that is something that is lacking badly... anyone with old photos either from newspapers or from the internet let me ,podge or sorbo know..
I wouldn't mind doing the facebook, but I just don't have regular enough access - no smart phone and it's blocked in work - same with twitter, unfortunately. Sorry Pauro.
I don't mind helping out with the Facebook page if you want. It would ideally require someone from within the club to decide what goes up on it etc. if it's going to be an official page.
have a litle experience in this field.
You can use twitterfeed.com/ to feed a RSS feed into your twitter account. (Pats do it) basically it means anything thats added to the Pats website is also announced through twitter. They provide the first few words and then a link to the website
You can set your facebook page to post on twitter too. So if you update facebook, or add a link, photo, event etc etc it gets announced on twitter. If its just an update and less than 140 charachters it remains just text. Any more and a link is provided
At its basicest, if the guy looking after the facebook just cuts'n'pastes from the website it'll still be 'official'. As long as the club know who's doing it so they can get something up, it shouldn't be a problem. facebook is handy for little bits of news that don't neccesarily involve whole web posts
Have a look at http://facebook.com/stpatsfc and http://twitter.com/stpatsfc