Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekends Latest (w/e 15 April)

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Pats 1 up (Anto Murphy) on UCD, all over them obviously.
    At that stage, they really were. Had been for at least ten minutes. But they eased up second half and we got back into it. Credit to Rusty taking off our best player (but not on the night) and putting on an untried kid - worked a treat. Pat's passed up three or four great chances before Rusky scored in the 94th minute. I think we've had more injury time goals against in Richmond than anywhere else (2001 when we were 1-0 up going into injury time and still lost particularly rankles), so delighted with this favourable stroke! Especially against a side who had 8 of our players from recent years on the pitch at one stage, any one of whom would make our current team I think.

Also good to see we can play a bit on a vaguely decent pitch. This season mayn't be as depressing as I thought!

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i dont see why there should be Cndystripe - it was a very exciting derby match that had everything, was played in pretty good spirits and it looks like the fans behaved themselves inside the ground for the most part. The only real point of contention was the red card and McCabe has only himself to blame for that in my opinion. We shaded it i think, would have deserved the three points but will take the one.
    Except for decent football!

If McCabe did swear at the linesman he can have no complaints about the red. I know it's not enforced uniformly but that's no excuse, especially when it's a linesman who has a reputation for not taking **** from anyone. Even with McCabe, I think the best we could have done would have been a draw and we got that, so can't really complain. We approached the game far too cautiously and got punished for it, so you have to salute the team and (belatedly) O'Neill for throwing the kitchen sink at the end.

I know we dont really have a strong enough squad but the team are not playing for Gallagher so he has to go, sorry to say it but its over James.

Ha

(I'm sure people will understand that there is a time for eloquence and clarity and that this is not one of them )
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Absolute cracker in Tolka tonight. We had our share of luck, Shels hit the bar 3 times, but we deserved a draw (in my totally biased opinion) and nicked a win. Coming back from behind twice to win, the sweetest of away victories. Roddy has us playing decent football too.

21 Posts
    City 5-0 Harps

Brilliant game and also a fantastic atmosphere.
    All the goals were very well taken.
    Great hat-trick from Graham, arguebly the goal of the night from Davin and Vincent Escude Candeau's first goal for the club .
    One of those nights you wished MNS covered first division football .

89 Posts
    Going to be a long hard season if you are a Galway fan.

Not only will it be tough to pick up points with that team, but you'll have to listen to the Spoofer as well. Nice celebration by McClean to tell him to button it....
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    Going to be a long hard season if you are a Galway fan.

Not only will it be tough to pick up points with that team, but you'll have to listen to the Spoofer as well. Nice celebration by McClean to tell him to button it....
    Must hve missed the celebration Kev.. what did McClean do?

Connor upset Derry fans?
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

2 points dropped by us. Should have won, should have had a penalty. Not a great match.

Hawkins was good craic though, header.

only in the door and all I can say is wow. We were losing 2-1 and I was settling for a draw if we could score but when we did...it was a oh we can win this moment. Rare to win in Tolka never mind by 3-2. Feck ya harps, could ya not do us a favour and draw with Cork?

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Feck ya harps, could ya not do us a favour and draw with Cork?
    They went close tbf.

305 Posts
    2 points dropped by us. Should have won, should have had a penalty. Not a great match.
    Your Hard to please ??
    I Thought it was a good game,good chances for either side to win the match and two teams trying to play passing footie on the deck. Peno shout was a biggg dive.All in all a well deserved share of the spoils.

305 Posts
    Byrne (audio) re-action V Sligo tonight
    http://www.dundalkfc.com/we-did-enough-to-win-byrne
    Last edited by bullit; 16/04/2011 at 2:18 AM.

17 years since we won in Tolka last....17 years! holy god.

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    Absolute cracker in Tolka tonight. We had our share of luck, Shels hit the bar 3 times, but we deserved a draw (in my totally biased opinion) and nicked a win. Coming back from behind twice to win, the sweetest of away victories. Roddy has us playing decent football too.
    Never mind deserved a draw Monaghan deserved the win.
    First half we got the early goal and then just invited Monaghan on to us. Thought we were going to sneak in with a half time lead but it was a lovely strike from Brennan.
    Second half we came out very strongly and Casso after hitting the bar in the first half had a great chance which should have been headed rather than volleyed. We got our second and should have closed the game out from that point especially with a couple of the chances we had. But we didn't and we paid the price. Monaghan were more clinical and stepped up at just the right time. Some of our defending was shocking though and that was highlighted by the last two goals. We had our chances at the end but again we weren't clinical enough.
    That Monaghan team looks much stronger than the one that came to Tolka last season.

123 Posts
    we seem to be able to step it up when we need to and get a goal but our defending was poor at time, you were 2 1 up at philly hit the crossbar which would have ended the game but we got out of jail and came back.
    on another note i heard sean brennan was taken away to hospital hope all is well with him
    oh and its a lovely pint in the bar sweet taste or maybe thats the victory
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Don text me this morn and Seanie is ok. Scary stuff.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    2 points dropped by us. Should have won, should have had a penalty.
    Either side could have won and most would agree a draw was a fair result. Penalty claim was dodgy, but the fact that Connolly did not give it provides no clue to it's legitimacy - at his normal card-happy inept standard.

Not a great match.
    Were you there?

Seems like the journos present saw it different to you -
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/...ligoovers.html
    Dundalk and Sligo Rovers played out a thrilling 1-1 draw at Oriel Park on Friday with Gavin Peers' 33rd-minute header ensuring Paul Cook's men returned west with a point.
    http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12541/2/
    Dundalk and Sligo Rovers played out an entertaining 1-1 draw at Oriel Park on Friday night after a Gavin Peers header cancelled out Jason Byrne’s early strike.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...w-2621345.html
    Fixtures between Dundalk and Sligo Rovers always tend to be entertaining affairs and this one at Oriel Park last night was no different as the sides played out a thrilling draw.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial
    Either side could have won and most would agree a draw was a fair result. Penalty claim was dodgy, but the fact that Connolly did not give it provides no clue to it's legitimacy - at his normal card-happy inept standard.

Were you there?

Seems like the journos present saw it different to you -
    Why do you bother?

If a Sligo fan says the game was crap, then the game WAS crap.

If a Sligo fan states the ref was rubbish - he could ref like Collina - then the ref WAS rubbish.

If a Sligo fan accuses you of playing hoofball - it don't matter if you pass them off the park - you played hoofball.

If a Sligo fan says you were awful - ignoring your 17 shots on target - then you WERE awful, and there's no arguing about it.

etc, etc, etc......
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Derry again looked fantastic at Galway. After a tough opening 15 minutes we started to find our stride with great passing football, something we missed last time we were in the Premier Division. Not really sure how we came about scoring our first two, seemed the defence just stopped dead with disinterest. McClean's Second was a cracker and Eddie's cross for McGlynn was a thing of beauty. Connor I reckon will have went on a serious rant on the Galway boys and to be honest some of them deserve it for Goal 1 and 2 however Derry in the last two games have looked a great team and I reckon top 3 is obtainable.
    Derry City FC, re-generated almost as often as Doctor Who.

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast