Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest 8/4/11

Two great goals by Kirby. Deserved the win, Rogers made 3 great saves for Pat's and it looked like he was gonna get them a point but luckily for us, Kirby stepped up .

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    apart form the last ten minutes mons dominated ,completely overran ye in the first half should of went in 3 up at the half .

Don't know if you were watching the 5 a-side astro game or the game on the hill with the cattle but we deserved a point from that game last night. Yes Monaghan dominated the first half but we definately bossed the second. Gillespie was unlucky with his free kick that hit the crossbar and we had two great chances one from a Gillespie corner and one from a Morley cross into Salmon only he failed to get a good connection on it. If Monaghan deserved 3 in the first half de Town deserved that much in the second half!! Was talking to a Monaghan coach in the car park and he even admitted Monaghan were lucky to hold on as they were camped in their own half for the second half.

On another note, was your No 11 an aquisition by Roddy or had Cooke signed him before that?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    And in the end it's Sligo who are playing all the hoofball so far
    Couldn't care less. Awesome stuff in the second half, if a bit nervy in the first.
    Pats deserved nothing for their lack of any ambition.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Couldn't care less. Awesome stuff in the second half, if a bit nervy in the first.
    Wow! You use the word 'awesome' for the second half performance??? Jaysus!!!! You're extremely easily pleased like a hooker who has just been handed a grand.

Sligo definitely deserved to win. We were even for the first half hour and then Sligo took control just before half time. We should have closed Kirby down quicker for the goals. Sligo aren't great, from what i've seen this season so far, Dundalk are a better side.

I think Sligo have earned the right to play a bit of hoofball to be fair. Good footballing side and everyone needs a plan B.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I everyone needs a plan B.
    Are plan B's readily available because Dundalk need one ASAP.

Buy new defenders.

Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    wasn't lack of ambition. just fitness. We showed early that we came to win and were on top and creating chances for 25 minutes or so. When Sligo upped their game we ended up looking knackered and sloppy mistakes led to their goals

Neither Sligo nor Pats played hoofball. playing the odd long ball, or defenders clearing it every now and again is NOT playing hoofball. Both teams tried to pass it, Sligo being that little bit better

Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    Wow! You use the word 'awesome' for the second half performance??? Jaysus!!!! You're extremely easily pleased like a hooker who has just been handed a grand.

Sligo definitely deserved to win. We were even for the first half hour and then Sligo took control just before half time. We should have closed Kirby down quicker for the goals. Sligo aren't great, from what i've seen this season so far, Dundalk are a better side.
    missing two of our main defenders. which showed on the right as we had little play going down that wing as alan keane like to get forward

good hard fought win, two crackers from kirby, a must watch on MNS. cant wait for tomorrow night now.
    another note, the pats no.6 impressed me

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Don't know if you were watching the 5 a-side astro game or the game on the hill with the cattle but we deserved a point from that game last night. Yes Monaghan dominated the first half but we definately bossed the second. Gillespie was unlucky with his free kick that hit the crossbar and we had two great chances one from a Gillespie corner and one from a Morley cross into Salmon only he failed to get a good connection on it. If Monaghan deserved 3 in the first half de Town deserved that much in the second half!! Was talking to a Monaghan coach in the car park and he even admitted Monaghan were lucky to hold on as they were camped in their own half for the second half.

On another note, was your No 11 an aquisition by Roddy or had Cooke signed him before that?
    we will agree to differ Id say there was about ten minutes where you dominated and that was the last ten we should have piut the game beyond you long before that anyway dont think roddy brought anybody in as the window was closed
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    wasn't lack of ambition. just fitness. We showed early that we came to win and were on top and creating chances for 25 minutes or so. When Sligo upped their game we ended up looking knackered and sloppy mistakes led to their goals

Neither Sligo nor Pats played hoofball. playing the odd long ball, or defenders clearing it every now and again is NOT playing hoofball. Both teams tried to pass it, Sligo being that little bit better
    I agree , 1st time i have seen Pats play football against us under mahon. Usually they just try to stop us playing in the showgies. Apart from the 1st 15mins Rovers were by far the better team.

Dodge has the most accurate assessment there. With Peers and Keane out they went straight for the kill in the first half, we were lucky not to concede.

Still delighted though, MO'N was at the game too. Looking forward to tomorrow night now.

138 Posts
    I was surprised by Pats to be honest, they got the ball down and tried to play a bit of football which is quite different to their last few visits.
    After about the first half hour where Pats dominated we really took over and only for some fantastic keeping by Rogers we should have been leading at half time.
    Good game, good crowd, good result and another lad on the scoresheet, things are kicking into drive nicely.
    Joint top of the table, pressures on MON.

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    we will agree to differ Id say there was about ten minutes where you dominated and that was the last ten we should have piut the game beyond you long before that anyway dont think roddy brought anybody in as the window was closed
    This might be a more accurate account of how things went!

http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12719/2/

288 Posts
    Galway United's "offside" goal on Friday.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Galway United's "offside" goal on Friday.

never mind offside - it hasnt even crossed the line!!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

21. Thanks From:

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Bad racist comment made by one of the commentators on that link when Ndo was being brought on.
    TUT TUT TUT !!!
    Quote Originally Posted by Fester View Post
    I heard that, think it was said in frustration more than anything else....not that it should ever be said at all.
    What minute was that? Listened to the recording and cant find it.

If one of them said it no ****ing way in hell they doing it again.
    5-0

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    What minute was that? Listened to the recording and cant find it.

If one of them said it no ****ing way in hell they doing it again.
    It would be easy to find it as it was said as Ndo was coming on .

Commentator 1 "Ndo is coming on"

Commentator 2 "black Cun*"

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    hey Stu - i was taking it from the extratime text service and the 1890 text service (2 seperate from each other!). They both suggested that we were very dominant with a host of corners and half chances in the first half alone. I know we are not excellent this year but i didnt really say that.
    Sure that beats me hands down; I was only at the game.

Ye were better, but far from "all over" us.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast