Thread: Get into the stand.

Get into the stand.

It kills me to suggest this, but in order to boost the support at home games we should consider ushering as many people into the stand as possible. Section O should lead from the front and agree to locate on a trial basis for a period of 5 home games and see if 120% vocal support will transend into a better return from our home games.
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Lightbulb

I don't know if ye noticed a flaw in the way your club operates its passes for the stand....?

Noticed this the last time down as bought stand ticket but never used.

- Buy stand ticket for match A.
    - Enter ground but take up non-stand seat.
    - Leave match with unused stand pass.
    - Use stand pass to enter match B, C, D etc...

i.e. unless ye make new colour laminated passes each game?

Has that not been resolved... I thought it had been

Quote Originally Posted by Xlex
    Has that not been resolved... I thought it had been
    And there was me thinking got free pass to Flancare for life

yeah a Pats fan tried that this year but they had changed the system...

its yellow for one game with the next i think..
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by Xlex
    It kills me to suggest this, but in order to boost the support at home games we should consider ushering as many people into the stand as possible. Section O should lead from the front and agree to locate on a trial basis for a period of 5 home games and see if 120% vocal support will transend into a better return from our home games.
    Eh, No. At least we go and sing and make tw@ts of ourselves without
    1) Getting píssed off with people not joining in
    2) Get into trouble over nips
    3) Get into trouble over language
    4) Getting looked at like we've ten heads all match.

It doesn't work at away games (niether group joins in with the other), so why should it work at home games?

This is not meant to be the start of another saga of the stand v section O debate, however, if this was attempted I have no doubt it would soon turn into such.

just one question, if three sides of the ground are closed , where else do you go....?? can you stand beside the chip van or along there ????
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Problem is that the atmosphere is brutal at home. Full stop.

You know I like being in Section O but it's an attempt to get people into the one area and to gee up some atmosphere because our numbers are hardly in the ascendancy. You could see how it works for the 5 games and then decide. I'd even suggest the upper right hand corner so as to keep the distance... I really don't see a problem with nips as long as some hoods don't get plastered and fall down that very steep stand.

I'll go with majority, but personally I am opposed to it.

lads with the quick nips, as xlex says, once the younger lads aren't falling all over the place you'll be ok...if they get locked and mess where the crowd can see you'll get the blame, wouldn't like that.

539 Posts
    personally speaking ,I would think of the big picture and relocate to the stand only on a temporary basis. As xlex said ,the top right corner will do us. goin with max powers point, the lads that take the quick nips are the older lads, any of the cheeky young feckers only get a gulp and no more!

And there is a guarantee that the Section O hardcore wont be fallin around the place as we are well practiced in it!

by the way, longfordian ,is section o closed for the shels match and what is the latest developments on the ground closure for the uefa cup match?

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MARTINHO II
    by the way, longfordian ,is section o closed for the shels match and what is the latest developments on the ground closure for the uefa cup match?
    Not sure about the Shels game to be honest..As for the UEFA Cup, unless we get an announcement of money this week then I would think it'll be played in Tolka or Dalymount, which both Bohs and Shels have offered us the use of for nothing.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    I would think it'll be played in Tolka or Dalymount, which both Bohs and Shels have offered us the use of for nothing.
    Fair play to both. I'd like to see that well documented in the media.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    3) Get into trouble over language
    Macy I have sat in the stand for a lot of the home games this season, the language in the stand is absolutely appalling , I'd say section O language is probably sweet talk compared to what I've heard in the stand. I'm surprise parents bring their kids into the stand.
    Besides it's worth a try to see if the atmosphere improves & hopefully HOME RESULTS improve along with the atmosphere!

Quote Originally Posted by gheewhizz
    Macy I have sat in the stand for a lot of the home games this season, the language in the stand is absolutely appalling , I'd say section O language is probably sweet talk compared to what I've heard in the stand. I'm surprise parents bring their kids into the stand.
    Besides it's worth a try to see if the atmosphere improves & hopefully HOME RESULTS improve along with the atmosphere!
    Well that's my other concern - I don't think most of us would take the negativity towards the team/management that seems (from what I've been told and read) from some stand dwellers to well. Only going to lead to conflict. Sure we'll know when Section O is closed (although when Section O has a roof the stand singers could always move over too).

Anyway, Section O tomorrow night or not?

245 Posts
    in my limited experience the boys from "section o" have the upperhand in the
    bad grammar dept

no the stand has got a lot worse in recent months....but secion O are more cultured with their language

245 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by max power
    ....but secion O are more cultured with their language

oh i was wondering what all the french and germans chants were about at the rovers match

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    oh i was wondering what all the french and germans chants were about at the rovers match
    It wasn't us, it was Rovers