Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Jason McAteer vs Stephen Cluxton

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    No, and a lot of running doesnt mean diddly squat. Any serious training session these days has very little running.
    What? No circuit training nothing? Thats probably why GAA training isn't adequate, its bloody too much running!! All about springs to the 14, 20, 30 and 40 etc etc.

Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    Fairs fair lads, anyone saying Cluxton isnt the best keeper in the GAA is either blind, biased or just a good old fashioned Anti Dub! He is far and away the best keeper and has been for 8 years or so now. Brilliant shot stopper, best kick outs of any keeper (vital in GAA), Excellent under a high ball. Mick O'Dwyer himself said Cluxton was the best keeper he had ever seen...EVER....in the GAA and that he had single handedly transformed the old role of the GAA keeper into a new Keeper and Full back rolled into one! Claffey being his equal, not to mind his superior, is frankly laughable to be honest!

Trigger is a mouth, we all know he is a mouth and from all known opinions of people who were at the match, he had it coming. And to then go on Newstalk and bitch about it was pathetic! And did you hear him with his "Cluxton cost Dublin and All Ireland in the past and lwet down all the people of Dublin" ..........like he has a clue what he is on about!!!

Must have had a quick "GAA Chat" with Mark Kennedy before his interview!

Regarding Bennocelts assertion about GAA players not being as fit as soccer players!!! Never hear the story about Geraghty at Arsenal no???? Any Galeic Footballer (not so much hurling) is every bit as fit as any soccer player. Easy
    Id say you have seen Claffey at best once. That was probably against Cork.

I would have thought intercounty hurlers at a high standard are fitter than their equals in gaelic.

That was written in adams autobiography, and in fairness that is just one example, it doesn't mean every single intercounty player is at that level, even if he was one of the best at the bleep test.

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    No, and a lot of running doesnt mean diddly squat. Any serious training session these days has very little running.
    That's just bizarre.
    Have you seen the Cork or Dublin footballers lately?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post

I would have thought intercounty hurlers at a high standard are fitter than their equals in gaelic.

That was written in adams autobiography, and in fairness that is just one example, it doesn't mean every single intercounty player is at that level, even if he was one of the best at the bleep test.
    They're not.
    Trust me.
    Being able to lash the ball 3/4 the length of the field makes a huge difference.

Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    They're not.
    Trust me.
    Being able to lash the ball 3/4 the length of the field makes a huge difference.
    +1
    If a player can bypass 70 yards with one lash, how is that the same?
    I play Hurling, Football and Soccer and I used to play rugby. Far and away the one you had to be fittest for was Gaelic Football. As a footballer i was a wing back, as a soccer player i was a right winger, in hurling i was also a wing back and in rugby i was a centre. In gaelic football you would have to be i would at least 20% fitter than any of them. Although none of them come even close to the standard of fitness needed for tennis. FACT !

Listen , Paul, I am not saying Claffey isnt a Decent goalie. I really amnt. I would have him on a level with Gary Connaughton, Brendan Murphy, Paul Hearty and Alan Quirke. He is a fine keeper, solid, unspectacular, decent.
    Cluxton is another level altogether. There is a reason he has so many All Stars, so many Ireland caps, and is regularly mentioned nationwide as the best keeper in Ireland. Its because he is. Thats not a slight on Claffey, its just a fact., Stephen Cluxton simply IS the best Gaelic Keeper in Ireland today. And a man with as much experience as Mick O'Dwyer said he was "the best keeper in my lifetime" .....thats some statement!

+1
    If a player can bypass 70 yards with one lash, how is that the same?
    I play Hurling, Football and Soccer and I used to play rugby. Far and away the one you had to be fittest for was Gaelic Football. As a footballer i was a wing back, as a soccer player i was a right winger, in hurling i was also a wing back and in rugby i was a centre. In gaelic football you would have to be i would at least 20% fitter than any of them. Although none of them come even close to the standard of fitness needed for tennis. FACT !
    Sports Billy here.

Chalk it down Play to a FAIRLY decent level with Claughan in the ol Gah
    Play soccer (poorly!) for Castle Rovers! Only place i can get a game!!

Played Rugby under age for St Marys (Limerick, nor Dublin obviously!).

Although none of them come even close to the standard of fitness needed for tennis. FACT !
    Every sport requires a different type of fitness. Football is more about pace and power whiel Gaelic football is more about stamina. Usian Bolt may be one of the fittest men on the planet but he couldn't run a marathon.

There's no right or wrong type of fitness, just whatever suits your game.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Every sport requires a different type of fitness. Football is more about pace and power whiel Gaelic football is more about stamina. Usian Bolt may be one of the fittest men on the planet but he couldn't run a marathon.

It's not really.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    That's just bizarre.
    Have you seen the Cork or Dublin footballers lately?
    Was talking about football. What, they are all beefed up and fit, wow thats good for them. Still wud be rubbish on a football field

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts

Regarding Bennocelts assertion about GAA players not being as fit as soccer players!!! Never hear the story about Geraghty at Arsenal no???? Any Galeic Footballer (not so much hurling) is every bit as fit as any soccer player. Easy
    What! Thats another one the gah heads like to peddle - Colm Cooper was the latest one I heard that was a great football player, had all the trials and the like, clubs lining up to sign him - but you know its much better to play gah in kerry than play football - Yeah right, give me a break!
    Of course footballers are fitter - its their livelihood, its a professional sport.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

Very true, i had a mate who did the london marathon last year, and yet he struggled at Gaelic Football training -when he finished the marathon i.e. a week later. The shuttle runs particularly. There are very many different types of running and very different types of fitness. Its not just black and white.

610 Posts

I played both hurling and football at decent levels and football definitely requires more fitness. It's also, believe it or not, generally more physical. Hurling is about hand-eye co-ordination, speed and skill. Football is more running and physicality
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

33 Posts
    Anyway Paul, the best keeper for the Rossies had to be Gay Sheerin of St Ronans although played midfield for his Club. Claffey has a long way to go yet but hopefully he will have a league winners medal in 3 weeks time.

He still plays for them the odd time ye nkow ltfc_2004

In goals though not outfield

358 Posts
    Different types of fitness are needed for different sports. Tony Buckley of Munster is a prime example - 125 kilos and he is 6' 5'! Usain Bolt better be careful.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345