I'd say kelly will play at left back, and Clarke at CB with O'Dea
Trap would select Kelly at CH over Clark? I would not have seen that one.
Did Kelly ever fill in at CH for us?
edit - I see from Stutts' post that nothing is for sure yet in that dept.
I'd say kelly will play at left back, and Clarke at CB with O'Dea
keogh looks poor but is there much point having him in the squad if he doesn't get a run out? i wouldn't be surprised to see mcgeady start and keogh to come on at HT. if anything happens to long we have nobody else (bar keogh) to play up front, do we?
---------------Westwood----------------
Foley------O'Dea--------Kelly------Clark
-------------Green---Fahey------------
--Lawrence--------------------- Keogh
-----------------McCarthy--------------
------------------ Long----------------
Just seen the released team.... nice to see changes, very nice actually, but has he made the right changes? A bit disappointed to be honest, but I fully appreciate that he wants to give as many players a chance as possible. I'll try to justify the disappointment.
He's switching from a relatively rigid 4-4-2 to a 4-2-3-1, yet he's effectively dropping two wingers from a system that thrives with attacking wingers? That doesn't make sense to me - surely if he plays this type of formation in Skopje, he's going to be accomodating McGeady and Duff in the wide roles; therefore shouldn't he play like for like tomorrow??? keogh cannot play wide - he has proven that for us. He can play behind the front man or as a deeper striker, and I do like him. I feel he should have played Keith Treacy - he impressed with his cameo against the Argies (pretty sure it was against them) and I'd have liked to have seen him. Also would have meant Keogh could have replaced McCarthy easily around the hour mark if needing to .
Same for Liam Lawrence- he will be effective as a RM in a 4-4-2, and would be better again (probably) to the right of a central 3, but I don't think he'll be that effective as the RW of an advanced 3 as in the formation above.
Fahey deservedly gets a role in the centre. I'd have preferred a different partner, but understand that there could be a need for a bit of grunt beside him (and because Whelan is carrying a knock).
Surprised Kelly got picked at centre back, but happy in a way as it means Clark is getting a run at left back.
Agreed that Wilson can count himself a tad unlucky, but I'm sure he'll get a half an hour at least, particularily if Green continues to prove he's not int standard.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
He's already said Lawrence is on the wing (he was asked directly about it)
Stokes has come over apparently.
Has Gary Twigg met the residence criteria yet?![]()
I think Kelly has played at least 45 mins at CB before.
It's a bit like the Lions midweek team.
Oh god that Centre defence is very very inexperienced. Is Forlan starting tomorrow night? I would have thought it will be like this:
Foley O'Dea Clark Kelly.
Am sure Kelly played left back quite a bit for Bham (and did reasonably well too).
In a sense im glad to see the new faces, just keeps the squad keen and good to have the younger lads show what they can do.
Positive are another game for WW, McCarthy, Clark, O'Dea. Lawrence deserves a chance to stake a claim for first XI. Im not so sure about Keogh though, presumably Walters isnt about?
This would appear to be our bench options:
Darren Randolph
David Forde
Marc Wilson
Darron Gibson
Glenn Whelan
Aiden McGeady/Andy Keogh
Keith Treacy
Anthony Stokes
The only reason I can see for the possible Kelly at CH Clark at LB is that Trap's considering Clark in that position for Macedonia away
Kelly replaced O'Dea in the centre against Norway for the last 30/35 minutes. I don't recall any other time he has played there for us.
Damien Delaney was also called into the squad for the bench.
Wilson has gone home injured/ill
FAI have Keogh down as starting. Jaysus.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...medium=twitter
"We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo
I would prefer to see a left-footer at LB for balance, and Clark over O'Dea because we should give him some runs there before Macedonia game. Kelly being captain suggests that he'll line out at CB, just for no other reason that CB is a captain-type position. Flimsly logic but it kind of makes sense.