Page 7 of 19 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Uruguay - Tuesday, 29th March 2011 - Friendly

i think westwood should have done better with the goal.he sorted dived to the ground rather than coming out legs spread like the second half great save

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    tricky if he plays your formation then ill be ****ed off that its koegh on the wing and lesser extent Lawrence.imagine Mccarthy with mcgeady and Duff on the wings?i think Mccarthy behind koegh and long could be good.but that goes against him saying he wouldn't change the formation or system which i think Geysir mentioned last week.
    ------Goalie------
    RB-----CB---CB----LB
    Lawrence--McCarthy-Green--Fahey
    ----Long--Keogh----

I'm pretty sure this will be the formation.
    Will find out soon enough.

675 Posts
    i think westwood should have done better with the goal.he sorted dived to the ground rather than coming out legs spread like the second half great save
    Can't agree with you there (it's a habit) - they guy controlled well and had the perfect opportunity to shoot, all Westwood could was rush him and hope he fluffed it. Can't blame him much more more than any keeper for any ordinary goal they've ever conceded.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

not according to sky and That's what goes with what trap was saying.fields sounds good there on Tele.

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Can't agree with you there (it's a habit) - they guy controlled well and had the perfect opportunity to shoot, all Westwood could was rush him and hope he fluffed it. Can't blame him much more more than any keeper for any ordinary goal they've ever conceded.
    if you see when he anticipates the turn he didn't come out quick enough and when he came he dives backwards instead of sprawls himself out and covering the obvious right corner.

1,928 Posts
    That's Clark's prospects banjaxed for sure.

621 Posts
    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh good shot, was a bit of a rocket.

675 Posts
    if you see when he anticipates the turn he didn't come out quick enough and when he came he dives backwards instead of sprawls himself out and covering the obvious right corner.
    It's the easiest thing to say of any goalkeeper in hindsight - if he had of just dived a certain way, he'd have saved it. It's not that simple for goalkeeper just to make the right call when a player is ten yards from goal with an easy opportunity having just turned the defender. Westwood only had 1-2 seconds to react after Dunne was turned.

Played some nice stuff so far. Bit of outrageous skill from Clark. McCarthy looks super comfortable.

EDIT - Just typed that, soft goal. Not surprising if our defence take time to settle but that was far too easy. Can't make it out properly, was it O'Dea's man?

675 Posts
    And 1-1! Great ball from Lawrence, good finish. Great response. All off the back of some nice midfield work. I'm really enjoying our passing around the middle, though Uruguay do appear to be standing off us somewhat.

2,771 Posts
    go on the ShLong.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

odea caught out on 3 occasions.over the top,the goal and turned very easy.he looks so cumbersome and dozwy.oh wait he justified his selection against Macedonia so we don't need to worry

621 Posts
    Good header from Long shades of Nial Quinn.

2,771 Posts
    terrible defending for their second there.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

621 Posts
    Could see that one coming he had far too much space.

2-1 Uruguay

Uruguayan winger went past 3 players there awful easily before sliding in Cavani.

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    It's the easiest thing to say of any goalkeeper in hindsight - if he had of just dived a certain way, he'd have saved it. It's not that simple for goalkeeper just to make the right call when a player is ten yards from goal with an easy opportunity having just turned the defender. Westwood only had 1-2 seconds to react after Dunne was turned.

Played some nice stuff so far. Bit of outrageous skill from Clark. McCarthy looks super comfortable.o

EDIT - Just typed that, soft goal. Not surprising if our defence take time to settle but that was far too easy. Can't make it out properly, was it O'Dea's man?
    no you don't you go averages and what generally works and he didnt

2,771 Posts
    this is a good game really. Very open. Both teams poor.

2,771 Posts
    lovely one touch stuff from McCarthy and Fahey there.

Clark and fahey doing well.Mccarthy needs to get more involved.green doing ok too.

1,825 Posts
    Thanks lads. looking for a proxy here to make bet 365 work
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Page 7 of 19 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast