Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Trouble outside Stadiums

63 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Put May 7th down in your diary and check this mb for the awful tales of woe from the previous night's away fans.
    Grand so, I'll let the Derry team know you seem convinced they won't make it out of Dublin without being attacked. Out of curiosity, have you any photos of the damage caused?

Honestly, will you stop going on about Rovers fans are scum! I am fully aware that a few arseholes in Rovers colours cause trouble. Real Rovers fans, and I would imagine all the Rovers fans on here dont want them at the club. As i was entering Tallaght stadium for the Pats game 4 Gardai and 3 stewards were preventing 6 lads from going in, so there is action being taken. I wouldnt call Pats / Dundalk / Bohs fans scum despite having a bad element. But I sure would expect the Shamrock Rovers Board, The local Gardai and/or South Dublin county council to ensure whoever visits Tallaght Stadium that they can come and go from the stadium safely.

Had St Pats had there bus bricked, I wouldn't turn around all smug like some people on here and say they brought that upon themselves because my mother and 2 younger sisters had fireworks thrown at them from the Emmet road leaving a match one night. I would be disappointed that Shamrock Rovers displayed a lack of professionalism and not provided basic safety for decent human beings wanting to support their club (and support ours by paying an admission fee)

All in all, I genuinely like people who support our league and I take great pride in wearing my colours in Spain and have people ask me what team is that or getting a bit of stick from other fans of the league on holiday. What I HATE is this stupid, childish mentality shown on forums, where people cant even make valid points on a topic because god forbid they agreed with a shams fan or a sligo / pats / bohs fan. Too busy slating people or a club than reading whats been said before it.

2,771 Posts
    1) were you safe in the stadium? That is all that DCFC can assure anyone - why are you ignoring this point?? If you went to a gig in the olympia and your car was attacked on Dame Street on the way home would you blame the organisers of the gig or the owners of the Olympia?

2) is there any actual evidence of the attack on the bus or some photos of the damage caused?? All we seem to be going on is internet rumour.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    2) is there any actual evidence of the attack on the bus or some photos of the damage caused?? All we seem to be going on is internet rumour.
    I'm sure there are lots of pictures of shams supporters getting stoned.

Just not sure about the evidence of an attack.

445 Posts
    [QUOTE=SkStu;1470598

2) is there any actual evidence of the attack on the bus or some photos of the damage caused?? All we seem to be going on is internet rumour.[/QUOTE]

Had 2 mates on one of the buses, They were texting me about it on the way home before it came up on here so I'd say its true, Unless you think they all came up with a plan to go on the internet and text their mates and make up a lie so Rovers fans can look like the victims for once............. well it is a long trip home from Derry
    Here on a technicality.

2,771 Posts
    its usually the first question asked and the first thing you have to provide once you make accusations on this forum (we were ordered to provide evidence of the racist chants at Ndo - Bohs fans didnt decide to make it up). I dont not believe it, what may be at doubt is how serious the attack was.

My first point was my main point and actually i think its the only point that really matters.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alltogethernow View Post
    How can Rovers not expect this type of reaction when their board do nothing to stop it?? They don't bother banning people, more interested in their €€€€€
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    if Rovers are scum/ how much security a football club should provide to visiting fans. . .
    I know that Dundalk officials were scathing in their private comments about the lack of co-operation from Shamrock Rovers for their visits to Oriel Park last season. There was plenty of posturing from the Rovers chairman after the infamous events in their first visit to Oriel, but little co-operation with advance ticket sales or stewarding.

Attacks on fans inside or outside a stadium are unacceptable, but it is beyond time that the Shamrock Rovers board got serious and genuine about the issues and stopped paying lip service

Ezeikial, so if you are aware of the Rovers board not helping Dundalk in their efforts to provide security then this is exactly what I want to hear.. it is far more helpful than some sligo fan making the same statement for the 100th time that all shamrock rovers fans are scum! I am slightly annoyed if thats true because i am aware of several cases of people being banned from tallaght and away trips too. A very valid point might be for Derry City to turn around and say well we will give you 200 tickets on the condition you provide or pay for 50 steward to seperate your fans or something of that nature. The Rovers board have an obligation too.

and SKSTU, had the people attending the event at the Olympia been attacked on a frequent basis the Gardai would cancel the event after the 4th or 5th time. Or take other action.

22 Posts
    Paul, as I gather it there was no issue with the Rovers fans inside the ground. The attacks occurred outside the ground, essentially outside the remit of DCFC. They are still totally unacceptable. However, it is still a bit of a balancing act in Derry at the minute with regards the police, and I've seen their presence in the city centre at closing time start riots. Calls for a police presence outside the ground would unfortunately cause more problems than they would solve at this time. And calls for Derry to be made to play their matches elsewhere? Anyone who has an inkling of our club's history knows that idea is a complete non-runner. Maybe a better idea would be segregated parking for Rovers/opposition support inside the Showgrounds, with the provision of alternative exit routes for buses and cars.
    Out of interest, do you know where the attacks occurred? I'm not **** stirring, just would like to know the area, whether it was still the Brandywell area or further afield?
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EivissaPaul View Post

and SKSTU, had the people attending the event at the Olympia been attacked on a frequent basis the Gardai would cancel the event after the 4th or 5th time. Or take other action.
    i would hope that they would attempt to police Dame Street better and that cancelling an event would therefore be needless - again the resolution you have proposed to the hypothetical situation doesnt involve the Olympia or gig organisers so i think youre being a bit disingenuous laying the blame at the door of DCFC. The bottom line is that there is very little that DCFC can do to ensure your safety Paul. Maybe you'd just be better off not travelling to Derry if it scares you that much?

Honestly, will you stop going on about Rovers fans are scum! I am fully aware that a few arseholes in Rovers colours cause trouble. Real Rovers fans, and I would imagine all the Rovers fans on here dont want them at the club. As i was entering Tallaght stadium for the Pats game 4 Gardai and 3 stewards were preventing 6 lads from going in, so there is action being taken. I wouldnt call Pats / Dundalk / Bohs fans scum despite having a bad element. But I sure would expect the Shamrock Rovers Board, The local Gardai and/or South Dublin county council to ensure whoever visits Tallaght Stadium that they can come and go from the stadium safely.
    There is nothing being done. How many were barred after Dundalk? None. Your own fans admit that the board don't ban them because they are more interested in money.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    there havent been too many incidents in tallaght though has there, hoopy? Not having a go but most of the stupid incidents mentioned here have happened in the stadium? The only thing i can think of is when the cops waded into the Bohs fans on the Luas for no apparent reason... im struggling to think of another major incident which occured outside the ground that was mentioned here...
    Maybe thats because Rovers and the local Police have regular meetings about how best to police the event, and ensure peoples safe passage, to and from the ground. Even with the bull$hit that goes with every rovers/bohs game there hasn't been any real incidents, and any that have occured are learned from and not repeated.
    I just think that if a club can't/won't do anything to ensure the away Team bus safe entry and exit from their ground, there has to be something fundamentally wrong.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sundance kid View Post
    Maybe thats because Rovers and the local Police have regular meetings about how best to police the event, and ensure peoples safe passage, to and from the ground. Even with the bull$hit that goes with every rovers/bohs game there hasn't been any real incidents, and any that have occured are learned from and not repeated.
    I just think that if a club can't/won't do anything to ensure the away Team bus safe entry and exit from their ground, there has to be something fundamentally wrong.
    Are you even remotely serious SK ? there have been more incidents INCIDE SDCC stadium than anywhere in the entire League (presume I dont need to list them again ). furhtermore a Director at shams continued serving on the board AFTER conviction for football hooliganism, what message does that send out to the troglydyte element ?
    None of this justifies the incidents in Derry or anywhere else but please spare us the "everywhere should be like Tallaght" nonsense because it doesnt stack up.

63 Posts
    Sundance Kid, does that mean that if a visiting teams car/bus gets damaged, that SRFC will pay for the damages?
    If not, then your agreeing DCFC isn't liable for what happens outside the ground. Take it up with the PSNI/local council instead.
    If so, Mr A your lot owe me the price of a wing mirror!
    Last edited by horton; 29/03/2011 at 10:46 AM.

SKSTU 'i would hope that they would attempt to police Dame Street better and that cancelling an event would therefore be needless' this is exactly what my point is.. The policing should be better.. ok It seems a completely different scenario in Derry and dealing with the PSNI so i wont continue using that as an example, but if for example pats fans were attacked outside dalymount, I believe Bohs should have enough contact with the Gardai to ensure there is enough police.. I am not laying the blame at the clubs door, but if i was on the board of a club i would want the garda presence sufficient for the fixture taking place and if the gardai failed to do so i would be asking serious questions as to why.. its the same with any big event.. concerts, protests etc.. mass volume of people = sufficient garda presence.

alltogethernow A fella i occasionally speak to, his brother was identified by shamrock rovers after being filmed causing trouble.. am failry sure he ended up in court in dundalk a couple weeks later.. Maybe Shamrock Rovers do need to get the arse in gear and be more proactive..

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    Grand so, I'll let the Derry team know you seem convinced they won't make it out of Dublin without being attacked.
    Check your fixture list. The cry babies'll be on here in force as they usually are the next day.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

A fella i occasionally speak to, his brother was identified by shamrock rovers after being filmed causing trouble.. am failry sure he ended up in court in dundalk a couple weeks later.. Maybe Shamrock Rovers do need to get the arse in gear and be more proactive..
    He did appear in court but he still isn't banned.

possibly not the same fella we are talking about then alltogethernow, this fella was a bit of an animal and has been banned as far as i know! but if Shamrock Rovers have identified people and not banned them themselves, that is disgraceful. I hope its not the case.

I think pineapple stu is going to have to come more active in these threads.

Every thread ends up in the same drivel, Rovers post something then sligo jump in and then bohs jump in. Turns into a serious Nadal Versus Federer
    with posts bouncing all over the place.

21. Thanks From:

1,552 Posts
    I say we settle it with a full on 90 minute riot at the next Ireland home game.

23. Thanks From:

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast