I thought it was a joke when first saw it. Fair play. Jason McAteer is signing for us next week though so that thunder belonging to you will be stolen.
It just depends on the financial commitments. It can't be costing the club much or , I genuinely think, they wouldn't sign him and, you'd hope, the FAI wouldn't allow them break the budget. We'll see, and it's got everyone talking already. I'm not expecting on field miracles but he could play a part. It's most definitely an unexpected one though!
I thought it was a joke when first saw it. Fair play. Jason McAteer is signing for us next week though so that thunder belonging to you will be stolen.
Chant....
When the ball hits the net
It's a very sure bet
it's Gillespie....
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Ah if hes half bothered he should do well in the 1st division, its not like hes playing against superstars
Is he likely to be ready for Monday's game?
Unveiled Thursday and debut v Athlone
If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!
I am stunned with the signing. A big well done to Phil Munnelly and Tony Cousins for keepin it quiet!Phil is best friends with Keith.. Keith will be commutin from Bangor down to games..When he was with Glentoran his wages were sponsored too I think the wages up north for him was a grand a week I am sure the Glentoran fans that post on here will confirm it to us!
That signing came way out from left field!!! So is Gillespie the mysterious Congo player we were looking at?!! Is he just going to commute for games or will he also be training with the Town......be very surprised if he's not. It wouldn't bode well for morale if he's allowed train on his own and just show for games. Some change for him from playing in the likes of Old Trafford and St. James' Park to playing in Drom and Fahy's Field!!!
Mick Lee trains in Galway in fairness, though I know he has college to contend with. It's up to the manager, if he's happy enough then that's ok.
Couldnt believe this when i heard it last night. It will boil to one thing & thats if the lads heart is in it or not. We will find out very early on about this. I wish him well here. Hes at the end of his career so i hope he has decided to try & enjoy it & to hell with what anyone thinks.
I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.
Garth Merenghi
I can't remember this level of excitement since we signed Gints Freimanis. Ahem....
Marco Tardelli's red and black,
Red and black, red and black.
Marco Tardelli's red and black,
He hates Athlone.
Lookin like he is in squad tonight and gets a start on monday
If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!
I presume thats what cousins meant, said in todays paper he is in squad tonight and starts on monday
Didn't know that about Mick Lee.....ah well if thats the case at least people can't be saying just cos of his name he's let off training with the team.
Exciting stuff...be delighted if he's playing Monday as I'm missing the game against Athlone! Was a bit weird seeing Longford Town with a signing in the national paper....been a long time since I seen that!
Friend of mine who's a UK based journalist has been commissioned to do an article on the Town and the Gillespie signing for When Saturday Comes magazine. People are very interested in this one, even if it is a sort of "how the mighty have fallen" type curiosity.
Hes not on bench tonight so home unveiling it is