i thought ppl on here said he isn't actually eligible
Since we're low on center backs, i wonder has he been looked at? Play for us at U-18 level, qualifies through is ol granny. Apparently a lot of clubs are looking at him (apparently).
"A lot of people probably don't know that I am eligible to play for the Republic of Ireland having played for them at Under 18 level.
"I pledged my allegiance to the Republic and I would love the chance to play for the senior squad.
"I have yet to receive a call-up to the senior squad, but I hope my recent performances are being noted by people in the coaching staff.
"I will just keep my head down and carry on working well and hope that Mr Trappatoni and his coaching staff will give me the opportunity to play for the Republic in the future."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...794381,00.html
i thought ppl on here said he isn't actually eligible
The articles only a couple of weeks old. Surely if he played under 18s for us there's no question of eligibility?
he obviouslydoesn't seem to be aware of this.surely the fai would have let him know?
Cleared to play for Ireland.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...900147,00.htmlSkysports.com understands Hull City's loan star Anthony Gerrard has been cleared to play for Republic of Ireland.
The Liverpool-born defender has represented the Republic at Under 18 level having qualified to play for the country because of his grandmother.
Gerrard, who is the cousin of Liverpool skipper and England star Steven Gerrard, has now passed on the relevant documents to the Football Association of Ireland to make himself available for Giovanni Trapattoni's side.
The 25-year-old, who is currently on loan at Hull from Cardiff, has enjoyed a superb campaign with the Tigers and was recently named as the club's Player of the Season.
The highly-rated central defender has been virtually an ever-present for Hull this season and his performances are thought to have alerted a number of Premier League clubs.
With Gerrard now having his eligibility being resolved he could come into contention for Trapattoni's plans for next month's Carling Nations Cup games against Northern Ireland and Scotland.
"We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo
Welcome aboard. Not sure he'll make the Carling Cup games but will surely go on the US tour and has a great chance of getting a look in if he impresses.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
We are reaching desperation for CH options with Dunne a definite non starter, St Ledger banjaxed and Josh injured?
It wouldn't surprise me if he was called in to the Carling cup squad.
God bless our diaspora.
Good to see players with growing reputations entering the fold. Himself and Chambers must be in the running for the US trip.
hope we dont start calling him Tony G !
Anto - he has that jackeen look about him.
Not that way. It'll be Anto G, who are kidding.
Imagine if we had Gerrard and Rooney in the same national team.Oh its Anthony and John.Shame that![]()
Jayzus... We'll be like a made for TV american B movie starring Don Swayze and Charlie Murphy... Patrick and Eddie's lesser known moderately talented brothers!!