Thread: LOI Div1 : Limerick FC Vs Longford Friday 25th March (Home)

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    And people saying that Garvan Broughall is only 19 that is not an excuse you are either good enough or not if it is the fact that he is only young and inexperienced then he should be playing for the A team like Yellow(Thomas Lyons) has been. If we had no-one else to play there then fair enough but we had Pete White sitting on the bench in Cork.
    I agree that if he is not up to it yet he should be with the A team and Peter White should have been playing there. Peter was one of our best defenders at the start of last season and even when he was put in midfield I thought he did a good job at breaking up opposition attacks. That was his job and he did it well.

Getting back on topic.... I see Longford have signed the legendary Keith Gillespie for the rest of the season. Pretty good signing if he retains even half the skill and ability he had at United and Newcastle til the gambling got the better of him. Nice to see him still playing. Be nice if he was in the squad for tonight...would add to the occasion.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Getting back on topic.... I see Longford have signed the legendary Keith Gillespie for the rest of the season. Pretty good signing if he retains even half the skill and ability he had at United and Newcastle til the gambling got the better of him. Nice to see him still playing. Be nice if he was in the squad for tonight...would add to the occasion.
    Not available till next week against Athlone supposedly. Would have been nice to see him feature tonight alright even if he is past it and not the player he was.

420 Posts
    Lads at Glentoran were saying he was awful when he was with them.

Just to go off topic again for a second (Sorry Joe).

The way we are short in the middle of someone defemsive would have been handy if we could hav eheld onto John Sullivan he would do the job there.
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 25/03/2011 at 5:29 PM.

We weren't outstanding but a deserved win I thought. Defensively we where a bit better. Couldn't believe how much weight Purcell has lost, his fitness looks excellent. Longford could have easily snuck a draw though. Hynes I thought was excellent again tonight for pure work rate, set up Judgie nicely. Great finish by Judge too. Hynes needs someone like O Flynn with hime to get the goals. O Leary again took a while to get into it but got stuck in a bit more in the second half. Paudie Quinn seems a little lost at centre forward, he wants the ball to feet and he is not a ball winner so when its pumped to him its wasted. All round I thought we looked a little more solid in key positions barr yet again a tough midfielder. Improvement needed for next week but I still wouldn't be expecting a result up there.

46 Posts
    limerick 1 longford town 0

deserved 3pts tonight poor first half from limerick but upped it big time in the 2nd half judge took his goal very well limerick should of put longford away after that they had 3 or 4 great chances to kill them off and nearly paid for it when the longford no9 i think missed a free header 6yrds out easier to score.
    longford had about 2 shots on target in the whole game if that. limerick really missing steven o flynn and gary sheehan up front we need to start taken or chances just aswell stevo is back next week.

all in all a good 3pts more so since we are playing without or two first choice strikers

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    just aswell stevo is back next week.
    Is he? according to extratime last week before the Cork match it said O'Flynn still had two matches to go for the red card and 1 for yellows. That would mean he is gone for Shels. Would be a great boost if he is back.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Is he? according to extratime last week before the Cork match it said O'Flynn still had two matches to go for the red card and 1 for yellows. That would mean he is gone for Shels. Would be a great boost if he is back.
    Tonight and Monday in the league cup are the 2 games he sack for Shels.

centre midfield problem?

The best performance i had seen in 20 years was hughes/lyons v dundalk a couple of years ago,Dundalk packed out with seasoned pros,but our young inexperienced lads outplaying them, and getting up and looking for more.thought i had seen the future that night,obs not

judgey and o leary had great games tonight jason hughes went off the boil he was offered a new deal with us but went to the boro .. yellow is injured so he will be back

Quote Originally Posted by inmoscow View Post
    The best performance i had seen in 20 years was hughes/lyons v dundalk a couple of years ago,Dundalk packed out with seasoned pros,but our young inexperienced lads outplaying them, and getting up and looking for more.thought i had seen the future that night,obs not
    Would have to agree about that performance but as bluewhitearmy says Hughes didn't reach those kinds of performances the next season. He missed a lot of the start of the next season with Ireland under 18's and trials with Birmingham, when he came back from them he wasn't the same player. Still a good player though.

Nice one about O'Flynn too, I had forgot about the EA Cup game counting.

229 Posts
    It's great to see Limerick doing well. It's going to be a tough season.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Lads that game last night was terrible to watch, I would class it as one of my top ten worse games Limerick have played in Jackman park, there was no shape to them, they didnt battle for the ball and will need to improve, they were so bad even the die hard fans in the stand didnt start singing till half way through the second half

on a positive note, yes Pat Purcell has lost a **** load of weight and looks super fit

Quote Originally Posted by lfc at heart View Post
    Lads that game last night was terrible to watch, I would class it as one of my top ten worse games Limerick have played in Jackman park, there was no shape to them, they didnt battle for the ball and will need to improve, they were so bad even the die hard fans in the stand didnt start singing till half way through the second half

on a positive note, yes Pat Purcell has lost a **** load of weight and looks super fit
    Wasn't a great game but I've definitely seen a lot worse games in Jackman than that. A few 0-0 draws with Athlone, getting stuffed by Cork x2 last season , Waterford beating us handy a few times, Sporting Fingal beating us handy, losing 4-1 to Longford, Derry beating us twice, losing 2-1 to Kildare County and a few other end of season nothing games, Monaghan giving us a handy beating last season twice (once in the league and once in the cup) just to name a few. Thought our shape was okay last night, simple 4-4-2 for pretty much all the game, Breen looked decent on the wing, Corie Tracey looked solid enough at the back, as did the rest of the back 4 and Longford aren't that bad a side. They are solid enough at the back are decent in midfield and if they could finish their chances would be decent up front too. We still have Sean O Connor to get fit and O'Flynn to come back into the team. Hopefully mid way through the season we can Gary Sheehan to that too. Yellow has to come back from injury also and will add a great option from the bench.

Quote Originally Posted by lfc at heart View Post

dont think it was that bad and the support will get better as always from us in the stand

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluepowers View Post
    dont think it was that bad and the support will get better as always from us in the stand

Hard to get going when the club are paying 4 security guards just to stand around the lads in the shed. Not a waste of money at all

Anybody know if the matches that are now being recorded are going to be available to watch back online or are they going to be just kept for the team to watch back.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Hard to get going when the club are paying 4 security guards just to stand around the lads in the shed. Not a waste of money at all
    I thought they were just stewards with nicer jackets...I have stood at the far side ever since the seats came or should I say safe side considering security have to fence ye in

27 Posts
    another vital 3pts and another home clean sheet,the performance?lets just be thankfull for the 3pts.

Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post
    considering security have to fence ye in
    The animals in the corner have said curse words once too often hence the paid security surrounding them. The stand was a much safer place for the 2 parents and kid on a freebe ticket last Friday.