Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest (w/e 11 March)

43 Posts
    So the Brazilians from the north west failed to score again against the Wimbledon of Tallaght and I think that leaves "bad manager" O'Neill with an unbeaten league record of 7 wins and 2 draws against the brilliant Paul Cook. All down to dodgy refs of course.

Shams wont win anything with those mutants at the back, I nearly cried with laughter when he tryed to fix the problem with Pat Flynn

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pauliek View Post
    Shams wont win anything with those mutants at the back, I nearly cried with laughter when he tryed to fix the problem with Pat Flynn
    I'm sorry, did I miss something or did "those mutants" plus Pat Flynn keep a clean sheet against supposedly the best footballing team in the country?

The best part about beating Sligo is reading the reactions afterwards.

Fair play to the vast majority of Sligo fans who are completely sound.

390 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pauliek View Post
    Pretty sure you said the same thing last season. They're a lot more solid at the back then we are. I think Foran should be starting before McGuinness. And of course the sooner we get Ventre off the team the better.

Quote Originally Posted by colinf View Post
    4 shams fans in the pub toilets doing coke aswell beforehand. nice bunch of lads
    8 Sligo fans doing coke in the pub toilets beforehand, lovely bunch of lads. Those lemons aren't bitter by any chance?

Great game to watch, first half was toe to toe, end to end, both teams getting stuck in!

Rovers scored early on after that Sligo had the better of the first half but looked a bit ropey at the back at times. Rovers giving Sligo too much space in front of our defence, and they got around us a few times but Mannus made three great saves.

Second half Rovers sat a bit deeper and Sligo couldnt break us down, Ryan was having to drop deep to get the ball but then wasnt able to then do much with it when faced with a wall of defenders. Plenty of sloppy passing by Sligo giving us chances to break and Twig shoulda won a peno. Sligo started to go long for the final ten minutes and won a few corners and frees but Rovers held out.

Cooks poor league record against ONeill continues thanks to man of the match Alan Mannus.

120 Posts
    When all the guff about bottles being thrown, bad refs and Ken Oman is said and done, one thing is left: Mannus was the difference between the teams.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Fair play to the vast majority of Sligo fans who are completely sound.
    Have to agree with that, any time I've been up there over the years they have been really sound. They're good to have a bit of friendly banter with and can talk Irish football all day. As a Hoop I always find the contrast between the friendliness we're treated with in the flesh in Sligo compared to the open hostility from many Sligo fans towards us on the internet astonishing.

I thought Murray looked as graceful as a ballerina last night compared to the Jaycist to be honest. Shocking performance from him. I believe he can do a good bit better than that.
    Thought it was even enough really. Shams were worthy of the win, as we couldn't take the few good chances we had.

Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    Have to agree with that, any time I've been up there over the years they have been really sound. They're good to have a bit of friendly banter with and can talk Irish football all day. As a Hoop I always find the contrast between the friendliness we're treated with in the flesh in Sligo compared to the open hostility from many Sligo fans towards us on the internet astonishing.
    Funny that HulaHoop, most shams fans on line come across as righteous dudes and pillars of society, yet every time they come to the Showgrounds many of them act like a shower of tramps. In fact, there is one common denomonator with crowd trouble in the LOI, and thats your club.
    Having said all that, it was a big win for ye and fair play. No medals being handed out yet but we have a lot of work to do if we are to challenge for the top 3 again this season.

64 Posts
    Just wondering will Paddy Power start paying out on us now?
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Is that like the time you said Rovers are nothing to fear?
    Heading to the bus after the game and I heard one Sligo fan say to another "we've nothing to worry about with Shams this season". It capped an already hilarious evening

Go on the foot.ie lads.

19. Thanks From:

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    League could be wrapped up by August
    Here on a technicality.

43 Posts
    Lets hope our players don't start thinking like that after only 2 games of the season or else we'll end up with nothing come November.

Have to agree with that, any time I've been up there over the years they have been really sound. They're good to have a bit of friendly banter with and can talk Irish football all day.
    Bit like the majority of yer fans are grand and easy to talk to. Then there's the scumbag minority. Sorry, but it's true!

64 Posts
    Lets hope our players don't start thinking like that after only 2 games of the season or else we'll end up with nothing come November.
    No point downplaying things just for the sake of it or to save face, I'd rather tell it as it is. We're playing in first gear at the moment and are cruising. It would be the equivalent of Celtic or Rangers not winning the SPL this season if we don't win the league. O'Donnell to come in beside the superb Finn aside, when we click up a notch some teams are gonna get a hiding. No doubt, like all leagues theyr'll be the odd blip along the way, but not enough to stop us winning the league.

You're very modest. If that's yer first gear I'd genuinely worry for ye if ye come up against a decent team in Europe.

64 Posts
    I'm sure you'd be worried for us. Bottom line is that Sligo are supposed to be our main challengers this season and we're too good for you. Nothing 'modest' about it, just telling the truth and enjoying the weekend.

Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast