Thread: What if Rangers make it to the Final in Dublin

What if Rangers make it to the Final in Dublin

Gents

Some interesting comments over the weekend about what would happen if rangers got to the final in Dublin. I don't think the FAI would be too happy - speaking to a few rangers fans - they reckon Uefa would pull the plug - personally i think it would be carnage - but some fans said they would start looking a ferries etc if they get past PSV , it's not impossible by any means - but i would fear that the trouble would be worse than anything we ever witnessed before including the england game in 1995 and the love ulster parade etc

446 Posts
    Ah, 'hot' and 'cold' balls will take care of that.
    It won't happen. And there's the small matter of them not being good enough.

Though very begrudging credit to 'The Cardigan' for keeping the dullest team in the competition, still in the EL to date.
    If the one-in-a-million happens, expect all their fans to have to travel via official packages or be denied entry to the city.

It's happened before in club football.

3,310 Posts
    I got a ticket in the ballot for the Rangers - Zenit final in Manchester in 2008.
    I got a ticket to the final in the ballot in January.
    I'm convinced I've jinxed it completely.

60 Posts
    If it does happen, avoid The Players Lounge
    Always look on the bright side of life

229 Posts
    What makes you say that?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

is that the one owned by Stokesy - if not where is it never heard of it myself - but i have lived abroad for 4 years plus

229 Posts
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Hopefully it won't happen anyway, not just because of their fans but also because of their football.

446 Posts
    Amen to that.

It would be a relative victory for 'non-football'.
    Trap's tactics are those of Brazil '70 by comparison!

170 Posts
    It's just speculation and a scare story now, but would be interesting if they limp past PSV then win a quarter-final. I mean, they've got fairly recent form.

What are the FAI/ Government/ Gardai going to do then? Pull out from staging the final? I think not. It would be saying, effectively, that they want the same treatment that Russia and Georgia, or Armenia and Azerbaijan got in the draw for Euro 2012: both pairs of countries were kept apart because they'd recently been at war. Hardly the image you want abroad, especially when most fans in the RoI support British teams.

More likely the authorities will just grin, bear it, cancel Police leave etc.

PS who's yer wan on that banner outside Stokes's pub? And why is she wearing an old Crystal Palace kit?

446 Posts
    If they make it, all travel/tickets will be arranged via the club and quite possibly only via Glasgow.

Also the Irish authorities could turn back undesirables on entry to Dublin.
    Though it does depend on whether the money they'd spend would outweigh the cost of damage etc....
    I doubt it.

170 Posts
    Just out of interest, how would they identify/ turn back 'undesirables'?

If they make the semis- and there must be a 20-25% chance of that- your authorities would prob. need to start planning how to accommodate an influx of their fans. Dublin may not be quite as accessible from Glasgow as Man City, but more so than Sevilla. Is 50,000 a fair guess? The touts should enjoy it,

I reckon they would have to hold it somewhere else, there's no way the authorities here could organise an influx of thousands of fans from the North and then you'd have thousands coming over from Scotland, England and Wales aswell. For instance, where would the ticketless fans watch the games, Im not sure many pubs would open and I can't see a big screen being erected, it would be Manchester all over again, even worse!
    MOT

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12 View Post
    I reckon they would have to hold it somewhere else
    Where- they've been planning it for Dublin for well over a year, moving it would cause huge disruption, not least to people who've already bought tickets etc.? And why- the whole bid for and planning of the event would have been on the basis that Dublin has the infrastructure etc. to stage it between any two teams, including those from Britain who might not be popular locally?

there's no way the authorities here could organise an influx of thousands of fans from the North
    This sounds a bit exaggerated. Purely in terms of numbers and access, don't tens of thousands appear when Armagh or Tyrone play at Croke?

and then you'd have thousands coming over from Scotland, England and Wales as well
    You'd have that on a large scale if Liverpool make it, even before considering their fans locally. And, on a smaller scale, Man City would still have a decent support.

For instance, where would the ticketless fans watch the games
    They'd mill around the city, like Liverpool or ManCity or PSV fans would.

Im not sure many pubs would open
    Would pubs really turn down that trade, or be advised to by the Gardai?

and I can't see a big screen being erected, it would be Manchester all over again, even worse!
    Generally speaking, don't big screens at such events tend to work well? The one that failed in Manchester may have been an aberration.

Correct me if wrong, but aren't you really saying 'Rangers specifically can't play in Dublin, period'? You can see why the FAI and Government would want to avoid that: it means you would be severely compromised in applying to stage any other big games in future, or qualifiers against England or NI.

446 Posts
    Like it's remotely even likely to happen....

170 Posts
    50% likelihood they make the last eight.

20%- 25% the last four- at which point you'll need to take the issue seriously.

8%- 10% the final. 12/1 at your local bookie.

Would love if they made it to the final, just to see the country going mad without a lot of people realising the irony.

19. Thanks From:

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Just out of interest, how would they identify/ turn back 'undesirables'?
    Probably through combined ticket/travel packages to those allowed (as used extensively in Britain) and reject everyone else regardless.

Correct me if wrong, but aren't you really saying 'Rangers specifically can't play in Dublin, period'? You can see why the FAI and Government would want to avoid that: it means you would be severely compromised in applying to stage any other big games in future, or qualifiers against England or NI.
    This would be more extreme than any game v.the North or 'Ingerland'.
    And most people wouldn't care how they were dealt with, if (& when) they caused trouble.

50% likelihood they make the last eight.

20%- 25% the last four- at which point you'll need to take the issue seriously.

8%- 10% the final. 12/1 at your local bookie.
    1-1000000 You'll bore us all rigid with spurious theories on the above!

Would love if they made it to the final, just to see the country going mad without a lot of people realising the irony.
    Why??

Do you work in the insurance or construction industry??

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Probably through combined ticket/travel packages to those allowed (as used extensively in Britain) and reject everyone else regardless
    Yes, I agree that's how a) the sale of tickets and b) access to the stadium would work. It doesn't explain what you'd do about tens of thousands catching planes from Glasgow, ferries from Stranraer and trains, coaches and cars from NI.

This would be more extreme than any game v.the North or 'Ingerland'
    It might, it might not. Your last game with England ended in a riot, remember, I think involving many more people than that at the 2006 UEFA Cup Final.

And most people wouldn't care how they were dealt with, if (& when) they caused trouble
    Most are more likely to be worried about them causing trouble in the first place (and local troublemakers joining in, or provoking them). The lesson of 'Love Ulster' as mentioend above is that Dubs don't like the idea of other Dubs rioting in Dublin.

How any outside hoolies are delat with is predictable. The Police won't want the hassle of taking them to court, so they'll be frog-marched to the airport/ Belfast motorway and kicked out of the country.

1-1000000 You'll bore us all rigid with spurious theories on the above!
    Rangers playing a cup final in Dublin is a real possibility, about 12/1 as I said. Your often hysterical hoolie porn fantasies (from the safety of 400 miles away) are what's spurious.

446 Posts
    Well, as done with numerous other teams/clubs, the Guards and Immigration authorities, in conjunction with the Brit.Home Office would have to implement a no-exit/entry programme, which to be fair, the latter has far more experience of.
    And Ireland would definitely need their massive co-operation in implementing.

The 1995 game involved far far less than the tens of thousands of Huns who descended on Manchester, so no idea what your point is there as pretty much indisputable!
    As is the next point is about crowd trouble, as if thousands descend, it will happen.
    Any fool can see that.

Lastly, no idea what your last line refers to (or would say a conference of 100 psychologists), except there's nothing hysterical or spurious about what's likely to happen if you let that lot literally run riot. Just ask UEFA!