Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Monaghan United get new manager

53 Posts
    I wish Roddy would let the results do the talking, there's no much they can say if you beat a team 5-0

According to twitter extratime will have another interview
    Last edited by MagicMon; 30/03/2011 at 4:59 PM. Reason: typo

420 Posts
    Love his confidence in the audio.

He is some knacker. Fair enough if you don't think Tommy Dunne isn't up to it but to call him a failure for not getting Cork up last season is a joke. Some truth to what he says but the man has no class.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monsexile View Post
    And the audio version is even, eh, more Roddy
    http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=652
    Jebsus and they put it on their website.
    5-0

That's not the official mons website. That's a fans blog.

What a scumbag. Thankfully he isn't much use or that mouth of his could really have some sting.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

A few things there:

"I expect to get nothing out of the game"

Really Roderick? Even bearing in mind your good start and the fact that Cork have less cutting edge than a jelly bouncy castle?

"Surely Cork don't determine a season on how they do against Monaghan"

Another insult for the previously unemployable plasterers labourer new club within seconds.

"Basically a full time setup"

"Best training facilities in the country"

"Good stability"

"They should have been promoted last year...............100% failure."

Their squad for the opening few series of last season was 20% footballer, 80% jester.

Now he could have simply said "I'm not sure if Tommy Dunne is the right man for the job in Cork" and he would have probably got nods of approval from a lot of Cork fans let alone the wider LoI public but the absolute dribbling this charlatan goes on with is unbelievable. If I was a Monaghan fan I'd be looking for this clowns head already. A tiny group of people up there busting their collective arse to keep the show and the road and this absolute nobody who hasn't done anything even approaching a decent job in a decade hasn't his feet under the table a wet weekend and he's belittling the whole setup.

He will be found out (again!). Hopefully soon.

And so the circus begins!!!

2,650 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ashbournebohs View Post
    And so the circus begins!!!
    im just surprised that he still gets a bite out of people!

46 Posts

I think its great craic and am not insulted by it coz I have spoken to him and he is fully aware of the job in hand and knows we have nothing like the money or set up that Cork do so there is nothing new in what he is saying.

Let the controversy bandwagon roll on I say.

He will be found out (again!). Hopefully soon.
    Its not as case of if .... its just when

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    I think its great craic and am not insulted by it coz I have spoken to him and he is fully aware of the job in hand and knows we have nothing like the money or set up that Cork do so there is nothing new in what he is saying.

Let the controversy bandwagon roll on I say.
    Not having the money Cork have is one thing but I know If I heard Scully say we had no chance against Cork and that basically Cork shouldn't determine their season on matches against us I would want Scully gone. Probably just Roddy playing stupid games but they are ridiculous comments to be making about the club that currently employs you that hasn't lost yet this season and that narrowly missed out on promotion last year and that were better than Cork last year.

Hey, we can handle a few comments, we lost a play off and our manager a week before the start of the league ffs...this is nothing.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Hey, we can handle a few comments, we lost a play off and our manager a week before the start of the league ffs...this is nothing.
    Fair enough they are only a few comments but if thats his attitude after only 2 weeks in the job could you imagine what ye are in for for the rest of the season.

I wouldnt read too much into it. He is only finding his feet and is right to feel that Cork can beat us. We are missing about 5 of our first team through injuries and suspensions, Shane Barrett retired, and we were lucky to have a draw against Finn Harps. He is doing his best but I can see his point!

63 Posts
    In fairness to the guy he is getting promo to the league. Granted alot of what he comes out with is rubbish, but he has got Mon mentioned in more media now than they did last year. Alex Ferguson is the same with the fight talk/belittling other teams- I mighten like it but it creates a bit of buzz and gives the tabloids something different to write about in the back pages every week.

539 Posts
    you wouldnt have heard mick cooke sayin that though.. if he is sayin that about tommy dunne he is also insulting tony cousins who is his first cousin! he is up to his old tricks again.. what on earth happened to shane barrett? its not the first time he has retired he did this at drogs as well. he was never the same player after leavin us.

Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    Alex Ferguson is the same.

He has more in common with Sarah Ferguson.

138 Posts
    Indeed, all aboard the offended bandwagon.
    Why are people actually taking him serious?
    That ruins all the fun, hes just an absolute character that happens to be employed as a manager.
    The colour and pomp he brings to the league is second to none, its just like watching a panto.

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast