Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Monaghan United get new manager

64 Posts
    As a Hoop I have to thank Roddy as apparantely it was him who "put Shamrock Rovers back on the map". Must've been while he was leaving the games early to go to boxing matches, or having no training for days while he did other things.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Guaranteed Roddy will write a book in the next few years!!!!!!!

893 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Royal rover View Post
    Guaranteed Roddy will colour in a book in the next few years!!!!!!!
    Fixed that for you...

63 Posts
    Most of you think Monaghan will be a mediocre midtable team anyway, what's the worst the guy can really do?!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    Most of you think Monaghan will be a mediocre midtable team anyway, what's the worst the guy can really do?!
    Finish bottom of the table?
    Quit before the last game of the season?
    Sign Carlton Palmer?
    Have a turnover of 40 players in the season?
    Bring in his nutjob buddies like Willo McDonagh?
    Do a runner on the fish and chip shop after their trip to Harps?
    Sing vile songs about fellow managers?
    Leave in the middle of matches and training?
    Vandalise opposition dressing rooms?
    Basically undo all the hard work Mick Cooke has done for Monaghan over the past 6/7 years?

Monaghan were only 3 minutes from promotion last season and have signed good players this season, alot of people have been underestimating how they would perform this season, until Roddy arrived
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    They don't think that themselves though and I don't think appointing the Rodster is the best way to go about fulfilling your ambitions, entertaining though it will no doubt be.

efan ekouku is free so is carlton palmer!

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Finish bottom of the table?
    Quit before the last game of the season?
    Sign Carlton Palmer?
    Have a turnover of 40 players in the season?
    Bring in his nutjob buddies like Willo McDonagh?
    Do a runner on the fish and chip shop after their trip to Harps?
    Sing vile songs about fellow managers?
    Leave in the middle of matches and training?
    Vandalise opposition dressing rooms?
    Basically undo all the hard work Mick Cooke has done for Monaghan over the past 6/7 years?

Monaghan were only 3 minutes from promotion last season and have signed good players this season, alot of people have been underestimating how they would perform this season, until Roddy arrived
    Yeah, but besides all that, what's the worst he can do!!!??

144 Posts
    Some quality trolling from Roddy in today's News of the World!

"I've been out of the game for six and a half years, have met spoofers in my time but i'm glad to be here."

"I looked around the league and saw so many managers who I don't rate get good jobs. What have Pat Fenlon, Stephen Kenny or Alan Mathews ever done? None of those guys could have walked into Carlisle United and achieved what I did."

"The guys I rate the highest in the league are Michael O'Neill, Paul Cook and Pete Mahon. The rest are part of a little sewing circle and I don't want part of that."

On the sore topic of his history with relegation, particularly with Carlisle United....

"Ah, hold on. I was not in charge on the day they went down. Had I been, we would have stayed up."

"I don't need to justify my record to anyone. I don't feel the need to prove anything. What I achieved at Bohs was sensational. The club was in disarray when I arrived. When I left, we won the double. People will accuse me me of shooting my mouth off. But it is a fact. I introduced full-time football to Ireland. I introduced Glen Crowe, Kevin Hunt and Jamie Harris to the league."

"At Carlisle, I guarantee there is not one League of Ireland manager - including Pat Fenlon - who would have kept them in the league. When that happened, I received faxes from Alex Ferguson, Lawrie McMenamy and Barry Fry, men I'd never met, congratulating me on the job I'd done."

"Dublin City were doomed when I arrived. I had no chance there. At Shamrock Rovers, there was no money, but we had a team containing Paddy McCourt, Brian Shelley, Jason Gavin, David Mooney and Barry Murphy. Had they the finances they have now then I would have dominated the Irish game. I don't hold a grudge against Rovers for that. They were rebuilding their club and wanted to move on. That's fine. What I couldn't get my head around was the fact it seemed to be a case of everyone saying 'don't touch Roddy'. Why no club would take a chance on me was baffling? I felt I was being black-balled. Something was wrong. And it it not me"

"My record proves I haven't got a bad eye for players. So I'll discover talent. People don't give Roddy Collins credit. They laughed at me for applying for jobs. Is that a sin? Is that a crime? I'm here because I am excellent at what I do. I've a desire and ambition to fulfil things in management. I study football morning, noon and night"
    He's back alright

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    Yeah, but besides all that, what's the worst he can do!!!??
    Sign Pats legend and fitness fanatic Michael Keane?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2575591.html

100% win record, how can you argue against him :P

447 Posts
    out of the game for 6 and a half years? What was he doing in Malta? Or in his brief brief brief spell in Cork?

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    What was he doing in Malta?
    Laying tarmac on driveways.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Laying about on tarmac driveways.
    Fixed that.

38 Posts
    That press conference was hilarious!!!

23. Thanks From:

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Sign Pats legend and fitness fanatic Michael Keane?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2575591.html
    Michael Keane!! LOL!!!

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Scientists believe that cockroaches and mondogs are the only things that could survive a nuclear explosion
    And Bray, don't forget Bray.

This is great craic lads. It's still only March and we've had so much. Any guess what September holds?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    That press conference was hilarious!!!
    I know! There were bits that were missed that were great fun too. The excitement and anticipation in the air was palabable and everyone was giddy. The room was full of people, local business men, councillors and fans of the Mons which was great to see. At last our club has some support locally.

I believe that there were 2 fellas in a pub the other night who have never darkened the door of our ground, arguing over whether Roddy would be a good manager for us or not. Hopefully (when its not snowing) they will come out to our games to settle their argument.

Does that mean........Big Ed loves Mona

will appear back on d'telly!!!!

Back in the early 80s, ads started appearing saying things like 'Big Ed loves Mona'. Of course, nobody had a feckin clue what they were on about until the awful truth was revealed. Big Ed was some sort of cartoony character and he was a big fan of Mona yogurt.

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast