Page 35 of 90 FirstFirst ... 2533343536374585 ... LastLast

Thread: Jack Grealish

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    This thing of needing time to think about his international future is a bit of bullsh1t in my opinion. Its not like this has suddenly come as a massive surprise that he might be on the verge of a senior call up for us so hes had long enough to decide what he wants.

To me it comes across completely of "Cheers Ireland, ye have kept me in the spotlight up to now but I dont really want to play for ye"

If he does decide to play for England then fair enough, good luck to him. I just hope to God it doesnt turn into a situation for where we are wondering for half the year what hes gonna do.

I hope he does stay with us because we are lacking much genuine talent coming through, but I get the feeling that he and his father look at International football as just an opportunity to develop his profile, and realistically when it comes down to it an England international will earn a higher profile leading to much higher earnings
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,796 Posts
    A bit more meat on the bone here from the Examiner. Wasn't John Fallon the guy who wrote the original Indo article?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/s...re-283188.html

The article also says that McGoldrick is awaiting his passport and Andy Reid is a major injury doubt, although he played yesterday. The article was From Friday.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 24/08/2014 at 11:44 AM.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    ok, I thought the rule applied per age group, i.e. once you've played competitively for one U21 side, you can only play for that one U21 team, and not per age group per tournament, e.g. play for Sweden U21s in their qualifiers for the 2013 UEFA European Under-21 Championship and then France (say) for the 2015 UEFA European Under-21 Championship

If that is true, then the next available date for Grealish for England U21 will be their first qualifiers for the 2017 UEFA European Under-21 Championship in 12 months, correct?

Unless, of course, he gets called into the England senior squad
    any reporters from the Independent on the forum?
    from http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30529951.html
    FIFA rules prevent a player from representing two countries in the same campaign, meaning England would have to wait until the start of the next set of U-21 qualifiers in September 2015 to cap Grealish.

2,796 Posts
    Could England cap him in a competitive u19 game before then?

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    No, he'll be overage by the time that starts.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    This thing of needing time to think about his international future is a bit of bullsh1t in my opinion. Its not like this has suddenly come as a massive surprise that he might be on the verge of a senior call up for us so hes had long enough to decide what he wants.

To me it comes across completely of "Cheers Ireland, ye have kept me in the spotlight up to now but I dont really want to play for ye"

If he does decide to play for England then fair enough, good luck to him. I just hope to God it doesnt turn into a situation for where we are wondering for half the year what hes gonna do.

I hope he does stay with us because we are lacking much genuine talent coming through, but I get the feeling that he and his father look at International football as just an opportunity to develop his profile, and realistically when it comes down to it an England international will earn a higher profile leading to much higher earnings
    I can see why a club might want him to be an England international purely from a transfer value perspective, although if he goes on to establish himself I'd imagine his transfer value will become what it is regardless of whether he's an Irish international or a English international. On the other hand a club might prefer one of their players to have nearly every summer off!

Anyway, I nominate Tets to get in touch with him via Twitter and ask him for clarity. As compiler of the Irish Abroad database Tets has a right to know. He can say he's already working on the 2015/16 edition and wants to know whether to include him or not!

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Interview on front of sunday times today with jacks father and he speaks about their meeting with o neill.

im on my phone at the minute...will try post it later

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Id be very surprised if we see this lad in the Senior team ever. If he gets a phone call from Woy Id say he could be turned easy enough.
    It's not as simple as the FA or Hodgson simply giving him a call though. They'd also need to cap him competitively and would, most likely, have to be able to convince him that it wouldn't be a solitary appearance.

Am I correct in thinking that if he were to play in a senior international friendly for England, that wouldn't actually effect any switch? In other words, he'd have to play competitively for them? Is there doubt surrounding that? I know the rules state pretty clearly that one request to change association is permitted, but is that actually how it's applied practically? Previous cases, such as Bobby Zamora, don't appear to support that in reality.

A bit more meat on the bone here from the Examiner. Wasn't John Fallon the guy who wrote the original Indo article?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/s...re-283188.html

The article also says that McGoldrick is awaiting his passport and Andy Reid is a major injury doubt, although he played yesterday. The article was From Friday.
    Even though there had been no formal declaration of interest from the FAI (in fact, Scotland were asking questions), McGoldrick was quoted months ago as saying he'd already set in motion the process of acquiring his Irish passport in anticipation of a hoped call-up: http://www.theleaguepaper.com/latest...-irish-chance/

The process has been taking quite a while then, but it sounds like it's a less straightforward case; he has previously mentioned that his adoptive family, the McGoldricks, have Irish roots, but that piece and this one appear to confirm that his eligibility spires from his birth mother's Irish father. It's an interesting one as there'd no longer be any formal legal relationship there, as far as I know. I hadn't been fully sure that citizenship could be passed down that way, but it makes sense of course; citizenship is expressly derived from being born to an Irish citizen, irrespective of whether or not there's still a formal legal relationship there.

In theory, if he was of right age they could. Shane Duffy played for our under-19s after having played for the IFA's under-21s, for example.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    Interview on front of sunday times today with jacks father and he speaks about their meeting with o neill.

im on my phone at the minute...will try post it later
    Come on man, get off the phone. Your mammy can wait until later.

132 Posts
    Come on man, get off the phone. Your mammy can wait until later.

I told mammy to get off the phone .

Here ye go

Kevin Grealish interview in todays times

http://i.imgur.com/x0J1ZTt.jpg
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

285 Posts
    Sounds like he wants to play for England but our U21's will do for the moment
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

491 Posts
    I think the dream is dead now he will never play for us at senior level. Ive been deluding myself since the first post on this thread. Fantastic player though. I dont think england have a player like him. He will be 20 when england play in the euros and id be fairly convinced he would be in that squad as a playmaker. apart from barkley i dont see who else england have in that role

132 Posts
    I feel a "Come on Lads .....Keep the faith - jack will stay with us" post is due!

so

Come on Lads .....Keep the faith - jack will stay with us!!
    My Country is My Club.

2,796 Posts
    England have such an easy group they could pick a whole team of U21s and they'd qualify. They could easily call him up sometime soon, though even they would probably wait until he's established at club level first. Any England senior call up would be seen as cynical. It's a year until they can offer him a u21 call up, I think.

Let's see what pans out. He has rejected a partially cynical FAI attempt to call him up now. That's probably good advice.

He has consistently talked of playing for Ireland only in the present tense, refusing to get drawn into making firm statements committing to the future. He said something like he'd have been excited by the summer senior friendlies, none of which would have tied him.

England are clearly lurking and bending his ear. If he has made up his mind he'd make the switch now, or will do so shortly, without waiting for an England call up.

As things stand the door is still open for both countries. I personally dont blame him for that at all. He needs to do what's best for him. If his dad has his head screwed on he'll recognise that it's not all rosy in the FA's garden. Ask Jack Wilshere. The reality at England is that you're a zero unless you excel at a major tournament. With Jack's boyband good looks and sporting talent he'll be a star in Ireland with much less to prove, and much less baggage to carry through his club career.

I don't see any firm Ireland commitment anytime soon but I'm not sure we'll see an England declaration until he needs to give one either.

Another year of the Ireland team being secondary in the media's eyes to the speculation of a player's thoughts beckons methinks. Another sideshow we could all do without.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 24/08/2014 at 8:57 PM.

446 Posts
    Just put him in for the Gib game, job done. And all the other wannabes.

417 Posts
    England seems to produce more Muslim terrorists than quality footballers these days.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    England seems to produce more Muslim terrorists than quality footballers these days.
    Serious question Crosby - do you think before you post or do you type the first thing that comes into ur head?
    My Country is My Club.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Just put him in for the Gib game, job done. And all the other wannabes.
    I'll pack my boots.

517 Posts
    England have such an easy group they could pick a whole team of U21s and they'd qualify. They could easily call him up sometime soon, though even they would probably wait until he's established at club level first. Any England senior call up would be seen as cynical. It's a year until they can offer him a u21 call up, I think.

Let's see what pans out. He has rejected a partially cynical FAI attempt to call him up now. That's probably good advice.

He has consistently talked of playing for Ireland only in the present tense, refusing to get drawn into making firm statements committing to the future. He said something like he'd have been excited by the summer senior friendlies, none of which would have tied him.

England are clearly lurking and bending his ear. If he has made up his mind he'd make the switch now, or will do so shortly, without waiting for an England call up.

As things stand the door is still open for both countries. I personally dont blame him for that at all. He needs to do what's best for him. If his dad has his head screwed on he'll recognise that it's not all rosy in the FA's garden. Ask Jack Wilshere. The reality at England is that you're a zero unless you excel at a major tournament. With Jack's boyband good looks and sporting talent he'll be a star in Ireland with much less to prove, and much less baggage to carry through his club career.

I don't see any firm Ireland commitment anytime soon but I'm not sure we'll see an England declaration until he needs to give one either.

Another year of the Ireland team being secondary in the media's eyes to the speculation of a player's thoughts beckons methinks. Another sideshow we could all do without.
    Isn't that what I was saying all along yet people accused me of misinterpreting his words/wumming/being cynical.

The father says if Jack plays competitively for England, he won't be able to return for Ireland. What is the significance of this? Why should that be a problem? Is he insinuating that if things don't work out with England, Jack would want to have Ireland as a fall back option? The lad is free to choose who he wants to play for but he has had/will continue to have long enough to think about it. His first decision should be his last decision and it's pretty inexcusable to have regrets about it.

I don't see what's cynical about England sniffing after him either. He was born and bred in the country. I think it's pretty cynical that Ireland have given him a chance at every International age group and (by the looks of things) Roy Keane is responsible for his promotion to the first team set up yet there is no reciprocation from Jack.

I don't think he is anywhere near England's radar either and with under a year left on his contract, off the back of a loan spell in League One and with the disarray at boardroom level at Villa, I find it far-fetched and hopeful that anyone at the club is pressuring him to declare for England.

3,501 Posts
    I can see why a club might want him to be an England international purely from a transfer value perspective, although if he goes on to establish himself I'd imagine his transfer value will become what it is regardless of whether he's an Irish international or a English international. On the other hand a club might prefer one of their players to have nearly every summer off!

Anyway, I nominate Tets to get in touch with him via Twitter and ask him for clarity. As compiler of the Irish Abroad database Tets has a right to know. He can say he's already working on the 2015/16 edition and wants to know whether to include him or not!
    Actually, I have very little contact with players on twitter, although Anthony Stokes and James McClean follow me. I think McClean's closed his account again though. I had a brief conversation with Stephen McPhail's wife once after he was booked and I posted it to twitter!
    Anyway, thanks for the nomination, but I'm declining it. I'm not adding my voice to number of messages he already gets on a daily basis. See for yourself - https://twitter.com/search?f=realtim...Ajackgrealish1
    some excerpts:
    https://twitter.com/CillianDoyle13/s...92755208982528
    @JackGrealish1 Declare for Ireland!! #BetterThanGlenWhelan
    https://twitter.com/Hasher83/status/502904296623833089
    @JackGrealish1 Not in the @FAIreland squad Jack?? Do I sense your about to opt out and hold on for the England call??
    https://twitter.com/DeanFlynn85/stat...02624094797824
    @JackGrealish1 I might be bias cuz im a proud English man but u gotta choose England, the world needs to see your talent!
    https://twitter.com/bazzyboo4/status/503110865772875776
    @JackGrealish1 you goin to turn ur back on Ireland now after England not rating u at underage??
    I wasn't aware he was ever involved with England at underage level, in any capacity

he hasn't responded to any of these messages, so I doubt he'd reply to me either

Page 35 of 90 FirstFirst ... 2533343536374585 ... LastLast