Page 57 of 90 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967 ... LastLast
Results 1,121 to 1,140 of 1789

Thread: Jack Grealish

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Dan McDonnell has been defending Fallon on twitter.
    Just having a look: https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/sta...02860447879168

Why would Grealish distance himself from the story though if he'd made a decision, or why would Fallon breach confidences and risk his reputation if the player was not prepared to go public with it yet? Grealish's tweet doesn't make Fallon look good at all, whether the lad has made a decision in private or not.

517 Posts
    He's registered as a Republic of Ireland U-21 player yes.

Certain statements, actions and traits such as supporting the England senior team, suggesting that his decision to play for Ireland at youth level was motivated by playing at a higher age group, vague and sometimes contradictory statements to the press, his brother and father's body language and turning down a senior call up understandably muddy waters and create a little doubt.

Understandable and nobody is judging him or his Irishness.

There are plenty of England players who are proud of their Irish heritage and there are plenty of Ireland players who could care less. What country you play for doesn't determine your Irishness.

In modern football, players put themselves first; not just Jack.

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post

Why would Grealish distance himself from the story though if he'd made a decision, or why would Fallon breach confidences and risk his reputation if the player was not prepared to go public with it yet? Grealish's tweet doesn't make Fallon look good at all, whether the lad has made a decision in private or not.
    There was no need to go public with Quinn's comments either. The lad has a bit of growing up to do. 5 years ago players wouldn't have Twitter accounts so it wouldn't have been an issue then but left, right and center similar-aged players are making fools of themselves so it's not exclusive to him.

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post

Because there is a mole :P

49 Posts
    eeeh lads have you looked at this or wha.......

Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    seen this on YBIG forum, can't access it at work so is this plausable???.......

Just seen a comment from someone
    'It looks like the story is true. His dad, Kevin Grealish, has just shared the above Irish Times story on his Facebook page with the heading "Ireland V USA. Jack v Brad Guzan" - https://www.facebook.com/kevin.grealish.7

675 Posts
    As POS says, there has to be something in the story. Even if it's a misunderstanding. There's no way a freelance sports reporter simply fabricates a back page story at the risk of his career. And it only makes the page if the writer can explain it to his editors, even if the final story doesn't appear to have much substance.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

517 Posts
    I wouldn't read into it Duggie.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    I wouldn't read into it Duggie.
    no lets pleasseee lets....

Fallon's sources are correct. Regardless of Jack's attempt to avoid controversy by distancing himself from the story, he will be in the next Ireland squad.

Follow-up from Fallon: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/socc...lish-1.1967569

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    eeeh lads have you looked at this or wha.......
    it's pretty much what the poster from YBIG said, his dad shared the story from the Irish Times with the comment "Ireland V USA. Jack v Brad Guzan"
    no other comments attached.

As with every other crumb of information on this for the last 12 months, you can divine any one of several conclusions from it, which may or may not be influenced by your personal bias, and none of them may be true.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 17/10/2014 at 2:23 PM.

2,284 Posts
    I don't think here is anything really ambiguous or complex about the situation at all - and I don't think anybody has been hostile towards Jack; quite reserved in fact. I don't think what anyone - myself included - has said is up there with the opprobrium NI fans reserve for "their" players declaring for us.
    Well, it's ambiguous in the sense that the situation remains unclear, where one of two things can happen (although Fallon now appears adamant), and it's complex in the sense that it's obviously a difficult decision for Grealish to make due to his youth, mixed identity, career considerations and whatever other factors might be influencing his judgment. Now, I hope you're paying attention, Paul, because this is where myself and TOWK have fundamentally disagreed on this issue; it's been a disagreement over the ambiguity/clarity of the situation rather than over whether he'll ultimately play for Ireland/England.

To be fair to you, TOWK, you haven't been outrightly hostile - I've seen some of that on YBIG and it's nasty (in fact, the original Grealish thread there was actually deleted out of embarrassment) - but I see your persistent suspicion and expectation of him to be tantamount to implicit accusation or mild passive aggression. It's passively hostile.

Nobody is calling him a liar. Just pointing out that suggesting he was looking forward to an International call up and then turning down said International call up is a little bit deceptive. But he's only young like.
    So, he's deceiving us, but not a liar? Is there much of a difference?

If your remark about his youth isn't sarcastic - it's hard to tell - then kudos for your empathy.

There was no need to go public with Quinn's comments either. The lad has a bit of growing up to do.
    The "plastic paddy" thing? It was a bit of on-pitch banter; no offence was intended and none was taken. Both had a laugh about it and later over people reading into it. Quinn even revealed his own child was born in England, didn't he?

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    As POS says, there has to be something in the story. Even if it's a misunderstanding. There's no way a freelance sports reporter simply fabricates a back page story at the risk of his career. And it only makes the page if the writer can explain it to his editors, even if the final story doesn't appear to have much substance.
    Certainly true, but it's odd all the same that Fallon didn't make sure Jack was singing from the same hymn sheet before going to press. Still, I guess it's a scoop of sorts and he was eager to reveal his exclusive. Maybe Jack's dad wanted to surprise Jack with how developments have been going in his talks with the FAI but Fallon let the cat out of the bag, ha.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    It is his job to sell news papers, I sure his fanciful report shifted a few more copies of the paper.

I doubt he will get the sack for making up stories and even if he did I am sure the Daily Mail would be delighted to sign him up.

Fallon didn't need to check with Jack because he already knew the story was made up rubbish because he made it up.

2,796 Posts
    There was never any OWC style opprobrium on TOWK's part but that shouldn't necessarily be the standard. There was plenty of disapproval though and there was quite a lack of humility and empathy in his postings. It was all almost as hysterical and nonsensical as the James McCarthy paranoia. I guess my main point is that TOWK tried to make a very big deal out of what was a pretty predictable and understandable situation, and one that hasn't been concluded yet.

Paul, it's different to opinions on Trap and Ward. Anyone can argue whether he thinks X is a good or bad player or manager, but TOWK nailed his colours to the mast on the lack of ambiguity in Grealish's intentions and also on a moral judgment on those perceived intentions.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    It is his job to sell news papers, I sure his fanciful report shifted a few more copies of the paper.

I doubt he will get the sack for making up stories and even if he did I am sure the Daily Mail would be delighted to sign him up.

Fallon didn't need to check with Jack because he already knew the story was made up rubbish because he made it up.
    But that's nonsense and not how this type of journalism works, except in ridiculous movies.

It's not his job to sell newspapers, it's his job to sell content. That content ideally will help newspapers, but if it's patently bogus then his career is over - totally ruined. An editor won't let the threat of Grealish or his family having nothing to do with the paper again just to sell a couple more units.

In this instance, that fact Fallon works across multiple publications is literally a force multiplier. If it was one guy tipping off the Irish Daily Star, then maybe - maybe - they would run that story. But there's no way a go-to sports freelancer for numerous outlets is going to risk doing it.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,796 Posts
    What else has Fallon "scooped" or got exclusive on this story? The meeting that took place between the Grealishes snd MON? It'd appear on that basis that he does indeed have some inside track. Still proves nothing yet though, but the needle on my barometer has tilted back towards him playing for Ireland.

I think Fallon has been first with more or less all news on Grealish. If I was to hazard a guess, I'd say he's the journalist KG trusts with the odd leak.

2,796 Posts
    That's what it seems like.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I think he is waiting for the Pistorius trial to finish first, so it could be a couple of years yet before he commits.

1,825 Posts
    If he plays against the USA he's still not tied... *runs*
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the doc View Post
    Feck me lads! It's Friday night go out on the Black Pop.

JG has been given an ultimatum, put up or shut up, so expect him to be called into the next senior squad but should he withdraw its curtains for him with us.

I also think someone should have a quiet word with his star struck father and tell him to shut the feck up!
    you know the rules doc, you can delete the post, or you have 24 hours to produce proof of this ultimatum, otherwise it's an infraction
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 18/10/2014 at 1:45 PM.

Page 57 of 90 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967 ... LastLast