74 Posts

GUFC Reduce admission Prices

Last edited by A face; 28/02/2011 at 3:57 PM. Reason: Updating the link
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

That is unreal value for any fan to be fair, i hope it works out for United.

Theres talk of an expected 2,500+ crowd for tomorrows opener, it would be great if it was to happen. The city and county has certainy got behind GUFC now that the supporters trust has taken over the running of the club and with the season ticket sales now past the 500 mark things are still on the up.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Theres talk of an expected 2,500+ crowd for tomorrows opener, it would be great if it was to happen. The city and county has certainy got behind GUFC now that the supporters trust has taken over the running of the club and with the season ticket sales now past the 500 mark things are still on the up.
    Jaysus fair play, know ye were selling season tickets on the cheap but still impressive selling. If ye could get another 1000 paying customers(achievable at those prices imo) regulary coupled with away fans it would give ye a good base to go forward with. Best of luck with it.
    Last edited by 1st time post; 03/03/2011 at 6:54 PM. Reason: spell

445 Posts
    I'm definitely going to chance my arm and say I'm a secondary school student tomorrow night, sorry Galway lads

Hopefully there will be a big crowd at it tomorrow will be a great atmosphere, About 300 Saints will make the trip west
    Here on a technicality.

20 Posts
    Fair play Galway I think ticket prices are too high in this league but it's a bit of a catch 22 situation for most clubs.
    Misfits

Great value for the season tickets.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by 1st time post View Post
    Jaysus fair play, know ye were selling season tickets on the cheap but still impressive selling. If ye could get another 1000 paying customers(achievable at those prices imo) regulary coupled with away fans it would give ye a good base to go forward with. Best of luck with it.
    Thats it exactly, we have to be realistic here, we aren't going to jump the gun in anyway thinking we can afford this that and the other. Everything will be within a tight budget and we are hoping it will really come good for us 3 or 4 seasons down the road.

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    Fair play Galway I think ticket prices are too high in this league but it's a bit of a catch 22 situation for most clubs.
    Yeah, fair play to them! It is a catch 22 as you say. €99 for a season ticket is great value. What are other clubs charging?
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Thats it exactly, we have to be realistic here, we aren't going to jump the gun in anyway thinking we can afford this that and the other. Everything will be within a tight budget and we are hoping it will really come good for us 3 or 4 seasons down the road.
    I can't figure out whether this is a far sighted visionary move or a foolish gamble that will backfire on Galway!!!

According to PS's attendance thread Galway averaged 869 people last year. If the claim of gate prices being reduced by 20% are accurate this alone would need an extra 175 paying in just to stand still (assume the extra in-ground profit opportunities are very limited with no bar etc?). But when you take into account that many of these regulars will now buy season tickets at €99 (or an average of say €8 per match) it might need close on double last seasons average numbers to return extra income.

From a fan perspective it looks great value, but I have always felt that price is only one part of the equation (although a very important one).

A gate of 2000+ would be a very encouraging start for Galway, but the real challenge for Galway and others is to hold and build on the gate when the season progresses. When you consider that Galway are unlikely to be competing in the top half of the table, this is going to be doubly difficult.

I hope this works for Galway and that they can reap the rewards of this down the line

€99 is great value for a season ticket,paid €230 for my Sligo Rovers one. What happens if Galway get relegated though?Attendances will obviously drop so would you be able to afford to leave prices as they are?and if people are paying €99 for premier div football surely they wouldn't pay more to watch first division if you decided you couldn't afford to leave it at €99?It could be a great success for galway but in my opinion its a pretty big risk,hope it works out though.

217 Posts
    €230 is around the average alright from what I've been able to see from other clubs. It's a fair price in fairness, average of around €12 a game.
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.

Good to see from Galway. Wasn't too long ago they were charging €20 in! was there even a time when they went €25 or am I imagining that?

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Good to see from Galway. Wasn't too long ago they were charging €20 in! was there even a time when they went €25 or am I imagining that?
    Spot on...for the first half of the 2008 season it was E20 in, and an extra E5 to get into the New Stand

38 Posts
    Other clubs will probably have to follow suit, a tenner is a more realistic price for our league. I hope this works out for Galway.

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_SRFC View Post
    Other clubs will probably have to follow suit, a tenner is a more realistic price for our league. I hope this works out for Galway.
    I think €12 a game over the season is about right, maybe €10 for behind the goal-ends.

Here's a breakdown of season ticket prices from what I can see on various club websites:
    St Pat's: €240
    Derry City: £200 (€230)
    Shamrock Rovers: €220
    Bohemians: €220
    Sligo Rovers: €200
    UCD: €180 (Student: €90)
    Dundalk: €170
    Drogheda United: €139
    Bray Wanderers: €99
    Galway United: €99

55 Posts

credibility the key for gufc

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    I can't figure out whether this is a far sighted visionary move or a foolish gamble that will backfire on Galway!!!
    We have lost so much credibility with the Galway public we have to reduce things, try and rebuild our crowds and see can we make them stick with us. We have over 600 season tickets sold now about 60k up to and before kick off the first night of season is not bad. The total all season last year for season ticket sales was about 34k. We are hoping the 600 will bring people and introduce them back over the season. We seem to be the ryanair of irish football at the minute but our gate money was up approx 35% tonight as well compared to average last season
    Last edited by geezer; 04/03/2011 at 11:23 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    I think €12 a game over the season is about right, maybe €10 for behind the goal-ends.

Here's a breakdown of season ticket prices from what I can see on various club websites:
    St Pat's: €240
    Derry City: £200 (€230)
    Shamrock Rovers: €220
    Bohemians: €220
    Sligo Rovers: €200
    UCD: €180 (Student: €90)
    Dundalk: €170
    Drogheda United: €139
    Bray Wanderers: €99
    Galway United: €99
    pats is actually 216 9as they extended the 'early bird offer' to infinity...

27 Posts
    Fair play to Pats brought a good crowd with them last night

Good percussion section too !

Fair play to Galway we had 2 adults and 3 children all got in for €20.00. That's great value for money and hopefully other including Pats follow suit over the next couple of years.
    Galway is taking over from Drogs as my Favoutite away trip - road, Stand, price if you could just move 1 of the 3 chipper vans back to the away section it'd be perfect.
    On another note it was great to see that the pitch was in top order as well