Page 30 of 34 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast

Thread: Predict the Squad/ Starting Lineup for Macedonia

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    He was dropped after Ipswich played Leeds and has not played a minute in Ipswich's last two games.
    Ipswich kept a clean sheet in that game
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

285 Posts
    I'm actually thinking one day we will see six of the lads coming out of the tunnel carrying Kilbane in his coffin for the match the way things are going. It seems he will never be dropped.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 25/03/2011 at 2:25 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

229 Posts
    Ah come on, he's decent enough in the box.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Hahah good one Trap, that gave me a laugh.

They will probably carrying him on for set pieces too, put him upright in the box geddit?

ah even after the edit junior has it in there...
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 25/03/2011 at 2:32 PM. Reason: damn junior has the joke too

westwood, dunne, o'dea, gibson and whelan as the spine of the team...i fear the worst

Disappointed that Clark isn't playing instead of O'Dea.

I think it is important to have Kilbane in the back four, when we are missing Given, O'Shea and even St Ledger's experience.

Kilbane's cool head will be needed tomorrow evening to settle the nerves of Foley, O'Dea and probably even Westwood. No doubt Westwood will be happy having a cool head in front of him.

634 Posts
    Surprised O'Dea is starting - equally surprised Clark is not starting at all!
    There seems to be conflicting stats here re: O'Dea; if he has played all but the last two games for Ipswich, then he is going to be match-fit for this game. He'd want to be some langer not to be fit after not being selected for two matches in a row!
    The guy has shown real potential (albeit some time ago) at the highest level at centre back. More of us are confused as to why his career hasn't progressed in the meantime. I wouldn't be too concerned about him starting considering he has the Honey Monster beside him.

I think we're all disappointed that Clark isn't selected due to his impressive debut vs the Taffies. It's amplified given that Killer has long been a weaklink defensively in the team, and we're probably a bit desperate to see him replaced. This really should be his swansong given the amount of friendlies we now have coming up.

AS for Gibson, well you can see the reasoning - he has been there or thereabouts for United since Xmas, and to be fair it was the stick which Trap beat him with for long enough, so in a way it's put up or shut up time. That said I'd have preferred Fahey myself. He hunts for the ball more, has a better passing range and crucially offers more from a dead ball in my opinion. But it is nice to see an explanation from Trap (re the line at which the Macedonian's defend) - that's what he's paid to do, and if it comes off well then well done.
    On reflection he is playing the McCarthy situation correctly. To give him his first start for his country in the pivotal position on the field (at 19), where he has no rapport (yet) with his teammates, in a game we must win, would be putting an unfair burden on the lad. I could definitely see him coming on for Robbie and going 5 in midfield if we're up by 2 goals come the 70th minute. That would definitely suit him.

Anyone know the subs yet?

Now the team is picked, I'll say what I've been thinking all week - I think we're going to run riot on Sat. We've two wingers that are on an equal footing at present, and both are playing exceptionally well. We've a centre midfielder that loves to take the ball forward and keept the play progressing and taking pot shots all day long, and we've a totem up front that is having perhaps his best season in the most pressurised league in the world, and we've our record scorer back fit and itching for a game. Finally we've a group of supporters that will raise the roof given the day and time the match takes place. I think we're underestimating just how forward thinking this team is that's been picked.
    I think we could lay down a marker tomorrow night. I think we're gonna win by 3. McGeady could break his duck too.

Anyone who's around from mid afternoon, take a wander over to scruffy murphy's, the atmosphere there should be a good indication as to what the Lansdowne end will be like a few hours later.
    Éire abú!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

2,796 Posts
    Paul, who says I'm backing up Trap? Rather than backing up Trap I'm refuting the notion that it's clearly a bad call. I've said myself - this will be the third time - that I'd go with Clark.

Either player is a risk.

We're down to the bare bones defensively.

Managers are allowed to make judgment calls in marginal cases.

We've got 3 friendlies before we play Macedonia away. That's the time for Trap to think for the longer term. The only timespan I'm interested in right now is 10pm on Saturday.

634 Posts
    Have to agree with Stutts. The important thing come 10pm on Sat is that we've the three points. After that however, he needs to give time to the fellas that he's going to turn to in the case of the next injury crisis - because it's not the kids that are pulling out through injuries in the main, it's the old reliables, Given, O'Shea, Keane, Dunne and even Duff has been prone.
    Westwood, Randolph, O'Dea, Clark, Wilson, Foley, McCarthy, Treacy, Long all need significant game time between Uruguay, NIron, Scotland, Italy and Another.
    There is enough reason, I believe, for Dunne and Duffer to be excused Tuesday night - Keane too.

675 Posts
    Don't necessarily share it, but loving the optimism Kingdom. The excitement's flowing now...

Taking a stab at the sub's bench: Forde; Clark; Kelly; McCarthy; Green; Lawrence; Long.

That's what I think he'll go with though I'd have Fahey in there instead of Green. Also read on RTE Walters won't make it due to his wife, selfishly, not giving birth yet. Would have had him on the bench for physical plan B option.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 25/03/2011 at 3:36 PM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

kingdom.go back a couple of pages where i posted odeas starts in the last 2 months.

i really don't know how you think we are going to win by 3.the excitement of a new arrival and your hormones are playing havoc!

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I thought Collins plays beside Dunne at Villa?

Tets, dig out the last 12 weeks' appearance stats please!
    Of Villa's 13 games so far this year, Dunne and Clark have started together 9 times: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/ClubDetails?clubID=154

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    i really don't know how you think we are going to win by 3.the excitement of a new arrival and your hormones are playing havoc!
    Good things happen in threes.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Don't share it, but loving the optimism Kingdom. The excitement's flowing now...

Taking a stab at the sub's bench: Forde; Clark; Kelly; McCarthy; Green; Lawrence; Long.

That's what I think he'll go with though I'd have Fahey in there instead of Green. Also read on RTE Walters won't make it due to his wife, selfishly, not giving birth yet. Would have had him on the bench for physical plan B option.
    I'm a romantic SvD, if nothing else!

I'd be very surprised if Keith doesn't make the bench, given he is an option right across the middle. Lawrence could be the fella to miss out there. Kelly & Clark looked nailed on, McCarthy too, and Long is a certainty. So it's between Fats, Lawrence and Green for the last two spots.
    Ooh I'd forgotten about Walters and the totally selfish 'er indoors that he has to endure (joke!). Mmmm then there is every chance that McCarthy on in an advanced role (as envisaged by Trap months ago) will be a substitution if all is going to plan and Doyle has done his usual magic trick as a battering ram (particularily so given the mention of Westwoods boomers as an attacking tool)

kingdom.go back a couple of pages where i posted odeas starts in the last 2 months.

As I said Paul, I'm a romantic. But I do believe we have a set of wingers that will tear the Macedonian back 4 a new one, and will create numerous chances for the front two (and themselves of course). Whether people want to believe it, with the front 6 that he has picked, there is a goal threat from each one, incl McGeady even though he can't score himself, he has enough assists for both Ireland and Spartak over the past year, too many for the begrudgers to ignore. We are a credible threat from set pieces as well with Dunne, Doyle, Kilbane all major threats in the box.

Paul, I may be metrosexual, but I haven't the ability to carry offspring* so the hormones are grand thanks. Sure, there might be a tear on due day, but it's not like I breakdown into a blubbering mess at the sight of a babygro with in-stitched mitts. I save those tender moments for Croke Park.

*yet
    Last edited by Kingdom; 25/03/2011 at 5:05 PM.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    I'm a romantic SvD, if nothing else!

I'd be very surprised if Keith doesn't make the bench, given he is an option right across the middle. Lawrence could be the fella to miss out there. Kelly & Clark looked nailed on, McCarthy too, and Long is a certainty. So it's between Fats, Lawrence and Green for the last two spots.
    Ooh I'd forgotten about Walters and the totally selfish 'er indoors that he has to endure (joke!). Mmmm then there is every chance that McCarthy on in an advanced role (as envisaged by Trap months ago) will be a substitution if all is going to plan and Doyle has done his usual magic trick as a battering ram (particularily so given the mention of Westwoods boomers as an attacking tool)
    I think Lawrence's favour with Trap will swing it his way - the versatility works out about the same way, since either winger can switch and there'll be two other CM's on the bench. Though I suppose Fahey would offer the least disruptive sub option. He'll be unlucky to miss out in fairness.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

3,500 Posts

just out of curiosity, why did you exclude his January games? He played quite a bit then

634 Posts
    Obvously March is the month he's most likely to lose his fitness if not playing regular football, Shrove Tuesday, Lent, Pats Day, he's Irish - never stood a chance. D'uh!

;-)

646 Posts
    Nearly 600 posts and nobody got the starting lineup correct.(Almost impossible) Giovanni you evasive, unpredictable old fox.
    Would've liked to have seen Clark at either left back or center back but hopefully the game won't be won or lost on this.
    We should give O'Dea the benefit of the doubt, he must've impressed Trap more than Clark, I doubt Trap is out to sabotage his own campaign although he has given some ammo to his detractors should we lose.

Considering the tactics we employ, I predict a 1-0 or 2-1 win.

I predict we'll start out strong, overwhelm them with quick tempo football and score within the first 10 minutes. We'll create plenty of chances and convert none of them and escape with a much-needed 1-0 win.

Joe, I called O'Dea in the starting line up a couple of weeks ago. Although that was on the assumption that it would be Dunne and not Sledge to miss out.
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 25/03/2011 at 4:23 PM.

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Knowing how conservative Trap is I do think he will pick Kilbane over Clark for the Macedonia game - I think he'd prefer to see Clark get a few more caps before making him first-choice full-back. As a result I predict a very familiar line-up assuming Dunne is fit.

Westwood
    O'Shea Dunne St.Ledger Kilbane
    McGeady Gibson Whelan Duff
    Doyle Keane

Average age of 28, over 50 caps on average and a total of 82 international goals. I think McCarthy and Long are almost certain to get a run as well.
    Think I got 9 of the 11 right 12 days ago but that was before the injuries to O'Shea and St.Ledger - Trap is seriously conservative and will make changes very gradually. Clark and McCarthy will get into the team over time but with 1 cap each I never seriously thought Trap would pick them. Having said that, O'Dea does surprise me slightly.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Page 30 of 34 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast