Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Let's give Fenn a break

To be fair lads, ye are going around in circles. Obviously there are 2 views, and i spose both are valid.

Heres hoping that Fenn repays the confidence that has been put into him by some recently, starting with a goal against Jeremiah McDonnehys SPA on Friday night!
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

as far as i'm concerned booing a team or abusing a player is selfish. the only positive result is that it makes an angry "supporter" feel better - but it can only have a negative impact on the team. by all accounts the abuse of fenn in waterford by his own "supporters" was an embarassment to cork city fc.
    the guy hasn't been here long, hasn't settled in yet, has been carrying a leg injury and has still scored 3 goals. if he's not working hard enough there are plenty of people on the team to let him know, not to mention pat dolan.
    i personally hate the negativity brought to the cross by the minority of supporters who feel they must scream and roar at every mistake. last year they were on georgie's back, now it's fenn. club and fans alike would be better off without "supporters" like that.

Quote Originally Posted by jmc105
    last year they were on georgie's back, now it's fenn. club and fans alike would be better off without "supporters" like that.
    supportes like what...we have a right to voice our opinion and there is a reason for fenn
    ]has been carrying a leg injury
    we havent been told this
    but it can only have a negative impact on the team.

i wouldnt agree with that. remember when they got booed against drogs at the end of the game, seem have to seen only positive things since then

maybe fenn will see this as a point to prove to us
    Last edited by thecorner; 03/06/2004 at 4:09 PM.

but would you play him up front wit jof or play doyle up with him.doyler has done an awful lot more than fenn has done this season>????

Quote Originally Posted by jimmity
    but would you play him up front wit jof or play doyle up with him.doyler has done an awful lot more than fenn has done this season>????

would that be very hard for doyler????????

when i say "supporters" like that, i'm referring to the extremely vocal and extremely negative people, seemingly spread liberally around the ground (at least i can't seem to avoid them) who jump on every perceived error and then sceam "ah for **** sake georgie/fenn/billy cut out the fancy shyte/**** off back to waterford/you're a waste of space" etc. i remember the days of paul wimbleton, where players were either too scared or too poor to play the kind of skillful football on offer these days - it seems that some people miss the sight of long ball after long ball being hoofed up and down the pitch.

of course eveyone has a right to voice their opinion. but having the right to do something is not a justification in itself. how can anyone justify the abuse say georgie got last season (not that he doesn't still get a fair bit of it, just that fenn has distracted a few...).

there's not a player in the country who doesn't know when he's played poorly. supporters should encourage and support (shock, horror) their own players. jaysus, even diego forlan doesn't get the kind of abuse i've seen at the cross.....

fenn has been a fitness doubt for quite a few games recently, i think it's a strain (calf, thigh?), and has been taken off with 25 mins to go in most of those. maybe he will try to prove a point, but it's a negative kind of motivation. i'd personally prefer him to say: "i know i've not played well, but the fans have been great and i want to repay their faith in me." maybe i'm just old-fashioned...

he certainly redeemed himself tonight
    Cork City F.C. the envy of the EL

Silenced the critics for 1 game alright.

He definitely played well tonight but even watching tonight the match I think he`s slow rather than lazy. Btw i never boo. or cheer. Possibly because of an existentialist-nihilistic bent or probably cos I`m a cranky *******.

Shinobi - I'd say you're a ball of laughs to go out with for a few pints

"Don't boo or cheer" and you've a what "bent"?????????

I've a pain in the head just reading it.

Are you Miles Crane in disguise?????????
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234