Thread: Longford Town 1-0 Shamrock Rovers

1,104 Posts
    Yeah that end is closed for safety reasons.They had to be put up the end they were in as they had to have access to shop and toilet facilities. The whole three sides are being closed off now until we get the work done on them. Fair enough there was blame on Longford's part but why did they insist on having to go down that end when they knew they weren't allowed to? Even after the trouble had calmed down they still kept going despite being told to go back. the guards let them down to stop any more trouble. But as i said earlier the vast majority of Rovers fans had no problem staying in that section, why did the others have to take it as a personal challenge to get down the other end?

250 Posts
    tom the gom was happy with the result he was heard saying
    "well they are happy in cork tonight,you done them a favour"

Thumbs down ONCE SCUM,ALWAYS ALWAYS FúCKIN' SCUM

Quote Originally Posted by TommyT
    Lads no matter what age you are cop on. You all admit to Longford fans getting involved, and make excuses for them yet say all the Rovers fans should be banned etc.
    whatever about town fans getting involved,cork city fans got involved 2 weeks ago also.other teams fans involvement is in response to the SCUM fans initial involvement etc.yes it sounds childish but thats all that rovers fans who get involved in trouble are-kids.
    j'accuse!

in fairness macy whether town fans got involved or not if the rovers fans would support their team instead of acting like a crowd of animals this would have been avoided.its not the first and wont be the last time they will cause trouble.they have got away fir too long
    Copperknob!!!

there was more force used by the garda at the reclaim the streets in may 2 years ago, not a baton in sight on sat, you could see 20 mins into the match that there was gonna be trouble, i said it to a steward ( whos jacket number i have ) and he did nothing....

just got a text from someone saying that the club are meeting with other clubs in dublin tonight to discuss the removal of rovers fans from away games....its harsh but would gurantee no trouble unless i go over to section O...

i was talking to two rovers fans on sat just before the game finished and every time they have been in trouble bray, bohs, cork, longford....they blamed the other club, i feel that is also part of the problem, but macy did make a very valid point about the policeing and stewards....

one final point, these "fans" were guests at our home ground with a lot of kids there, they were asked to stay in a certain place and they acted like thugs when they couldn't go where they wanted. I for one want a family atmosphere at flancare and its great to see familes going to the games together, if the likes of the scenes i witnessed on sat stopped that i would agree with the banning of ALL rovers fans, maybe then they would get their house in order and stop blaming every one else....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

So ban the Rovers fans to cover up the fact that no-one in the league can police a football match?

There were Longford people there only too willing to get stuck into the Rovers fans - that's what started the fighting. The fact they got outnumbered after is hardly here nor there. If one of the section O lads got into mither I would certainly go in and help them, be that at a football match or outside Deli...

i agree with the stewards points, but the fact remains that every time there is trouble in the last few years rovers are involved, is that not true...

if they can't handle their own fans then it will have to be done for them, if they are banned mayde they'll start takin it seriously and ban the trouble makers them selves as at the mo it just moves from one riot to the next....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

250 Posts
    by the way i saw several camera men and the longford video recorder there.
    surely something can be done to identify these bogeys and ban them.??

one of them is bound to have photos??are the gardai not interested in photos/footage??

the main camera man didn't record a thing, that is all i could see from the safety of the stand...

But there was a camera in the stand recording!

techs
    In recent years in Flancare there has been trouble with several clubs, not just Rovers.Galway decided to rip up some seats a few years ago, some Bohs fans used one of the walls as a toilet, Dundalk made racist remarks at Lavine along with throwing bananas, even in Dalyer last year the Town team were kept back for an hour because the Bohs fans were waiting for them..To be honest I didn't see the incident on Sat I was away from it but I was told today that the FAI aren't particularly happy with the stewarding in Flancare Park.Seemingly the FAI stewards told the Town stewards to let the Rovers fans move and that they would accompany them but the Town stewards decided to be heavy handed and overrule them..