Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: New Club

238 Posts
    Word is TBCHFC just won the Nigerian Lotto and have approached internationally renowned manager Roddy Collins to lead the club into a sucessful 2 year history. Roddy is quoted as saying "I unearthed these guys long before anyone even heard of them"

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan6189 View Post
    I actually thought this was real till I seen the responces ha
    I'm taking that as a compliment, thanks.

1,825 Posts
    If that's the case why was Raica Oliveira's entourage milling about De Barra Park earlier. EG, sometimes I wonder about you with your inability to see the trees from your wood.

We all know that Mara is to relieve Manuela of her Trap duties from Macedonia onwards with Manuela moving upstairs to replace Gavin as League supremo.

Seamless transition is the name of the game.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

943 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    If that's the case why was Raica Oliveira's entourage milling about De Barra Park earlier. EG, sometimes I wonder about you with your inability to see the trees from your wood.
    Well, Bonnie, woodn't you?

If Berlusconi falls, Mara may be available sooner than Raica, and as they say in Termonbarry, a bush in the hand is worth... no wait... two birds and a... no, no not that either. Damn these reafforestation schemes anyway... I pine for easier gags...

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Word is TBCHFC just won the Nigerian Lotto and have approached internationally renowned manager Roddy Collins to lead the club into a sucessful 2 year history. Roddy is quoted as saying "I unearthed these guys long before anyone even heard of them"
    Sssshhhh, you weren't meant to let that slip. There's been some wild speculation about the identity of the new Termonbarry City manager, but most of this is spurious conjecture. I can neither confirm nor deny City's first choice as potential manager, but it is true that he has a remarkable CV with some notable successes in European competition and has NEVER been relegated. The owners were impressed by his shrewdness in scouting an astonishing array of players in the past. A very exciting prospect for the league.

Lads, as you can see from this morning's news, everything is going to plan. Cobh have been denied a licence and the begrudgers further down the Shannon in Limerick have been put in their place - their licence is "conditional" on them withdrawing any dissent about the arrival of this new club. In a very positive move which shows the FAI's level of commitment to Termonbarry, Galway United have been removed from the league. However, while uninformed people have been quick to jump to the conclusion that Monaghan United will be promoted, I can exclusively reveal that the last remaining Premier Division spot will in fact go to Termonbarry City. This morning's announcements only dealt with the Premier, First Division and A Championship licences. A further statement will be made later to confirm that Termonbarry City are the first Irish club to secure a Platinum Licence. This astonishing achievement for the fastest-growing club in the country means that not only will Termonbarry City play in the 2011 Premier Division, but they are also entitled to Sporting Fingal's Europa League spot.

A lot of hard work has been done since Wednesday to secure this licence. Blueprints have been shown to the Independent Licensing Committee which detail a really big changing room for referees, immaculately-painted fencing and Dyson hand-driers in the fans bathrooms (note: there will also be baths in the bathrooms). This level of blueprint has never been seen in Irish football before and, most importantly, all aspects of the licensing application have been written in the correctly coloured pens. The directors also plan to develop a lacrosse team and a duathlon squad. Club media officer Harold Presser-Mayall has revealed that a major promotional push will be instigated throughout the mid-Shannon region (a culturally, historically and geographically distinct area). In an offer that has to be seen to be believed, the first 2000 season ticket holders will be given a free season ticket for the Aviva Stadium paid for by the club's major investor. The FAI have given a warm welcome to this commitment to Irish football.

According to yesterday's Sunday Mirror, several other high profile investors have expressed an interest in becoming involved with the club including Michael Flatley and Gayle Killilea although these rumours are entirely unsubstantiated at present. Meanwhile, City already has some celebrity fans with little-known links to Termonbarry. These include Fianna Fail general election candidate Ivan Connaughton and Irish Times columnist John Waters. Glamour model Claire Tully has indicated that she will attend the team's first training session.

The club are remaining tight-lipped about certain aspects of their plans for sustainability, but I'm told this is perfectly normal at such a delicate stage in negotiations. Many potential sponsors have been considered and Termonbarry City are set to announce a major merchandising deal with world famous sportswear group Emperor Clothing. Jerseys will be available for purchase from the club office at the Cardhouse, Sand Street, Termonbarry. I really can't wait for the season to start!!

Any word on who's signing for them? I heard from a bloke in line at the chipper that Faz is being offered some serious money to sign on the dotted line.

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    I'm hearing breaking news on the grapevine that a new club is about to enter the league. I have it on good authority that the new club will be based in County Roscommon and will go by the name Termonbarry City. There's seriously big investment behind this club and the FAI are giving it their full backing. Apparently, the chairman came up with the idea of forming a new football club last Saturday and the FAI are expected to give them the greenlight to enter the league.

The main investor has made millions in Fresh Air sales in recent years. Irish fresh air is highly sought after particularly in smog-afflicted areas such as Los Angeles and Beijing. There's been a lot of debate in the general election campaign about Ireland's ability to become world leaders in "the fresh economy" and, with full government backing, the market is expected to explode in the near future.

The unnamed investor is said to want to give something back to the community where much of his company's fresh air is sourced and sees "the massive untapped potential of Termonbarry" as an ideal location for a League of Ireland club. The proximity to Longford Town and Athlone Town adds to the attraction as it will provide competitive rivalry and 'City' will act as an outlet for midlands League of Ireland football fans who do not already support Athlone or Longford.

The club's main sponsor is rumoured to be the successful vegetable distributor 'Magic' Beans and, despite some reservations from other League of Ireland clubs, the FAI view the new venture as an exciting and sustainable development just when the league needs a boost. Termonbarry are expected to build slowly with youth teams from under 19s all the way down to an elite under fours 'dribblers' squad. However, it is thought that they are to be granted entry into the 2011 First Division due to the insufficient size of Cobh Ramblers' chip van. My source says that they've already offered serious money to Glen Crowe for this season. There's also a chance that one or two big names are coming back from England in order to get in on this exciting opportunity at ground level.

Discussions about the formation of the club are understood to have taken place on Saturday night/Sunday morning in the Purple Onion, Termonbarry after watching one of the most eventful episodes of Match of the Day ever featuring Newcastle's comeback against Arsenal, Everton v Blackpool and Wolves defeating Man U. The soccer-mad mystery investor is thought to have been a Leeds United fan in the past although he confesses to having a childhood affinity with Derby County. He is determined to avoid the pitfalls of other clubs by building slowly although he admits to seeing amazing potential for an Irish team to reach the Champions League group stages by 2015 - the income from which would make the club self-finacing. Although my source says it was difficult to hear over the singing of Garth Brooks songs in the Purple Onion, apparently the new owner is intrigued by the regularity with which Rosenborg qualify for the Champions League and get to play all the major European teams.

While a suitable home ground has yet to be found for this year's matches, it is planned to build a 12,000 seater stadium on the banks of the River Shannon at Sand Street giving Termonbarry City one of the best grounds in the country and affording fans the unique opportunity to travel to games by boat. This will help to attract fans from the entire Shannon region - something which has met with opposition from begrudging teams like Athlone and Limerick (although the FAI have methods to stop these from holding the league back). A temporary club office has been established at The Cardhouse, Termonbarry where a licensing application is being hurried through - although Abbotstown is expected to give City the necessary leeway to develop many aspects.

Personally, I'm really excited by the prospect of this new club even though it may make it much more difficult for my team to win promotion this year. Many lessons have been learned from the failures of Sporting Fingal, Kildare County, Kilkenny City, Dublin City, Thurles Town, Cork United, Brooklyn, Reds United, etc so this wealth of knowledge will surely help the new investors. With the league suffering a major blow after the loss of Sporting Fingal, this clearly makes it the ideal time for an ambitious new project to energise the league and the media have been very receptive to the idea. I'm sure there'll be some negative people on this site though who will scoff and knock the idea. Begrudgers.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Any word on who's signing for them? I heard from a bloke in line at the chipper that Faz is being offered some serious money to sign on the dotted line.
    Willie Joe Padden and Xano are rumoured.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,825 Posts
    I dare anyone to Google Termonbarry now.

57 Posts
    Coincidence that Ronaldo announced his retirement today? I know for a fact he used to go to the same school as Neale Fenn
    Kom Igen, FCK...

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Coincidence that Ronaldo announced his retirement today? I know for a fact he used to go to the same school as Neale Fenn
    really?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Gah! You got in there before me!!

33 Posts
    Glad to see Roscommon finally getting a club but as a Rossie I believe it should be spelt Tarmonbarry ........... I am sure its against the licensing agreement LOL I might have a few acres near scramogue to provide a state of the art 20000 all seater stadium !!!

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    Gah! You got in there before me!!
    And I got in before both of Ye, so Huist!

112 Posts

Tarmonbarry for me!
    Last edited by Pauro 76; 16/02/2011 at 5:26 PM.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

19. Thanks From:

151 Posts
    Any ejit would know that this is not a spoof. If it were, the name Roddy Collins would have been mentioned in early dispatches.

1,825 Posts
    Pauro, Termonbarry not Tarmonbarry!

EmG, I most certainly wood. Schwing.

164 Posts
    By now you've all heard the devastating news of Termonbarry City's demise. It's taken me until now to recover the emotional strength to post what will be my final message about the club.Thanks for all the messages of support and commiseration. Who could possibly have foreseen that Termonbarry would fold so quickly?

I can't believe Fran Gavin never even mentioned the club on MNS. I mean, it was partly the FAI's fault for registering the club with UEFA as Tarmonbarry City FC rather than Termonbarry City FC. This meant that they could not participate in next season's Europa League as promised which caused a massive budgetary shortfall.

I feel so sorry for those involved. City had majorly ambitious plans under the sensible management of Roddy Collins, but he has now had to find work elsewhere. It seems that recent events made the future continuation of the club impossible. Immediately after Fianna Fail's election defeat, plans for building the new stadium collapsed (apparently there were some outstanding issues to do with re-zoning). The Green Party's whitewash also meant that the chairman's Fresh Air company has gone into receivership. Last week, he suddenly switched his attention to developing a cricket team as he always liked playing rounders in P.E.

The knock-on effect has been that there is only an eleven team First Division this year. The PFAI supplement in the Irish Mirror has been delayed due to the necessity of a re-write removing the article about how Termonbarry was a model club that all others should follow.

The sponsors were not all that they promised to be either. In retrospect, it was probably unwise to get fans to re-mortgage their houses to buy shares in 'Magic' Beans on the promise that the ensuing rise in market price would allow them to invest more heavily in the transfer market. The kit from Emperor Clothing never materialised either so, in hindsight, it may have been a mistake to pre-order five thousand "Ronaldo 10" jerseys.

My heart goes out to the small band of fans who say City's involvement in the league was the best fortnight of their lives. Their hopes and dreams of the past month have been shattered. I just hope that the orienteering team and the croquet squad will continue to wear the club colours.

It's another sad blow for the league. Surely when a club like Termonbarry fails, it must mean that every club in the league is equally financially-mismanaged and unviable. Some will say that such an ambitious project was destined to fail, but I defy anyone to point out any problems with the original business model. As former Minister Lenihan (a big Termonbarry fan) would say "we acted on the best advice available at the time". We are where we are. Termonbarry City R.I.P.
    Last edited by bluemovie; 09/03/2011 at 3:52 PM.

433 Posts
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

27 Posts
    I've been very busy all day only hearing this sad news now.
    No true LOI fan likes to see the demise of another club

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123