Page 373 of 387 FirstFirst ... 273323363371372373374375383 ... LastLast
Results 7,441 to 7,460 of 7722

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

3,308 Posts
    looks like it would be a massive can of worms for FIFA to open

1,912 Posts
    I'll be curious to read what the Royal Moroccan FA will put in their presentation to CAS.
    Perhaps the RMFA truly believed there was a gentleman's agreement existing between themselves and Spain, that Munir would not be capped in a competitive game, therefore the relevant crystal clear international eligibility statute should not apply to him.

1,813 Posts
    Why would FIFA open that can though?

It would jam another nail into the coffin of international football. What sort of weird gentleman's agreement could an FA have with another FA that says "Grand yeah, select him on the bench but don't let him play. Cheers lads". Bizarre.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,094 Posts
    http://www.espn.co.uk/football/europ...orocco?src=com

Very hard to argue very special dispensation after comments like these. I can't see this being successful at all and think it would be a bad idea if it were

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Why would FIFA open that can though?

It would jam another nail into the coffin of international football. What sort of weird gentleman's agreement could an FA have with another FA that says "Grand yeah, select him on the bench but don't let him play. Cheers lads". Bizarre.
    That's the one,
    the same sort of a gentleman's agreement that the totally deluded IFA believed existed, believed that it overrode FIFA statutes and ended up being a large part of their submission to CAS.
    Ranks in legal argument, just above fluff and below a chinese whisper.

What else can the RMFA put in their submission, at least nothing of any substance, so one has to examine precedent, where out and out whacko submissions were made to CAS by deluded FA's
    The IFA just happened to come to mind.
    Last edited by geysir; 11/04/2018 at 8:49 PM.

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    http://www.espn.co.uk/football/europ...orocco?src=com

Very hard to argue very special dispensation after comments like these. I can't see this being successful at all and think it would be a bad idea if it were
    Is he looking for special dispensation, or just challenging the rule in general?

He doesn't seem to be making any argument beyond 'I just want to play for Morocco now', and I don't think he will get far with that.

1,094 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Is he looking for special dispensation, or just challenging the rule in general?

He doesn't seem to be making any argument beyond 'I just want to play for Morocco now', and I don't think he will get far with that.
    I would imagine it would be special dispensation and the knock-on impact if he were to receive such would be precedence being set.

999 Posts
    Special dispensation is usually argued for because of an unusual/unique set of circumstances, but I haven't seen any such circumstances mentioned at all (yet, anyway) as to why his case is exceptional in that sense.

1,813 Posts
    What examples of special dispensation (if any) exist?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    What examples of special dispensation (if any) exist?
    In terms of player eligibility, I can't think of any.

On a related story the IFA insisted on playing the british national anthem prior to the irish cup final between Cliftonville and Coleraine on saturday. I also witnessed a Cliftonville fan having an irish tricolour removed from them on the way in to the ground by security staff, however there were a good few union jacks and 'ulster banners' being waved in the Coleraine end from what I could see. Makes a bit of a nonsense of all this football for all stuff that the IFA come off with.

http://www.irishnews.com/news/northe...final-1322470/

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Yeah, they don't help themselves do they. Be funny if Paul Smyth was reading it and thinking, y'know what, f~*k ye, I'm off south.

Quote Originally Posted by SolitudeRed View Post
    On a related story the IFA insisted on playing the british national anthem prior to the irish cup final between Cliftonville and Coleraine on saturday. I also witnessed a Cliftonville fan having an irish tricolour removed from them on the way in to the ground by security staff, however there were a good few union jacks and 'ulster banners' being waved in the Coleraine end from what I could see. Makes a bit of a nonsense of all this football for all stuff that the IFA come off with.

Their way or the Highway . I wonder would / should Cliftonville consider playing in the League Of Ireland ?

103 Posts

There were plenty of Tricolours at Windsor on Saturday. Are you sure there wasn't something written on it that was the cause of removal?

103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Their way or the Highway . I wonder would / should Cliftonville consider playing in the League Of Ireland ?
    Absolutely not. Why should we give in to bigotry.

Though the FAI must be pleased as Saturday will make their job much easier when it comes to player recruitment.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    There were plenty of Tricolours at Windsor on Saturday. Are you sure there wasn't something written on it that was the cause of removal?
    Well I didnt see anything on it but I was a bit behind them and by the time I got closer the security guy had the flag wrapped up into a ball. A friend took a video of it so I will check with them but we assumed it was because the flag wasn't club colours.

http://http://www.irishnews.com/news...otest-1323100/

As expected there has been outrage from the DUP types. I wonder do they get this annoyed when players from a nationalist background bow their heads during the UK anthem when playing for NI. Not really sure what the IFA are playing at like especially given the fact that it wasn't played at the last 2 finals we were in.

Also doubt that FIFA/UEFA would ever allow a switch to the LoI even if the club did ask for it.
    Last edited by SolitudeRed; 07/05/2018 at 9:10 PM.

19. Thanks From:

1,094 Posts

The quotes from your man Bryson are bloody hilarious. Manages to accuse the Nationalists of having a "narrow political agenda" whilst spouting some Grade A narrow-minded bigotry himself. There's a skill involved in that somehow.

Nice to see former Derry gaelic footballer Eoin Bradley was on the scoresheet for Coleraine. I wonder how loud he sang GSTQ.

21. Thanks From:

71 Posts
    Bradley's goal was pure GAA, the way he chipped the keeper but that was probably lost on a few down in that corner. He then proceeded to remove his shirt to show off the large celtic cross tattooed between his shoulder blades. The thing is Coleraine's support is fairly mixed not to mention the team, but it's a bit like mixed towns getting bedecked in loyalist flags in the summer regardless of the town's demographics everyone else just shakes their head and get on with it. Fleggers love a fleg.

Fleggers gonna fleg........

24. Thanks From:

1,094 Posts
    Keown and Scannell to NI? Looking like it: https://www.balls.ie/amp/football/se...ireland-389351

Quotes from the poacher O'Neill here: https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/...nnell-14680201
    Last edited by Olé Olé; 20/05/2018 at 7:27 PM.