Page 307 of 392 FirstFirst ... 207257297305306307308309317357 ... LastLast
Results 6,121 to 6,140 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    He was mentioned in the usual rounding up of the usual suspects in the papers recently alright. Galway I think.
    He has cousins back in the arse end of Connemara.

517 Posts
    "I went to Galway a few summers ago." "I had a few pints of Guinness." "It would be an honour to play for the country."

Harry Kane

Sometime in 2018.

358 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    "I went to Galway a few summers ago." "I had a few pints of Guinness." "It would be an honour to play for the country."

Harry Kane

Sometime in 2018.
    Can you stop this rubbish! You bring up Kane as having Irish roots and then ridicule him to let us know, yet again, of your opinion on this issue. Why ridicule him when he hasn't even mentioned playing for us? We know your point of view, get over yourself!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts

Harry Kane

Sometime in 2018.
    How does this unprovoked ridicule of the guy tie in with your springing Zat Knight in the other thread ?

Which way are you kicking here TWOK'er ? Or do you even know yourself.

517 Posts
    I was just trying to be funny. Obviously, it went down like a lead balloon. Sorry.

I brought up Zat Knight as a joke because someone else brought up Jutkiewicz, who has shown similar ambivalence to declaring for Ireland as Knight. Both scored yesterday for Bolton.

And I am no Zat Knight fan but the guy was a beast a few years ago and people were excited about the possibility of his playing for us, until he made a few ill-advised TOWK-esque comments.

Sorry guys. I know I can rub people the wrong way but this time I was genuinely just trying to be funny.

I'll get my coat.

446 Posts
    And donate it to a scarecrow?

199 Posts
    I'll get my coat.
    Ah don't go, you're great craic!

517 Posts
    http://thescore.thejournal.ie/jason-...61123-Mar2014/

McAteer thinks we should target Granny rule players. "The talent is out there".

Don't know about that.

2,796 Posts
    I hate when someone like that is wheeled in to spout ill informed nonsense.

446 Posts
    Who? A bit harsh on TOWK...

517 Posts
    Meanwhile, Davies, doesn’t hold out much hope of being called up for the Republic of Ireland either following Roy Keane’s comments he wasn’t good enough to make Roy Hodgson’s World Cup squad.

“With the Ireland thing, it’s something which has come from afar. It was a possibility but it’s something i’ve not really pursued because, basically, my nan was born in Ireland but she’s English, as such. She grew up in England and had English parents so it’s not really a passionate Irish connection,” he added.

“I don’t know if Keano [Roy Keane] would have me after his comments yesterday and i don’t know if Martin O’Neill would have me.”

Read more at http://talksport.com/football/exclus...XqIQAXDdARu.99

2,796 Posts
    He didn't pass my gut test even before that interview. I hope they don't pursue him.

There's an even deeper issue here over and above issues such as devaluing international football etc. The FAI need to be aware of the BIG's brand value and ability to connect with the public. Playing people like Davies would distance the team from the public. I think most people can tell which granny rulers are genuine enough and which are taking the mickey.

1,928 Posts
    To paraphrase Curtis Davies himself, he didn't pursue the FAI, he wasn't looking to pass any ethnic test, he admitted he has virtually no connection to Ireland nor has he ever expressed a desire to play for Ireland. We are not remotely on his radar. Curtis Davies is a non-issue for us.

On Roy Keane, seeing as he's our assistant manager, is it appropriate for him to passing belittling barbed comments, in public on tv, about the English national team aspirations of a player?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    There's an even deeper issue here over and above issues such as devaluing international football etc. The FAI need to be aware of the BIG's brand value and ability to connect with the public. Playing people like Davies would distance the team from the public. I think most people can tell which granny rulers are genuine enough and which are taking the mickey.
    Yeah, key point in it all and something the FAI would do well to be aware of in any trawling for recruits, these fellas need to be able to credibly represent Irish people out there as I see it, and this guy wouldn't come close. And in fairness to him, I don't think he is saying anything different.

2,796 Posts
    Yep, there's no suggestion Davies is doing anything wrong here at all. I think the "credibly represent Irish people" thing is key.

Wrt Keane's punditry, he'd be useless as a pundit if he couldn't speak his mind, not that that has ever stopped scores of his predecessors from sitting on the fence uttering banalities for a living. Is it appropriate? I'll sit on the fence if I may, in a banal way.

491 Posts
    ='[/Fair play to davies they are fantastic comments and sum the issue up well. He had no irish family and irish heritage growing up. It was just an accident(boom boom!) that his gran was born in Ireland. Totally different to the vast majority of lads who grow up in england with an irish family background

517 Posts
    Forde (Westwood, Given); Coleman (Keogh, McShane) , Dunne (Duffy, Hoban) , O'Shea (Delaney, Clark), O'Brien (Ward, Wilson); McGeady (Brady, Pilkington), McCarthy (Hendrick, Meyler), Gibson (Whelan, Green), Hoolahan (Reid, O'Kane), McClean (Quinn, Treacy); Long (Keane, Stokes)

Bunn (Lonergan); Naughton (Stearman), Chambers (Davies), Gerrard, Flanagan (Tierney); Redmond (Buckley), Noble, O'Hara, Hammill; McGoldrick (Jutkiewicz), Kane

Some of our best options in one list.

The most higher profile Granny Rule players in the other list.

Some (Naughton, Gerrard, Redmond, Flanagan) there are serious doubts over eligibility.

Some have expressed disinterest all the way up to ambivalence about declaring (Bunn, Lonergan, Noble, O'Hara, Jutkiewicz). I must qualify that O'Hara is on record in saying that he is aware and proud of his Irish heritage but identifies as English and doesn't want to take the place of someone who is Irish.

Some (Stearman, Tierney) are nowhere near the required level.

That leaves Redmond, Chambers, Gerrard and a couple of others. I really would love to know where these players McAteer is alluding to are hiding.

Focus on tying down the players that are already playing/having played at underage level (Grealish, Carruthers, Mason, Murray) by all means but I don't think they should stretch resources looking for the next Paul Green.

And before getting hung-up on any one player like Redmond, it is worth noting that Sean Morrison was supposedly eligible for Ireland to the point where even Irish teammates at Reading were talking about prospective call-ups and then a couple of months later "Yeah, not eligible. Don't know where that came from".

2,771 Posts
    Focus on tying down the players that are already playing/having played at underage level (Grealish, Carruthers, Mason, Murray) by all means but I don't think they should stretch resources looking for the next Paul Green.
    This is spot on.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post

On Roy Keane, seeing as he's our assistant manager, is it appropriate for him to passing belittling barbed comments, in public on tv, about the English national team aspirations of a player?
    It's always going to be an issue with someone like him. It's not in his nature to restrain himself from such commentary.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

446 Posts
    If anyone ever thought he didn't have the capacity to be an eejit, they need to catch themselves on then...

Personally though, will take anyone who's eligible, who'll play for us...

23. Thanks From: