Page 219 of 392 FirstFirst ... 119169209217218219220221229269319 ... LastLast
Results 4,361 to 4,380 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

Fair play to him, he made his choice and he made it decisively. I hope he does well for NI. I still think he's a good prospect even if he's stalled a bit in the Premier Division. I think Stephen McLaughlin is a better prospect for us from the Derry squad at this stage anyway.

2,284 Posts
    They're really enjoying this one on OWC.

Great news. What goes round comes round.
    The Eligibility "war" may have been lost but it looks like we are winning a few battles at least.

Long may it continue.
    Well done to Micheal and team. The reversal in the trend is very encouraging..
    First thing I've read on this thread that's put a smile on my face. Nice one Paddy!
    Thats good news, ive seen a bit of LOI and the two lads are quality players, dont think it would have happened under Nigel.
    True NW didnt go near LOI matches. Great to see as there is a fair bit of young footballing talent around Derry City setup. Even better he played for ROI youth teams first before swiching to his original country of birth
    How long will the FAI sit on this paperwork I wonder
    Until the FAI f**k up it'll always be an issue in some form or another.
    Great news, have good reports espically about Paddy. Little wins like this will help us, but again I hope the IFA continue their focus on the young lads playing in England and Scotland a la Wilson, O'Kane etc so we dont lose more. But a great bit of work!
    Want I do want to see happen is something that will really hurt the 26, should it even be down to the petulance of a young player. I would have no objection to a ROI born lad joining our ranks if he qualified through the normal parent/grandparent rules. Something similar to the McClean situation where he is expected to make a senior debut but has a last minute change of heart. Unlikely I know, but hope springs eternal. Its a bit harder to be pleased at somebody from NI choosing to play for NI when it should in fact be their default position.
    Plenty of misplaced and ill-informed vindictiveness, but not one post highlights the blatant hypocrisy.

Anyway, g'luck to McEleney; his career choice and I hope it works out for him.

How long will the FAI sit on this paperwork I wonder

Oh dear. No more than the five minutes it takes to sign it, I'm guessing, based on how little fuss they've made about the dozen or so other players who've switched allegiances in recent years. By contrast, the IFA...

491 Posts
    The best of luck to Mceleney I think he is a quality player and if he gets a move in this window I think they have a premier league player on their hands in a year as a no 10 but he does need to get fitter and stronger. Some of those comments above on oWC are delusional if only Michael Collins could see his legacy go put that in the sequel.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    ...he is very hopeful that McLaughlin will side with Northern Ireland.
    Stephen McLaughlin?

Ryan McLaughlin I assume. Stephen McLaughlin is from Donegal, though he may well have parentage.

2,446 Posts
    Hah, good luck with Stephen McLaughlin. There's as much hope of him declaring for Northern Ireland as there is of Robbie Keane turning around suddenly and saying he wants to

2,284 Posts
    Just came across this...

"North calls the stars: The Republic must beware of losing too many talented players to Windsor Park": http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/...cle1159345.ece

Quote Originally Posted by Paul Rowan
    Keep an eye on Patrick McEleney in today’s FAI Ford Cup final at the Aviva stadium and enjoy the experience, because you may not see him there again.

McEleney, 20, is considered a real talent who has already had a spell at Sunderland which didn’t work out, but could well be returning across the water shortly if his performances for Derry City are anything to go by.

The other reason why he mightn’t be making the trip down to Dublin as often as he used to is that he has abandoned a promising international career with the Republic of Ireland to throw his lot in with Northern Ireland instead.

He has been capped at Under-19 level with the Republic and was about to join the Under-21s.

He is following his brother Shane McEleney, who also plays for Derry City and has chosen to play for the North, but nonetheless it is an unusual course of action for a lad from Derry to pursue in the present climate.

For a few years now, the traffic has been coming the other way from the banks of the Foyle.

Darron Gibson was the most famous case, until the recent and rather spectacular defection from the Northern Ireland ranks by their Under-21 player James McClean, who ruffled many feathers with his comments about Catholics feeling more comfortable playing for the Republic.

Patrick McEleney himself was originally chosen for Northern Ireland underage squads back in 2009, but snubbed the North, declaring at the time: “I was with Northern Ireland and then I decided to go down south and play for Republic. The set-up down south is better. The players, the coaching staff and the facilities are far better than up north.”

Now he has changed his mind, though Derry City were keeping him under wraps last week to prevent any distractions caused by him explaining why he had done so.

If anything, facilities down south have only improved since then, which McEleney will realise when he looks around Lansdowne Road today. And he would have been working with an excellent coach at Under-21 level in Noel King.

Others who have made the switch to Northern Ireland haven’t been missed. The departure of the senior international Alex Bruce earlier this year prompted the response “Bruce Who?” from the Republic’s fans.

However, in McEleney’s case, given his promise, it has hurt King and is a blow to the Republic.

Though we don’t know for certain, it probably could have been avoided had the senior management team paid more heed to his achievements.

And it is a clear sign that the recently appointed Northern Ireland manager, Michael O’Neill, has been addressing this issue with some success.

O’Neill’s predecessor, Nigel Worthington, was a stranger to the Brandywell in Derry, but O’Neill has been getting about, not just in Northern Ireland, but in Britain as well.

What has emerged is that Patrick McEleney talked to the former Derry player and Northern Ireland international Paddy McCourt and, crucially, to O’Neill himself. And the Northern Ireland manager has made it clear he is just getting started.

O’Neill recently moved back to his house in Edinburgh and has been using the long fallow periods which international managers enjoy away from day-to-day tasks to his advantage.

For one thing, he has successfully courted the Newcastle United wing-back Shane Ferguson, who is also from Derry and looked for a while as if he was about to make the jump to the Republic.

He is on the hunt for others, not just players born in Northern Ireland who are thinking of exercising their right under the Good Friday Agreement to play for the Republic, but the legion of players in Britain and elsewhere who could play for any number of countries, including the two Irelands.

For a while there it looked like Northern Ireland might be turning into the Ireland B team, no matter how cruel that may sound.

There is no doubt their international side has been seriously weakened by the Republic’s claim over players born in the North and it’s fair to say that if they hadn’t lost the likes of Gibson, McClean and Marc Wilson they might actually be stronger than the Republic now.

The chant of “there’s only one team in Ireland” has been heard at Lansdowne Road before, but how Giovanni Trapattoni would like to have in his squad the Northern Ireland defenders Jonny Evans and the excellent Gareth McAuley of West Bromwich Albion, while Steve Davis would also have a role to play, as would Ferguson.

In time, Patrick McEleney will probably come to be missed. Picking an all-Ireland XI now is an interesting challenge, albeit one that remains well in the realm of fantasy.

In saying all this, it’s impossible to avoid the conclusion that the Republic are missing a trick here. A powerful network of informants, snitches, tippers-off and assorted other busybodies and do-gooders has been built up over the years.

They would be on the phone to the coaching staff at the drop of a hat with news of a new player. Rightly or wrongly, that player might often be fast-tracked if he was eligible to play for another country as well.

Journalists, such as the late Bob Hennessy, were another valuable source, who could be counted on to direct a player a certain way.

Well-connected individuals, such as the former senior managers Brian Kerr and Eoin Hand or the former Under-19s’ manager Sean McCaffrey, were quick to act on such nuggets, but they are no longer viewed as important by the current regime.

The system has fallen into a state of neglect, the weeds are growing and it’s Northern Ireland who are now making hay. Wave Patrick McEleney away today and wish him well.
    Rowan also interviewed Michael O'Neill in today's Sunday Times with O'Neill quoted as saying, "I speak to the younger players and they tell me that they have been approached. They are not approaching our senior players. They are approaching our underage players."

Not sure why senior players would be approached given they'd most likely be cap-tied...

207 Posts
    Not sure is this the right thread, but I thought it was interesting that Zaha of Palace is only joining up with the England squad for their friendly on the basis it won't make him ineligible for playing for Cote D'Ivoire in the future. I wonder are there posters on the English equivalent of foot.ie spouting off the usual "thanks, but no thanks" we hear when an English-born player eligible for Ireland seeks to keep his options open...

1,928 Posts
    There is no English equivalent of foot.ie.

3,501 Posts
    if you're registered on the football365 forum you could have a look there

228 Posts
    We are long past the stage where it is deemed 'taboo' to speak to northern born Irish nationals about their international future. Any IFA complaint, official or otherwise, can be roundly disregarded.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    We are long past the stage where it is deemed 'taboo' to speak to northern born Irish nationals about their international future. Any IFA complaint, official or otherwise, can be roundly disregarded.
    I couldn't agree more Predator.

I firmly believe the IFA should be speaking to all those eligible to play for Nothern Ireland about their International future intentons, and selecting accordingly.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

199 Posts
    Just noticed the guys on OWC have blocked me from following them on twitter. I never tweeted anything bad or aggressive to them.
    I followed them to keep up to date on the North's progress etc. Really insecure if they don't want Ireland fans following them.
    Pretty pathetic...

358 Posts
    I read somewhere on this site (and I can't find it!) that Ryan McLaughlin had been called up by NI, but there is no mention of him in their U21 side or senior side. Anyone able to add any light to this? Could he be considering his position....

2,446 Posts
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20279695

Inverness Caledonian forward Billy McKay has been called up to the squad, along with Burnley defender Daniel Lafferty and Liverpool centre back Ryan McLaughlin.

21. Thanks From:

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne View Post
    Just noticed the guys on OWC have blocked me from following them on twitter. I never tweeted anything bad or aggressive to them.
    I followed them to keep up to date on the North's progress etc. Really insecure if they don't want Ireland fans following them.
    Pretty pathetic...
    The least surprising news ever.

Though their Paranoia radar must be pretty good if they can pick up random Ireland fans....

36 Posts
    Conor Devlin, Conor McLaughin, Seanan Clucas, Liam Boyce, Liam Mc Alinden, Ryan McLaughin, Paddy McLaughin, Tom Joe Flanagan, Rory McKeown, Shane McEleney and Laim Donnelly ....all in N.I under 21 squad ... bad sign of us if we want to steal this guys lol very catholic looking side there

Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Conor Devlin, Conor McLaughin, Seanan Clucas, Liam Boyce, Liam Mc Alinden, Ryan McLaughin, Paddy McLaughin, Tom Joe Flanagan, Rory McKeown, Shane McEleney and Laim Donnelly ....all in N.I under 21 squad ... bad sign of us if we want to steal this guys lol very catholic looking side there
    And I'm nearly sure you could add Carl Wichester to that list, ex Corpus Christi pupil
    I have a head only Snow White would love

36 Posts
    I find myself supporting them more when there is a few more catholic lads on the team