Results 4,341 to 4,360 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Bruce made his debut for the Irish U21s in February 2006. The North was ranked 102nd in the World at this date, while Ireland was ranked 27th in the World.

The North defeated England 1-0 at home in September 2005. This victory was followed up with a home defeat to Wales and an away defeat to Austria. The North finished its WC qualification group on 9 points from 10 games, indeed a "purple patch" for the North after going through qualification for the 2004 European Championship without scoring a goal.
    His decision being the catalyst for Northern Ireland to rise above the South in the rankings within a short period of time.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    His decision being the catalyst for Northern Ireland to rise above the South in the rankings within a short period of time.
    I'd put that down to Stan rather than Bruce but now that you mention it Bruce switched to the North during 2011. The North started 2011 ranked 43th in the World. The current rank is 117th. Coincidence?

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    I'd put that down to Stan rather than Bruce but now that you mention it Bruce switched to the North during 2011. The North started 2011 ranked 43th in the World. The current rank is 117th. Coincidence?
    Not sure that his clearance came through until earlier this year, but your point still stands. He's bad news for us.

386 Posts
    He's bad news for us.
    The North's ranking has gone up a few notches since Bruce's inclusion in the squad so it's not all bad.

446 Posts
    Especially as he no longer wants to play for Korea...

It's a pity he's not eligible for Holland like Kevin Nolan. He'd have a World Cup silver medal by now.

Not Ireland, but Arsenal's Carl Jenkinson has committed himself to England after playing at U21 level for Finland. I know it's easy for an England manager to say with all of their immense resources, but I think Roy Hodgson's comments were very respectful and a nice counterpoint to the "cap-tie him!" calls that sometimes emanate from the FAI and IFA camps.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19956858

There's a feature coming up on Newsline about a Derry City player who now wants to play for Michael O'Neill. I got a bit of a shock thinking it was Patrick McEleney but I think it might just be a delayed feature on his brother.

675 Posts
    No it's Patrick 'Fats' - was tweeted by a local sports journo a while ago.

Good for him, it's a more realistic goal than ROI at this point.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Ah right, I'm sure we can find a way to blame Paul Doolin for this.

491 Posts
    Fair play to him I am surprised and I think he is a loss certainly but he is a lovely skillful player and the north are lucky to get him and his brother. He did fall out with doolin remember derry pulled him out of squad then he played for derry while under 19 squad was away

Was he not called up to the 19s after that? I thought the issue was that the FAI wanted to suspend him in the league.

491 Posts
    I think it all went pear shaped after that i remember mceleney was on my list of players that doolin had fallen out with and he certainly didint play in the later qualifiers or the finals that year.He is in a happier place now and im getting over my anger issues so its happy days all round

I'd say Doolin is more relieved than any of us!

131 Posts
    I was delighted to hear upon my arrival in Portugal that Bruce had withdrawn from the squad - I also enjoyed Warren Fenney's article on the matter of Bruce's inclusion in the Sunday Life (not available online yet), where I think Warren spoke for many of our fans.

Bumped into Gerry Armstrong and his Missus in Porto on Sunday night (they don't half know how to party!) - it would seem he was a lot more active in his "Mentor" role than I have previously given him credit for...he is very hopeful that McLaughlin will side with Northern Ireland.

No issues with Patrick McEleney deciding he wants to try his luck with us - he'd need a move across the water if he wants to be a serious contender for Senior recognition (other than friendlies).

2,796 Posts
    Did Gerry understand that his references to the GFA were ill-informed? I suspect that wasn't mentioned.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Did Gerry understand that his references to the GFA were ill-informed? I suspect that wasn't mentioned.
    In context, it wasn't important.

"Wheeey are ye have a drink lawd?!, ah shuur why not!!! Jees ye've a lovely woman on ye Gerry."

In context, it wasn't important.
    I bet you didn't tell him there's only one 'n' in 'mentor' either.

2,284 Posts
    "McEleney joins big brother at NI": http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk...t-ni-1-4385364

Hehe, amusing unwitting double entendre in the headline, there.

I told Noel King my decision and he tried to get me to reconsider but my mind had been made up.
    Proof (if it were even needed) that the IFA are more than happy to facilitate players registered with another association who still have immediate plans for them.