The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
And this is what we sang...
Especially as he no longer wants to play for Korea...
It's a pity he's not eligible for Holland like Kevin Nolan. He'd have a World Cup silver medal by now.
Not Ireland, but Arsenal's Carl Jenkinson has committed himself to England after playing at U21 level for Finland. I know it's easy for an England manager to say with all of their immense resources, but I think Roy Hodgson's comments were very respectful and a nice counterpoint to the "cap-tie him!" calls that sometimes emanate from the FAI and IFA camps.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19956858
There's a feature coming up on Newsline about a Derry City player who now wants to play for Michael O'Neill. I got a bit of a shock thinking it was Patrick McEleney but I think it might just be a delayed feature on his brother.
No it's Patrick 'Fats' - was tweeted by a local sports journo a while ago.
Good for him, it's a more realistic goal than ROI at this point.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
Ah right, I'm sure we can find a way to blame Paul Doolin for this.
Fair play to him I am surprised and I think he is a loss certainly but he is a lovely skillful player and the north are lucky to get him and his brother. He did fall out with doolin remember derry pulled him out of squad then he played for derry while under 19 squad was away
Was he not called up to the 19s after that? I thought the issue was that the FAI wanted to suspend him in the league.
I think it all went pear shaped after that i remember mceleney was on my list of players that doolin had fallen out with and he certainly didint play in the later qualifiers or the finals that year.He is in a happier place now and im getting over my anger issues so its happy days all round
I'd say Doolin is more relieved than any of us!
I was delighted to hear upon my arrival in Portugal that Bruce had withdrawn from the squad - I also enjoyed Warren Fenney's article on the matter of Bruce's inclusion in the Sunday Life (not available online yet), where I think Warren spoke for many of our fans.
Bumped into Gerry Armstrong and his Missus in Porto on Sunday night (they don't half know how to party!) - it would seem he was a lot more active in his "Mentor" role than I have previously given him credit for...he is very hopeful that McLaughlin will side with Northern Ireland.
No issues with Patrick McEleney deciding he wants to try his luck with us - he'd need a move across the water if he wants to be a serious contender for Senior recognition (other than friendlies).
Did Gerry understand that his references to the GFA were ill-informed? I suspect that wasn't mentioned.
"Wheeey are ye have a drink lawd?!, ah shuur why not!!! Jees ye've a lovely woman on ye Gerry."
"McEleney joins big brother at NI": http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk...t-ni-1-4385364
Hehe, amusing unwitting double entendre in the headline, there.
Proof (if it were even needed) that the IFA are more than happy to facilitate players registered with another association who still have immediate plans for them.I told Noel King my decision and he tried to get me to reconsider but my mind had been made up.
Last edited by DannyInvincible; 19/10/2012 at 2:04 PM.