Page 203 of 392 FirstFirst ... 103153193201202203204205213253303 ... LastLast
Results 4,041 to 4,060 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    He said that in his opinion, if you were born in the North, then you shouldn't be able to play for the Republic. He accuses McClean of "using" the north's system to get where he is.

2,796 Posts
    Is Derry City in the north's system?

199 Posts
    Same oul' ****e, and Christ that yank was annoying!!

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Yeah, the Yank was super super annoying, he read pre-written question like the boring priest off Father Ted. Fair play to Keith for putting up with the two of them, it was a bit awkward when the host said "let me know if there's anything I can do for you" to Gillespie at the end of the interview, right after hitting him with softball questions about his gambling problem.

446 Posts
    To be fair, most North Americans can't talk to anyone about being 'colonizers'...

386 Posts
    'Defector' James McClean is hiding behind religion, says Keith Gillespie

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sp...-16167976.html

1,825 Posts
    Where do you begin with that.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Where do you begin with that.
    Well, at least they've stopped mentioning the Good Friday Agreement...

To Keith Gillespie, it’s a simple philosophy, made unnecessarily complicated by the small print of the St Andrews Agreement and issues such as national identity and dual nationality.

228 Posts
    Keith Gillespie believes that if you are from northern Ireland you should not be allowed to play for the republic of Ireland. His opinion, like that of many others, is fairly ill-informed on this matter. Keith Gillespie mustn't be aware that nationality (and by extension national identity) is the foundation of international football. He clearly has no profound understanding or appreciation of the national identity of some people.

Elsewhere, some Sky Sports hack tweeted that Jimmy Boyce has said that "there is no doubt" that the FAI are approaching 'young NI born' players, as if it merited some kind of mention.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Is Derry City in the north's system?
    McClean was with Trojans in the Derry & District League and Institute in the Irish League as an amateur. He played one game for Institute in the Irish League. Only listened to the podcast once and recall them suggesting he came through the Irish League. Not sure how accurate such a claim would be, but maybe they were referring to that, or maybe they weren't up-to-speed on Derry City's status, although that seems improbable.

446 Posts
    As yer man says above, just another case of "Same sh*te, different eejit"...

Certain people are in denial. They never had nor will have a clue.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    McClean was with Trojans in the Derry & District League and Institute in the Irish League as an amateur. He played one game for Institute in the Irish League. Only listened to the podcast once and recall them suggesting he came through the Irish League.
    As you've said before, the idea of forming a claim on a player due to them coming through the system (for the sake of argument, let them have Trojans, Stute and the scant, intermittent meetings with the IFA U21s) is just ridiculous. I think you touched upon it previously, but the input of friends and family - those who encouraged, clothed and fed him daily - is never mentioned. The picture painted is always one of the altruistic and magnanimous IFA pulling James McClean or whoever from the slums and catapulting them to superstardom. It's simply false, insulting and, at this stage, frankly, boring.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Keith Gillespie believes that if you are from northern Ireland you should not be allowed to play for the republic of Ireland. His opinion, like that of many others, is fairly ill-informed on this matter.
    Indeed. He admits it himself:

It’s disappointing when people don’t want to play for Northern Ireland because although we’re a small nation, we’re a very proud nation. We do come up against some of the top countries, yet pull great results out of the fire. We have fantastic support that will back us through thick and thin. I’m obviously biased, but I don’t understand why you wouldn’t want to pull on that shirt.
    James McClean doesn't have to excuse himself either. The use of such terminology is indicative of a profound lack of understanding of this issue.

Elsewhere, some Sky Sports hack tweeted that Jimmy Boyce has said that "there is no doubt" that the FAI are approaching 'young NI born' players, as if it merited some kind of mention.
    The FAI should be approaching all players eligible to play for them who might be able to offer something. What provoked Boyce's comment and why does he think it significant?

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    The FAI should be approaching all players eligible to play for them who might be able to offer something. What provoked Boyce's comment and why does he think it significant?
    They should indeed. The IFA are doing likewise, as stated by Mick O'Neill last week.

I don't know what prompted Boyce, possibly the same hack - something Gilmour if I recall correctly. I have SSN on to see if there is anything mentioned.

https://twitter.com/#!/Paul_Gilmour - this lad
    Last edited by Predator; 05/06/2012 at 11:56 AM.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    As a nordy, I find that northern accent awful to listen to.

228 Posts
    The Derry News will have an exclusive from James McClean as he 'hits back' at Keithy. Keep your eyes peeled...

2,284 Posts
    'McClean hits back at Keith Gillespie over 'defector' claims': http://www.joe.ie/euro-2012/euro-201...aims-0025575-1

But McClean, who has had to put up with plenty of abuse, particularly on his now defunct Twitter page, since making his debut for the Boys in Green earlier this year had little time for Gillespie’s criticism and reaffirmed his commitment to the Republic’s cause.

“It’s a joke,” the Sunderland wide man is quoted as saying in the Irish Daily Star in response to Gillespie’s comments.

“I’m Irish and I’ve always been Irish and I’ve always supported the Republic of Ireland.

“I’ve always wanted to play for the Republic of Ireland and I couldn’t be more proud that I am doing that.

“Just because I’ve grown up in Northern Ireland doesn’t change that.”

McClean has admitted that he regrets his decision to appear for Norn Iron at underage level, saying that it was “naïve” and that if the Republic of Ireland came in for him, there would be never any doubt where his allegiances lay.

Gillespie felt that by adopting such an approach that McClean was using the system and that players born in Northern Ireland should have to play for Northern Ireland.

2,284 Posts
    'Fine Gael senator echoes calls for all Ireland soccer team': http://www.thejournal.ie/fine-gael-s...77309-Jun2012/

A FING GAEL senator has echoed the calls from Sinn Féin for there to be an all Ireland soccer team saying there is no better time for the issue to be considered.

With the Republic of Ireland preparing for their Euro 2012 campaign and talk that the Republic could co-host Euro 2020, senator Catherine Noone believes there is no better time than now for the issue to be considered.

She said: “Players from both sides of the border have already proven that they can collaborate and thrive with an all-island rugby team, and I think a unified soccer team would also have considerable advantages.

“Consider the fact that the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland have never qualified for the same tournament – the opportunity cost, in this instance, is minimal.”

Her words echo those of Sinn Féin whose members called for the creation of such a team at the party’s Ard Fheis in Killarney recently, arguing that other sports such as rugby, cricket and international rules already had all island teams.

Noone encouraged the Football Association of Ireland and the North’s Irish Football Association to learn from the experience of the Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU) which operates on an all island basis selecting players from the four provinces.

“A unified team, drawing from a deeper pool of talent, with the support of the entire island, would enhance our chances to qualify for international tournaments more regularly,” she said.

“You only need to look at the great players who have lined out for Northern Ireland in the past including George Best, Pat Jennings and Danny Blanchflower to see the potential long term benefits of merging teams from both side of the border.”

Noone acknowledged that while it was an issue for the two associations she said that many people “don’t see any real barriers to this happening”.

2,796 Posts
    Oh God, where do you even start in responding to that?

Catherine Noone's been busy today.