Page 168 of 392 FirstFirst ... 68118158166167168169170178218268 ... LastLast
Results 3,341 to 3,360 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

1,825 Posts
    A thoroughly enjoyable 3 pages lads in my absence.

Gastric, I note you are in Melbourne. Are you living over there or second generation or what?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    And it's not costing the IFA a penny, yet another outside funded position.
    Ironic, but it must be a cause of great comfort to you that your tax pennies and pounds are being used (and have been used) to enable the IFA to grow up, move away from the old ways, tackle their own hostility to you and to 'outreach' to all communities equally.

'Since 1998 the IFA has worked in partnership with the Northern Ireland Community Relations Council and Sports Council to tackle the (their own) problems of sectarianism in (the IFA) football, with assistance from the EU Programme for Peace and Reconciliation.'

"The IFA respects and values diversity. They endeavour to provide an environment which values and enables the full involvement of all people, in all aspects and at every level of Northern Ireland football, regardless of perceived cultural identity, political affiliation or religious beliefs. They believe in the philosophy of Football For All”
    "The IFA are also committed to delivering comprehensive, relevant and current Community Relations and anti-discrimination training for all their staff and the promotion of community relations and good conduct within their supporter's network."

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Ironic, but it must be a cause of great comfort to you that your tax pennies and pounds are being used (and have been used) to enable the IFA to grow up, move away from the old ways, tackle their own hostility to you and to 'outreach' to all communities equally
    What were "the old ways", and in what way were the IFA "hostile" to Co Down Green?

All sporting bodies in Northern Ireland can make grant applications to various bodies - at least one of them being considerably less "cross community" based than the IFA - the IFA has member Clubs representing a broad spectrum of backgrounds, throughout Northern Ireland.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

358 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    I respect your views Newryrep.

I'm glad you raised this issue - gastric obviously feels that Northern Nationalists are only playing for the FAI because the big, bad, IFA are cold shouldering them.

I, like you, thought they wanted to play for the FAI because they, as Nationalists, consider the Republic Of Ireland as their country, and therefore the FAI to be their "first choice" Association.

I can understand entirely that gastric's comments could be deemed offensive by some Northern Nationalist players and supporters.
    I have spent the last week doing a lot of self reflection on my comments on here. I am certainly out of step with everybody else! And NB, as much as it hurts me to say so you are right, I do owe Newryrep an apology for misrepresenting his rights and his assertion of his nationality. I was incorrect in my assumption. I think too that I have forgotten the complexity and traditions that dominate Irish society. This is not an excuse, just fact.
    Having discussed the issue in broad terms with friends over here, I have found that my attitudes are now probably more in tune with Australian principles which has scared me no end.
    Australian sporting organisations are very pragmatic and proactive in identifying issues and they tend to tackle them head on. Possibly because there is less history involved, there is less respect for traditions and change can be quite dramatic and involve much upheaval. The inception of the A League is a good example of this. And such action is probably not applicable to an Irish situation.
    However, I do have trouble understanding the IFA, and in particular, NB's stance. NI continue to fall in the rankings and much of what he asserts seems to involve upholding the status quo rather than a vision for improvement. I have come to appreciate that the IFA is reactive due to its history and tradition, but it continually frustates me. I am not trying to start a new debate nor am I being in anyway condescending. I am just trying to explain why I feel the way I do and to be honest after the heat and criticism I felt on here, I don't even know if my opinions are valid.
    Last edited by gastric; 16/03/2012 at 4:10 AM.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    However, I do have trouble understanding the IFA, and in particular, NB's stance. NI continue to fall in the rankings and much of what he asserts seems to involve upholding the status quo rather than a vision for improvement. I have come to appreciate that the IFA is reactive due to its history and tradition, but it continually frustates me.
    Firstly, fair play to you - having the humility to admit that you were wide of the mark and apologise takes guts. I respect you for that.

Can you please clarify what aspects of the IFA's, and in particular my, stance 'frustrates' you?

Of course your opinions are valid.

You accuse me of not having a 'vision for improvement'- whilst I strongly contest your accusation, I would be interested in reading what your 'vision for improvement' would be, as I am more than willing to discuss such issues with those with the best interests of the IFA at heart, and who wish to see the Northern Ireland International sides progress and flourish.

You come across as someone who really wants support the IFA representative sides, but feel you cannot at present - you are certainly very passionate about the IFA improving their lot.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

I have spent the last week doing a lot of self reflection on my comments on here. I am certainly out of step with everybody else! And NB, as much as it hurts me to say so you are right, I do owe Newryrep an apology for misrepresenting his rights and his assertion of his nationality. I was incorrect in my assumption. I think too that I have forgotten the complexity and traditions that dominate Irish society. This is not an excuse, just fact.
    Having discussed the issue in broad terms with friends over here, I have found that my attitudes are now probably more in tune with Australian principles which has scared me no end.
    Australian sporting organisations are very pragmatic and proactive in identifying issues and they tend to tackle them head on. Possibly because there is less history involved, there is less respect for traditions and change can be quite dramatic and involve much upheaval. The inception of the A League is a good example of this. And such action is probably not applicable to an Irish situation.
    However, I do have trouble understanding the IFA, and in particular, NB's stance. NI continue to fall in the rankings and much of what he asserts seems to involve upholding the status quo rather than a vision for improvement. I have come to appreciate that the IFA is reactive due to its history and tradition, but it continually frustates me. I am not trying to start a new debate nor am I being in anyway condescending. I am just trying to explain why I feel the way I do and to be honest after the heat and criticism I felt on here, I don't even know if my opinions are valid.
    Wasnt looking an apology TBH so fair play that you think I deserve one

NB wants his team to be open to all, while success is desirable I suspect that he (as would I if I were in his position) want his team to exist no matter how unsuccessfull rather than cease to exist merge/be subsummed into a larger entity be it Team GB or and a formal 32 county side

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Wasnt looking an apology TBH so fair play that you think I deserve one

NB wants his team to be open to all, while success is desirable I suspect that he (as would I if I were in his position) want his team to exist no matter how unsuccessfull rather than cease to exist merge/be subsummed into a larger entity be it Team GB or and a formal 32 county side
    You make a good point. Purely for argument's sake, as successful as we might be if the FAI were ever to be subsumed by, say, the Brazilian football association, such would never interest me. Would it interest anyone? Some things are more important than success. I'm happy supporting a squad of perennial nearly-men ranked 19th in the world who make the odd finals every once in a blue moon so long as I can identify with them and they represent me. I'd support them no matter where they were ranked. I would have difficulty supporting them, however, if we were ranked first but part of some Brazilian-Irish composite team. The point of international football isn't purely success.

2,284 Posts
    Fair play.

Out of interest, what's your own background?

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    NB wants his team to be open to all, while success is desirable I suspect that he (as would I if I were in his position) want his team to exist no matter how unsuccessful rather than cease to exist merge/be subsummed into a larger entity be it Team GB or and a formal 32 county side
    Laudable it in itself but really no logical reason why teams like them continue to exist, whilst far more credible regions like the Basque Country, Kashmir, Quebec, Catalonia and Tibet aren't allowed to have their own teams.

What next;The Falklands, St.Helena?

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Laudable it in itself but really no logical reason why teams like them continue to exist, whilst far more credible regions like the Basque Country, Kashmir, Quebec, Catalonia and Tibet aren't allowed to have their own teams.

What next;The Falklands, St.Helena?
    Quebec? I don't think you know what you are talking about there brother.

2,771 Posts
    Just by the way but Montreal Impact had a québécois fleur de lis flag at the game yesterday as opposed to the Canadian standard. Interesting statement - separatist bast@rds!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Quebec? I don't think you know what you are talking about there brother.
    Erm, I do.

167 Posts
    How do you figure Quebec have more of a right to an international team than Northern Ireland?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    I will admit only a vague awareness, at best of the Quebec matter, up to it being mentioned here, but did have a quick Google.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quebec_...ignty_movement

167 Posts
    They voted twice to stay in Canada. Case closed. Any province wishing to get out of Confederation needs to get 7 out of 10 provinces which must represent at least a two-thirds majority in total population. Hence, you can't secede without Ontario, Quebec, and either all five out of the eight remaining provinces. It will never, ever, ever happen and nobody here in Canada has talked about it happening for well over fifteen years now. Whoever brought them into the conversation had better give himself a slap as have absolutely no right to call themselves a country and are not represented as a country in any sport whatsoever, nor thave they ever been.

386 Posts
    It really depends on how you define country. If you equate country to sovereign state, Quebec isn't a country.

74 Posts
    The Quebecois provincial government does have more power than the Stormont Assembly though.

167 Posts
    Canada itself is one of, if not the single most de-centralised governments in the world. Every provincial government has enormous power in comparison to the Stormont Assembly. Does this mean that Canada should have ten provincial teams instead of one national one? No, of course not.

74 Posts
    It does demonstrate the privileged position that the home nations find themselves in though.

23. Thanks From:

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by punkrocket View Post
    The Quebecois provincial government does have more power than the Stormont Assembly though.
    And it probably doesn't run a 40% annual budget deficit like Stormont either!