Results 2,581 to 2,600 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Based on the evidence on here, it's not just 'working class areas'. A certain institution not far from Belfast's Botanic Gardens springs to mind...
    Don't be fooled by a name...again.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

446 Posts
    Nothing to do with any name. That's an irrelevance.

Just evidence I see on here and via other, er, 'distinguished alumni'.
    Last edited by ArdeeBhoy; 01/02/2012 at 9:05 AM.

228 Posts
    I don't understand how a journalist who posts something onto the world wide web can be annoyed at the exposure. Is he not aware of how that works?
    It seems that he simply cannot take the criticism and so cries blue murder, complaining of how he is being "abused" by the "vile" and bigoted forum users on foot.ie

Instead of debating the issue and having the courage of his convictions, this guy stuck his head in the sand and resorted to ad hominem, branding dissenters "muppets" and "twa ts". Imagine the hypocrisy of then complaining of having his "reputation" tarnished. He is tarnishing his own reputation as a journalist with such childish antics.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Sam has taken great umbrage with your description of the Mid Ulster Mail and he'd like me to relay the following message to you:

Why he saw fit to bang on to me about it, I'm not sure. You'll get me in big trouble, geysir!
    Sam wrote "The McKenna Cup does not attract much media attention and we have had a reduced number of pages"

The McKenna cup final between Tyrone and Fermanagh attracted an attendance of 7,000, which alone is probably greater than the attendance at all the local sports in Tyrone reported on by MUM in all of January.
    So the McKenna cup final is not more newsworthy than a 3rd division ladies hockey match or some tennis match attended by 2 girls and a poodle?
    Not newsworthy ?? It's not newsworthy to the twisted infested mind of Sam.

Enough about Sam, he's mediocre at best and lives far from a life that includes some coherency.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    I don't understand how a journalist who posts something onto the world wide web can be annoyed at the exposure. Is he not aware of how that works?
    It seems that he simply cannot take the criticism and so cries blue murder, complaining of how he is being "abused" by the "vile" and bigoted forum users on foot.ie

Instead of debating the issue and having the courage of his convictions, this guy stuck his head in the sand and resorted to ad hominem, branding dissenters "muppets" and "twa ts". Imagine the hypocrisy of then complaining of having his "reputation" tarnished. He is tarnishing his own reputation as a journalist with such childish antics.
    He's just fudging the debate in typical juvenile fashion; crying foul, mock outrage and claiming not to have enough time for an argument whilst wasting plenty of it moaning to me about something with which I had absolutely nothing to do. This is also whilst he's more than happy to dish abuse out himself on Twitter and OWC. He referred to me as a "tw*t from down south", Miss. And worse; misrepresented my argument!

The guy's identity/employer is already in the public domain anyway. I'm puzzled as to what the problem can be for him. He said he was offended by my "direct and forceful" debating manner... Is he having a laugh? How does debate work again? Obviously, time spent on OWC wouldn't prepare anyone well for a thorough argument but I'd have thought a degree in journalism might go some way towards that. I didn't insult the guy once, but he's displayed extreme paranoia, stunning hypocrisy and a depressing siege mentality. A bit rich, that, anyway considering his own militant approach; he spoke of "taking the fight to [us] muppets"/"scarring"/"scumming it up". I don't know exactly what all that entails but it sounds a lot more aggressive than anything I uttered.

If he is indeed "happy to fight [his] corner and discuss the eligibility issue" he's going about it in quite a contradictory fashion. If the debate was so "pointless" why even write about it in the first place? Sam, the enigma...

Anyway, Matt (comment 01/31/2012 02:01) claims that British citizenship is not a prerequisite to representing the IFA. FIFA and CAS have been pretty adamant that it is, yet Matt still maintains that players can play for the IFA by virtue of their Irish nationality, stating: "it has never been mandatory for a player to show evidence of British citizenship only when registering themselves as Northern Irishmen". It was at least mandatory before FIFA permitted the Irish passport exemption so long as the IFA could otherwise certify the eligibility of their players, or their British citizenship in other words. Or am I mistaken?

Indeed, if players were eligible to play for the IFA on account of their Irish nationality, article 6 of the Regulations Governing the Application of the Statutes would apply to Irish nationals, but it doesn't; article 5 does.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Enough about Sam, he's mediocre at best and lives far from a life that includes some coherency.
    OK, just had to let off some steam first.

Am I reading it right that he's considering reporting foot.ie to the police for hate speech? Bizarre.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Am I reading it right that he's considering reporting foot.ie to the police for hate speech? Bizarre.
    I saw that too. He has allegedly printed out all the "vile abuse" that he thinks that he has received.

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    I saw that too. He has allegedly printed out all the "vile abuse" that he thinks that he has received.
    Link please?

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    Link please?
    Danny has linked to his twitter page. If it is public, you can scroll through his tweets.

1,928 Posts
    Self-flagellation has more appeal.
    I'll leave Sam to you Nordies

72 Posts
    Hilarious stuff on Twitter over the last couple of weeks. First of all McAllister (the head of the NI supporters clubs) ran away from Danny and hid his tweets, and now this other fella has done the same.

My favourite over the last 24 hours is this

366 Posts
    If I had to guess which vile diatribe hurt the most I'd say it was probably Charlie's suggestion that yer man is probably not very good at journalism. Twas as cruel as it was speculative.

1,928 Posts
    "a vile site ... with sectarian hate filled vitriolic hatred"

That's it, we have to get rid of Not Brazil, to raise the tone a bit
    Sorry NB, but it's like the cold war, tit for tat, expulsions of embassy staff.

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    My favourite over the last 24 hours is this
    Please excuse my ignorance of twitter, but what is that in reference to?

(I presume it's in regard to this place but I can't view any of the links provided by Danny earlier)

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    Please excuse my ignorance of twitter, but what is that in reference to? (I can't view any of the links provided by Danny earlier)
    Sam has since seen fit to lock himself away in his little bubble and has unfortunately made his Twitter profile private. I can no longer view it either.

That response was in relation to Gamble's reaction of mock outrage (a typical diversion/fudge tactic) to geysir's comment about the Mid Ulster Mail. Gamble apparently complained to the Foot.ie moderators about geysir's post, has printed out certain posts he perceives to contain vile abuse and is considering reporting them to the police as hate speech. Gardaí or PSNI, I'm not sure...

Edit just to add: It's all a bit mad.

Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    If I had to guess which vile diatribe hurt the most I'd say it was probably Charlie's suggestion that yer man is probably not very good at journalism. Twas as cruel as it was speculative.
    Well, it was cruel (although I didn't expect him to read it). Speculative... no way.

1,928 Posts
    Don't mention the KKK.

Given the depth of research he's exhibited to date, I wouldn't put it past him to report the father of evolutionary theory to the PSNI.

25. Thanks From:

1,825 Posts
    I love this thread.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?