Page 66 of 392 FirstFirst ... 1656646566676876116166 ... LastLast
Results 1,301 to 1,320 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

Jaysus do I regret ever looking at this thread. Some utter bile being spoken!

446 Posts
    Pompous nonsense from 1 or 2, yes.
    But bile? Naw....

36 Posts
    what is the latest on O'kane ? Is there anything offical ?

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    NB; I think you mentioned a few pages back that Derry City were still members of the IFA. Is this true? I know the club had to request dispensation from the IFA and UEFA/FIFA to join the League of Ireland, but I wasn't aware there was still some affiliation there. Aren't they members of the FAI?
    I'm pretty sure this was discussed in the LOI section in the wake of Derry's expulsion and re-entry to the LOI.

Just another thing on the role of Gerry "EPN" Armstrong, presumably you inherently disagree with the IFA even setting up such a position, NB, because if players are having second thoughts about playing for NI, then they shouldn't be considered at all? Or am I picking you up incorrectly?
    That's an interesting thought Danny and to add to that I presume NB is also "uneasy" with Lee Camp representing NI. Lee Camp was always aware of his eligibility for NI but chose England and had relative success with England at underage level. But once it became apparent to him that a senior England cap was beyond his reach, he turned to NI. Is there really any inherent difference between Alex Bruce and Lee Camp besides a few choice words in the media?

228 Posts
    Gerry Armstrong could find himself disappointed: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sp...-16038087.html
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

1,825 Posts
    Well at least there was no mention of the GFA but still...

Duffy, who automatically qualifies for the Republic as his dad, Brian, is from Donegal.
    Duffy qualifies by virtue of his birth in Derry, Ireland.

2,284 Posts
    Is part of Gerry Armstrong's remit to pester guys like Shane Duffy who are now playing under the auspices of other associations? That's rich.

Anyway, if I'm not mistaken, it would be impossible for Duffy to effect a U-turn given he's lined out for both the IFA and now the FAI in competitive under-age fixtures.

446 Posts
    Perhaps he could also turn out for The People's Republic of, er, Belleek, or similar...

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    what is the latest on O'kane ? Is there anything offical ?
    It looks fairly certain now.

366 Posts
    O'Kane's registration as an Eire player is expected to be completed in time for him to be available for the next round of qualifying matches at the start of next month.
    Alright, who leaked the 'Anti-Slovak/Soviet secret weapon' dossier? The O'Kane strategy is out of the bag. Not cool.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WexCar View Post
    Ok ....... **** it!!!!!!!!!!!! I`m just gonna say it. (I have been caught at a weak moment as I do try to avoid this thread for the obvious reasons!!)

The problem with NI is that it has a major identity crisis, that point I know is obvious. Are you Irish??? Are you British??? Answer --- Neither........."You are Northern Irish!!!!!" Don't think of yourself as Irish or British, as Catholic/Protestant, black/white, rich/poor & all those other irrelevant social divisions we put ourselves into to help us feel like we have a place in this world. Just as an example i will come at this from a familiar perspective, Scots see themselves as Scottish, those from Wales see themselves as Welsh, those from England are English etc... but NI, are they Irish or British???.

Every country has its violent and unsavoury past, try to look past it. I was born & raised in Ireland(ROI) & what I would love to see is a peaceful united Ireland but above all else I would give everything to see a peaceful NI either as part of a united Ireland or as a united Northern Ireland with a common goal & not divided on such trivial & insignificant reasons such as religion & falsely laid mistrust based on events of which none of us had any baring or influence on. Let go of the the biased psychological mindset of our ancestors, to whom we should not be made responsible for.

To put it simply, at the end of the day when the question is asked, whats the most logical answer for you.........Are you Irish, British or N.Irish??

Apologies for the rant, and I hope that you understand the point I'm trying to make as i must confess I'm much more comfortable with verbal interactions than written discussions.
    I'm in two minds whether or not to go to town on this as, if I'm reading you correctly, I happen to wholeheartedly resent such patronising sentiment. To whom are you referring exactly? Everyone in the north?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    I'm in two minds whether or not to go to town on this as, if I'm reading you correctly, I happen to wholeheartedly resent such patronising sentiment. To whom are you referring exactly? Everyone in the north?
    Ha ha, was waiting for this, go to town on it Danny, unload Sir, unload.

446 Posts
    To be fair, guessing relative geographical location may lead to certain, er, detachment issues...

Read it mainly as a rant mainly about those people, mainly clowns, who claim to be 'both' British & Irish*.

Of course' this excludes those who have both passports to prove it...

*As opposed to those who are just Brits or Irish. Which is fair enough....
    Last edited by ArdeeBhoy; 19/08/2011 at 12:29 PM.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Gerry Armstrong could find himself disappointed: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sp...-16038087.html
    It doesn't say in the article that Gerry Armstrong has approached Duffy or given any indication of his intention to do so.

Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post

fingers crossed
    Last edited by ifk101; 19/08/2011 at 7:08 AM.

675 Posts
    Are the BT trying to extract the urine with that 'he's changed in time to make the next ROI squad' line? Can't help but thinking they're trying to mischievously suggest a guy who didn't make the last NI U-21 setup could jump straight into our squad.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

36 Posts
    So can we field a full 11 from northern born lads : Gibson, Duffy, Kearns, O Kane, Wilson, George, Mclean, who am i leaving out..

36 Posts
    Devine

36 Posts
    5 Derry lads now : Gibson ,O kane, Duffy, Mclean and Ferguson, they are putting the Belfast lads to shame :O)

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    So can we field a full 11 from northern born lads : Gibson, Duffy, Kearns, O Kane, Wilson, George, Mclean, who am i leaving out..

Goalkeeper? Could probably have stuck Conor Devlin in there i suppose, as he was on the verge of moving to us prior to his being reseased by Man U. Don't think he's got sorted with a club yet?

386 Posts
    Conor Devlin has played in recent NI U21 qualifiers so he cannot represent us at U21 competitive level until the current round of qualifiers is complete. Unlikely to switch anytime soon because of this.