Page 62 of 392 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472112162 ... LastLast
Results 1,221 to 1,240 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

446 Posts
    Fair play to you for persisting with these spurious points NB, but you can judge the tone in certain instances, even online, knowing you're not a MB newbie.

Just think recently, your 'interpretation' of certain points recently has proved yer not on the same page as those posting.
    Still, the higher powers love a trier....

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    at least you don't become stereotypical like GA, who thinks throwing Aussie barbs at an Irishman is going to hurt his feelings and then goes offline!
    Sorry to hurt your feelings, cobber. I mean I was only responding in kind to being called, variously, ignorant, irrational, myopic and (by association) insular. All without any actual evidence. As you're so willing to dish it out, I assumed you could take it in turn. Wrongly, it seems.

I can continue to defend my opinions...facts are facts, your present system/ set up alienates many players and the obvious reasons remain sectaranism and the associated politics
    You haven't defended your opinion, merely repeated unsupported allegations in a roundabout argument that NB has already answered.

Also, the hypocrisy that exists - 'don't take our players, but it's okay if we take Alex Bruce' indicates a sense of desperation
    There has been hypocrisy from the IFA and many of our fans, although is hardly evidence of it. Almost all NI fans I know want nowt to do with Bruce.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Is another Londonderry born player about to realise that his boyhood dream was to play for the South(after wearing a Northern Ireland shirt on approx 20 occassions)?

We'll really miss you - Eunan O'Kane (Torquay United).
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    Is another Londonderry born player about to realise that his boyhood dream was to play for the South(after wearing a Northern Ireland shirt on approx 20 occassions)?

We'll really miss you - Eunan O'Kane (Torquay United).
    To be honest some of these "defections" do baffle me - he's been involved with the Northern Ireland set up since the under 16's and now at the age of 21 decides to switch over (if true) to us.

In fairness what are the realistic chances of him getting a call up to the senior side - surely he'd have a better chance of international football staying where he is?
    I have a head only Snow White would love

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    To be honest some of these "defections" do baffle me - he's been involved with the Northern Ireland set up since the under 16's and now at the age of 21 decides to switch over (if true) to us.

In fairness what are the realistic chances of him getting a call up to the senior side - surely he'd have a better chance of international football staying where he is?
    His chances of getting into our senior international side for a competitive fixture would be slim.

Maybe this is what GR refers to as "retiring from international football"?

You never know though, maybe he'll become Messi esque with a bit of FAI training.

675 Posts

Isn't it better all round for players to choose playing for their country over simply playing?
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

His chances of getting into our senior international side for a competitive fixture would be slim.

Maybe this is what GR refers to as "retiring from international football"?

You never know though, maybe he'll become Messi esque with a bit of FAI training.
    Yip, in a similar fashion to the way Worthington see's Bruce or Morris.

72 Posts
    Great start for Gerry Armstrong in his new IFA post - That's two in a fortnight.

Keep up the good work Gerry

1,825 Posts
    Maybe he's making it known that he's available for his country. Whether he plays or not is not up to him.

Is this not the honesty that the OWC fans constantly require?

True, but he's been with them since the under 16's and now wants to change, when in reality he wont get into our senior squad - that's my argument.

But surely to turn out for them he must have felt some affinity to the North - like all these lads in reality cant be die hard Nationalists - ok, he might have bowed his head for the anthems etc but dont tell me these players dont celebrate when they get a result over us as has happened in a few underage games against us?

I'm sure Niall McGinn and a few others have felt the same way and have stayed with the North.
    Last edited by greendeiseboy; 16/08/2011 at 2:26 PM.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Isn't it better all round for players to choose playing for their country over simply playing?
    What he said.

131 Posts
    Exactly.

Begs the question why they ever played for Northern Ireland.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Is this not the honesty that the OWC fans constantly require?
    Except that it's several underage caps too late kinda "honesty".

366 Posts
    This recent mention in esteemed football publication () FourFourTwo must have boosted O'Kane's sense of ambition:

675 Posts
    True, but he's been with them since the under 16's and now wants to change, when in reality he wont get into our senior squad - that's my argument.

But surely to turn out for them he must have felt some affinity to the North - like all these lads in reality cant be die hard Nationalists - ok, he might have bowed his head for the anthems etc but dont tell me these players dont celebrate when they get a result over us as has happened in a few underage games against us?

I'm sure Niall McGinn and a few others have felt the same way and have stayed with the North.
    Well I feel an affinity (more than that even) for the North, having been born and raised there. I'm proud to be Northern Irish as part of my overall Irish identity. But I have always supported ROI and considered myself ultimately Irish and that has nothing to do with any kind of die hard political belief.

My view is Niall McGinn (and Paddy McCourt) took the route that was open to them at the time and were capped by NI. That does not detract from their commitment and pride to play for NI but I do believe if given the choice, and if it appeared realistic at the time, they would've sought to represent ROI.

In reality a lot of these guys won't get near our squad. They know that. But the fact they'd rather stop pulling NI fans around and play for their country, no matter how unlikely, instead of settling is undoubtedly a good thing.

131 Posts
    Yip, in a similar fashion to the way Worthington see's Bruce or Morris.
    Morris is highly unlikely to gain a senior, competitive, cap for Northern Ireland - besides, it's unclear as to who made the move there - possibly the player himself?

I predict Bruce will not be around our Senior set up long (if at all) - and it's probable that Worthington will be gone by Christmas.

675 Posts
    Exactly.

Begs the question why they ever played for Northern Ireland.
    True. But the eligibility controversy is still relatively new (well it's existed for ages, but it being a big news story is relatively new). Would you agree these players appear to be taking more responsibility at this point? Maybe O'Kane etc realise they need to get off the fence - a little late maybe, but a good thing no?

131 Posts
    In reality a lot of these guys won't get near our squad. They know that. But the fact they'd rather stop pulling NI fans around and play for their country, no matter how unlikely, instead of settling is undoubtedly a good thing.
    Yes, indeed.

Only those with a burning desire to succeed at senior international level with Northern Ireland are needed to fill the shirts - others are surplus to requirements.

386 Posts
    Another recruit from Londonderry. Maybe it's time that Londonderry comes under the jurisdiction of the FAI given that Derry City play in the LOI and there clearly is a strong affiliation with the FAI and ROI international teams?

131 Posts
    True. But the eligibility controversy is still relatively new (well it's existed for ages, but it being a big news story is relatively new). Would you agree these players appear to be taking more responsibility at this point? Maybe O'Kane etc realise they need to get off the fence - a little late maybe, but a good thing no?
    You make a reasonable point.

The fence shaking is likely to intensify, and more players will get off it.

When the dust settles, maybe those with realistic ambitions of playing for the South, won't even get on the fence in the first place - they'll go straight to the FAI to discuss their international ambitions.