Results 1,161 to 1,180 of 7823

Thread: Eligibility Rules, Okay

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    A scan tomorrow perhaps?
    I don't have those resources readily available, unless I tried the local library or internet café and that all seems too much like work to me! The Fly has written out articles by Rowan before, maybe he'll do us a favour?
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

2,284 Posts
    I think this will take you to it if you have account on there: http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/...icle700544.ece

2,284 Posts
    Two pieces from the Sunday Life by Gerry Armstrong:

I'm not sure why selecting northern-born players should seem to Armstrong as if it's a priority of the FAI's. There's no evidence to indicate that the FAI are actively setting out to scoop up uninterested IFA players nor is there any indication their selection is anywhere near a priority. At least he acknowledges the FAI aren't doing anything wrong, although blaming "politicians"? Didn't the people vote in approval of the current arrangement? There might have been a case prior to the GFA, but that's irrelevant now. Besides, FIFA rejected the IFA's complaints about Irish nationality law in 1994 anyway.

The large mammal with the trunk in the room appears to have gained an invisibility cloak

2,284 Posts
    I also meant to add, Armstrong credits Kerr for his apparent reticence, but isn't Kerr alleged to have pro-actively sought Chris Baird? In fact, he's the only employee of the FAI that such an "allegation" has ever been made against by a northern player.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    I'm now officially Gerry Armstrong, EPN.
    EPN is merely the initials of my new role with the IFA - Elite Player Mentor...

You plonker!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,825 Posts
    I completely missed that first time I read it. Jaysus, he has his work cut out for himself at that rate.

446 Posts
    Gerry Armstrong, re. J.McClean,
    "I'm desperate to find out what brought about his decision",
    Hmm.

Never mind being EPM or the kids even knowing who he is, but Gerry really doesn't know?

And good to see SS picking up this particular ball and running with it...

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post

You plonker!

He's off to a flyer lads!

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    I don't have those resources readily available, unless I tried the local library or internet café and that all seems too much like work to me! The Fly has written out articles by Rowan before, maybe he'll do us a favour?
    The Sunday Times, 14th August, 2011
    Strange and sad place, Belfast. Still. A city that has chosen as its icons a ship that sank on its maiden voyage and a gifted footballer who spent the last 30 years of his life drowning in a vat of chardonnay. And nowhere is that sense of poignancy more keenly felt than at the fading Georgian grandeur of No 20 Windsor Avenue. This is the former residence of the Titanic designer Thomas Andrews and the present home of the Irish Football Association, so visitors can view framed pictures of Best along with a faithful model of the ship. The hospitality is typically warm, but there is not much other history to see, even though the IFA is the fourth oldest governing body in the world after the other three home nations.

The magnificent silver Home Nations cup, awarded in perpetuity to Northern Ireland after they won the last championship in 1984, is kept in a box at the bottom of a cupboard in one of the rooms. Programmes going back through the decades when Northern Ireland was simply referred to as "Ireland" are locked away in cabinets. Other memorabilia from more than a century of history and tradition gathers dust in the attic.

All will be moved shortly to a museum at the revamped Windsor Park, but the sense of ennui since the defection of the latest player from the North, James McClean, to the Republic, remains overpowering and was only temporarily alleviated by the sensational display from Paddy McCourt in the 4-0 victory over the Faroe Islands on Wednesday night.

That night also saw a first official visit to Windsor Park by a Sinn Fein MLA, the Culture Minister Caral Ni Chuilin, though she arrived after the playing of God Save The Queen.

The scrapping of the divisive anthem is regarded as one possible panacea for the loss of some of Northern Ireland's best talent to their southern rivals and of course it would be a hugely symbolic gesture. Not only do some nationalists find it objectionable, but the anthem has been widely booed by Wales and Scotland fans on visits to Hampden Park and the Millennium stadium.

There are mixed signs emanating from the IFA on this issue. Gerry Armstrong, the new man charged with winning over the hearts and minds of young players thinking of defecting — and already dubbed by wags as Papal Nuncio to Windsor Park — said that the matter is under review, though he felt it was a red herring. "I know that they have talked about and are discussing it and it is an ongoing thing. I will find out more when I've been in the job a bit longer. I don't think it is that big an issue for a lot of people, some people might argue against that but I didn't ever see it as a problem. I went out and played."

IFA President, Jim Shaw, who appears less stuck in his ways than some of his predecessors, is sounding a more cautious note. "The Association has no clear line on that in the sense that the national anthem we play is the Northern Ireland national anthem," Shaw says.

However, even if Derry's own Phil Coulter were to pen an optimistic and inclusive new ditty, it wouldn't change the gut feeling amongst nationalists that they want to play for the Republic. And most people accept that. What is wholly understandable is the frustration felt in the North that precious financial resources are being wasted bringing players through the underage ranks only for them to jump ship once they get a call-up for the senior side and have to make a big decision. The Belfast Telegraph even began its report on the latest defection with "Turncoat James McClean... " an idea of how strongly feelings are running. In the case of one or two players — McClean excluded — they haven't even had the decency to ring the Northern Ireland manager to inform them of the decision.

As the Northern Ireland captain Aaron Hughes told me on Tuesday: "It makes it a bit more difficult when you are looking down the levels and thinking there are one or two good young players coming through and they would be good for the senior squad and all of a sudden they go elsewhere. But it is for the authorities to look at."

Here is an area fraught with difficulty as the IFA belatedly seeks to establish its equal opportunities credentials. Identifying the sleepers in the Northern Ireland camp might appear attractive to some, but would be a disastrous step to take. Getting any cooperation from the Republic on this issue also looks like a fruitless task and in the end it is up to the players to "give the shirt a bit of respect" and "don't abuse the nation and don't insult the manager", as David Healy put it last week.

However, all the signs are that the IFA are prepared to tolerate the situation, even if it infuriates them when players choose a different shade of green. The association knows that grasping the anthem nettle could lead to a situation where you alienate a large proportion of the existing support for only a negligible return.

Where it would become intolerable would be if players from the Protestant community also started making the jump and the indignity of becoming a feeder nation to the Republic became too great. There is no sign of such a sea change.

One or two players will surely have turned it over in their minds, but the pressure from their family, friends and general community will probably be too great to make them consider taking it any further.

The seriousness of the present situation shouldn't be underestimated. Remember that when Northern Ireland beat West Germany 1-0 in 1983 in Hamburg in a European qualifier there were more Catholics in the team than Protestants — including Armstrong, Martin O'Neill, Mal Donaghy and Pat Jennings. As Armstrong points out, "everybody got on". That's now gone. The ship has been holed, but will continue to sail into the sunset.

© 2011 Times Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

446 Posts
    Perhaps in the light of that article, 'EPN', as per the 'Sunday Life' typo, should mean Elite 'Papal Nuncio'...

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Although of course I'm disappointed by young NI players abandoning NI to play for other countries
    Irish nationals choosing to represent their country should not be a source of disappointment to you.

.... particularly when they've already amassed numerous U-21 caps.
    I could be sympathetic on this point if I was unaware of the IFA's selection policy when it comes to the underage players of other associations.

And most irritatingly when they ar*se about, like McClean did after the squad was announced.
    He was called up to train with the NI squad because Nigel & Co. had heard of the cross channel interest. Shouldn't your irritation be directed at the IFA?

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Irish nationals choosing to represent their country should not be a source of disappointment to you
    NI internationals choosing to retire prematurely from international football is.

I could be sympathetic on this point if I was unaware of the IFA's selection policy when it comes to the underage players of other associations
    Bully for you. You may also be unaware that I've consistently argued against the IFA choosing U-21 and U-19 internationals from other countries.

He was called up to train with the NI squad because Nigel & Co. had heard of the cross channel interest. Shouldn't your irritation be directed at the IFA?
    My irritation is wide-ranging. Dick Fcukwhittington's haplessness doesn't detract from McClean being a time-waster.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunday Times
    Strange and sad place, Belfast. Still. A city that has chosen as its icons a ship that sank on its maiden voyage and a gifted footballer who spent the last 30 years of his life drowning in a vat of chardonnay
    Aye, I've always been puzzled by the determined association with all things Titanic. Although maybe I'm missing something, as it isn't confined to Belfast. A year ago thousands lined the streets of Dudley, where I live, to see a replica of the locally made ship's anchor parade behind 20 Shire horses, the local operatic and am-dram societies and a jug band playing Jambalaya. It was featured in a Channel 4 series a few months later.

George Best is iconic because he's widely acknowledged as the greatest British player of the modern era (ie, no-one since has surpassed his indovidual impact). That will be remembered long after the alcoholism, I expect.

And nowhere is that sense of poignancy more keenly felt than at the fading Georgian grandeur of No 20 Windsor Avenue..there is not much other history to see, even though the IFA is the fourth oldest governing body in the world after the other three home nations...but the sense of ennui since the defection of the latest player from the North, James McClean, to the Republic, remains overpowering and was only temporarily alleviated by the sensational display from Paddy McCourt in the 4-0 victory over the Faroe Islands on Wednesday night
    This is just a bit overblown, don't ye think? NI's place in World football overall is modest largely due to small size and resulting limited player base. Occasional exceptions apart (Uruguay last year, say), the small fry tend to be also rans. Dusty back-room museums suggest 'ennui' pretty much by definition. Maybe there'll be another temporary alleviation next time NI win a game- perhaps next month?

That night also saw a first official visit to Windsor Park by a Sinn Fein MLA, the Culture Minister Caral Ni Chuilin, though she arrived after the playing of God Save The Queen
    Arrived understandably late, left ridiculously early and thus missed all four goals. Hardly worth her while coming. Dozy cow.

but the anthem has been widely booed by Wales and Scotland fans on visits to Hampden Park and the Millennium stadium
    Ha ha. There are good reasons to have a distinct NI anthem (or use the one we already have and have used, Danny Boy). Comedy booing by Braveheart extras isn't one of them.

it wouldn't change the gut feeling amongst nationalists that they want to play for the Republic. And most people accept that
    Fine, play for the Republic. Don't play for NI first then retire in a huff.

the IFA belatedly seeks to establish its equal opportunities credentials
    Irrelevant MOPERY, Those credentials already exist. The onus is on adult footballers capped by NI to realise that effectively retiring from international football aged 20 or whatever will get them understandable stick. No-one is going to identify them as a sleeper. What is this, Smiley's People?

The association knows that grasping the anthem nettle could lead to a situation where you alienate a large proportion of the existing support for only a negligible return
    I doubt Danny Boy would alienate many. It might pi*ss them off for one or two games, then be accepted.

Where it would become intolerable would be if players from the Protestant community also started making the jump and the indignity of becoming a feeder nation to the Republic became too great. There is no sign of such a sea change
    Quite. Rather a grandma's gonads argument. Apart from the obvious reasons above- it's a foreign country, basically- the RoI don't really offer much more at all. One qualification in the last eight attempts, no win against a higher-ranked country for 10 years. Apart from a purple period from 1986-94 it's decades of mediocrity. Slightly less dust in the Abbotstown museum?

The seriousness of the present situation shouldn't be underestimated
    It isn't. There's at least the possibility of a steady number of players retiring from U-21 international football as I've described. Let's see how Gerry Armstrong gets on.

As Armstrong points out, "everybody got on". That's now gone
    It hasn't. Team spirit is still there even if some people choose not to play for it. And spare us the laboured Titanic metaphors. Captain Ahab Keane buggering off from Saipan on the good ship Whataboutery didn't wreck the RoI's team spirit.

446 Posts
    More pointless bluster.

You still haven't answered the previous point up thread, mind.
    Who are all these people who've "retired" ??
    Last edited by ArdeeBhoy; 15/08/2011 at 10:56 PM.

386 Posts
    NI internationals choosing to retire prematurely from international football is.
    Cry me a river.

You may also be unaware that I've consistently argued against the IFA choosing U-21 and U-19 internationals from other countries.
    Bully for you.

My irritation is wide-ranging.
    You should get that seen to.

Dick Fcukwhittington's haplessness
    Hapless?

doesn't detract from McClean being a time-waster.
    Cannot see the forest for the trees.

36 Posts
    in the star today its mentions Callum Morris (ex newcastle defender) as gone to the north. he didnt get a contract with Blyth spartans and is now with Glenn Hoddle ...big loss there lol

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    I'm now officially Gerry Armstrong, EPN.

You plonker!
    He might want to hit the books for a bit for the new job
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

446 Posts
    You could pass that book onto the odd poster on this thread also...

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    in the star today its mentions Callum Morris (ex newcastle defender) as gone to the north. he didnt get a contract with Blyth spartans and is now with Glenn Hoddle ...big loss there lol
    How is Morris eligible to play for Northern Ireland?

I don't see him as having been selected to represent any Northern Ireland representative team - nor do I ever envisage him obtaining a senior international cap for Northern Ireland.

There's another Northern Irish born kid at the Hoddle Academy, you might be interested in talking to though.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...