Page 12 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Licences 2011

229 Posts
    I'm surprised Waterford United weren't granted a Premier licence, thought they'd have met the criteria. It's a pity at least 16 clubs didn't get the PD licence, it'd have strengthened the case for clubs looking for an expanded Premier.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    United Park is grand. 2 entrances. Seats on both sides of ground. COvered terrace for away fans. Toilets/food all there. Whats the problem?
    United Park is class. Any man who complains about the state of a clubs toilet shouldn't be allowed near a football game.

Anyways, commiserations to the Galway fans. Couldn't imagine what it'd be like to play in the A championship. Who knows, it could be a blessing in disguise. Build the club from the ground up with the right people involved. Or am I a dreamer?

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    wasn't that when you were lecturing us about owing money to Brian Shelley ? Guess your recall of history is somewhat selective

At the time dalymount was virtually worthless but the value increased dramatically when we got rid of the crowd that were renting
    You did owe money to Shelley didn't you, and you were handed Dalymount on a plate by the FAI(finally you admit it). As I'm right on both counts what's your point?
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by compo View Post
    Not in Cork's case. While the old company, Cork City FC Investments Ltd went into liquidation, the underage teams continued to operate. FORAS obtained a 1st Division licence and, while the underage teams, under liquidator's supervision/permission saw out their season, the LOI team was forced to adopt a temporary alteration to the operating name. Subsequently, FORAS obtained the assets of the old company from the liquidator, including the intellectual property, permitting us to once again operate under the correct name. The FAI have confirmed to us that they see us as the same club which entered the LOI in 1984.
    In their 2010 season guide, they have Cork City FORAS Co-op as being formed in 2010, with no history of previous games, honours etc. Maybe that confirms what you said, that bascially Cork City took annual leave, a new club was formed and took its place, and then bowed out when the new club bought the old one and folded the new one. Or something like that!
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

I think the only argument about Drogheda's ground is that it clearly doesn't meet licencing, which other clubs have raised and spent (and been given for free) a lot of money in meeting. But as a ground, it's generally grand.
    But thats my point, how does it 'clearly' not meet licensing? Think it ticks all the boxes for supporters anyway

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Re; Marinobohs - That was said with tongue in cheek, but there you go, a 'whoosh' moment.
    Criteria was clearly not met, as the licence was not awarded. What we are hoping is that documentation to be provided this week confirms verbal commitments outlined in the original application, and therefore is not new evidence, but merely confirmation of what was said in application (in response to micls).
    But if they were willing to consider that, surely they would have given ye a conditional licence, like Limerick while waiting for confirmation?

Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    I'm surprised Waterford United weren't granted a Premier licence, thought they'd have met the criteria. It's a pity at least 16 clubs didn't get the PD licence, it'd have strengthened the case for clubs looking for an expanded Premier.
    Henderson doesn't have the required coaching badges

Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    United Park is class. Any man who complains about the state of a clubs toilet shouldn't be allowed near a football game.

Anyways, commiserations to the Galway fans. Couldn't imagine what it'd be like to play in the A championship. Who knows, it could be a blessing in disguise. Build the club from the ground up with the right people involved. Or am I a dreamer?
    You're not the only one......

3,491 Posts
    But thats my point, how does it 'clearly' not meet licensing? Think it ticks all the boxes for supporters anyway
    1500 covered seats. (And I know we don't meet that either).

I've no problems with United Park, by the way, other than standing by that they could do with at least cleaning the **** off the jacks floor, fixing the light and maybe using a bit of air freshener once in a while. We want people to go to games, not pick up plague.

Edit - actually, sorry - forgot the FAI seated the terrace. That doesn't bring it up to 1500 though, does it?

As we were the first real beneficiaries of the Licencing criteria back in 2007 we have to take the rough with the smooth.

A few posters here are very much enjoying dancing on our graves. So naturally enough I'll be keeping a close eye out for their clubs results on and off the field.

The 'A' Championship is a non-runner (as an option for Galway United) in my view now that there are two "established" First Division teams in Galway

So after the 35 years or thereabouts it seems it's over-and-out for us. I'm very sad as the club was a big part of my life. The reality is that it never really commanded enough broad support in Galway and in recent years Connacht Rugby has mopped up the floating vote.

Thanks to the very few who did their level best to keep things going - often at great personal cost to themselves.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

1500 covered seats. (And I know we don't meet that either).

I've no problems with United Park, by the way, other than standing by that they could do with at least cleaning the **** off the jacks floor, fixing the light and maybe using a bit of air freshener once in a while. We want people to go to games, not pick up plague.

Edit - actually, sorry - forgot the FAI seated the terrace. That doesn't bring it up to 1500 though, does it?
    I think there are enough seats. There are 1,500 seats on the home terrace. And 350/400 in the main stand.
    Doubt theres anything in the licencing criteria about **** on the floor

Ah, it easily does when 2 stand combined

22 Posts
    Coming to the creeping realisation that Galway will escape on appeal. The reasons for not getting a licence seem to be awfully temporary.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    I think there are enough seats. There are 1,500 seats on the home terrace. And 350/400 in the main stand.
    Doubt theres anything in the licencing criteria about **** on the floor
    So licencing will allow you rack up E4m of debt and leave people's **** all over the floor. Until these two vital additions are made to licencing, our league will never go forward.

Ah, it easily does when 2 stand combined
    1500 seats in the terrace alone per the ever-reliable wiki. So yeah, disregard.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    But if they were willing to consider that, surely they would have given ye a conditional licence, like Limerick while waiting for confirmation?
    That's what worries me. Anything I say or post is done with great hope, but if I stop and think about it, I'll turn into a blubbering wreck as it looks like my beloved club is gone.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monsexile View Post
    Coming to the creeping realisation that Galway will escape on appeal. The reasons for not getting a licence seem to be awfully temporary.
    Doubt it. As micls pointed out they'd have issued a conditional licence if they could let it slide for a few days. They'll have warned Galway of what they had to have in and when by. The appeals are mostly pointless. We'll see though, wouldn't mind seeing them in the First if that were possible.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    That's what worries me. Anything I say or post is done with great hope, but if I stop and think about it, I'll turn into a blubbering wreck as it looks like my beloved club is gone.
    I get it, I really do

Just don't give up. Even if it is the A championship, get GUST fully in charge, it's a year down there and then ye'l be ready for the first the year after. It's ye're club. Who cares if there are other clubs in Galway, ye can ensure ye're one is still around in 5/10 or 50 years time.

21. Thanks From:

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    I get it, I really do

Just don't give up. Even if it is the A championship, get GUST fully in charge, it's a year down there and then ye'l be ready for the first the year after. It's ye're club. Who cares if there are other clubs in Galway, ye can ensure ye're one is still around in 5/10 or 50 years time.
    Cheers. Yeah, that has to be the focus now (or at least when the decision appeal is announced). That said, it was hard enough fighting certain vested interests within the local scene in Galway when we were in the top flight, it will be very difficult to do so when 2 clubs are ahead of us in the pecking order. Look at Cobh - went from First Division to A Championship, and while there are clearly great people working with the club, it is about the players putting the club back where it belongs. I saw their play-off leg against Salthill Devon in Drom and they were miles off a woeful Devon team, and that is the fate I fear - we'd end up with a soocial club for the die-hards. Still, baby steps and all that. Serves us right for appointing a man convicted of an astonishing piece of financial fraud in charge of the club, as we now lie in the bed he made for us.

55 Posts
    It feels like St Valentines day massacre....

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    And Bohs did not drag anything through the gutter two former players initiated legal action not the club (never let the facts get in the way of a good moan).
    Bohs draged the league through the gutter by generating acres of negative publicity for themselves and the league by not honouring the legal playing contracts they had with their players!

These players were left for months on end with no wages including over the christmas period, then had to go down the legal route before being paid off and laid off.

Aren't there strict employment law regulations around laying staff off and then hiring replacement staff later on lower wages to ensure people are not messed around with by employers?

Hhhhmmmm, I am surprised to see so many new signings coming on board so quickly at Bohs following the recent lay offs or is the football industry exempt from these rules?!

2,771 Posts
    lol ^^
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Page 12 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast