Page 5 of 27 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Licences 2011

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    The fourteenth Wednesday after St Swithin's day.
    You might be interested to know that's the 19th of October this year. How did people find out this vital sort of thing before google came along?!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Who got relegated that didn't deserve to, and who got promoted that didn't deserve to
    Let's wait and see, when the licenses are dished out, if the fai are daft enoughto give a premier licence (and place) to the frogs my point will be proved
    Weaseling out of things is important to learn, it's what seperates us from the animals!! Well... except for the weasel.

That should be Drogs
    Weaseling out of things is important to learn, it's what seperates us from the animals!! Well... except for the weasel.

305 Posts
    Frogs was better ;D

433 Posts
    Bohs have been given a Premier license apparently.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

That's rediculous if they have, how many players have they signed?

1,821 Posts
    I think some people don't get what "getting a premier licence" means.
    We have had premier licences for the last 3 years and still were in the fd.
    A premier licence dictates a certain standard and not the positioning of the club in the league.
    Now, don't get me wrong, Bohs getting this licence probably means they are in the pd. But recent talk about getting licences has been bugging me.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Bohs have been given a Premier license apparently.
    Honestly think a club is going to fold mid season this year if this is the case.
    FAI are only shooting themselves in the foot.

1,821 Posts
    It's grand we'll just employ our old friend *

Problem solved.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

762 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Start new threads on foot.ie about our favourite Pat Dolan impression?
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post

If a mod would be so kind as to split this thread off...
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Whats with all the knicker twisting lads? If we get a Premier division licence we're in, if we don't we're not. I don't see the problem :-)
    Dundalk 1 - "the worst team to ever play in the premier" 2 :D

123 Posts
    did sporting get a premier licence
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

1,083 Posts
    They're being announced today by the looks of things. Athlone have announced on their site that they've got a Premier Licence.

Right, let the outrage begin. The Drogs have been given a premier licence
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

142 Posts
    Galway United REFUSED a Premier Division licence, only awarded an A Championship one, "for failure to fulfill financial criteria"
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Time for a good froth at the mouth folks!!

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/20...y/news_003.php
    Dundalk 1 - "the worst team to ever play in the premier" 2 :D

Issued 11:00 Monday 14th February 2011

Drogheda United FC is delighted to have learned this morning that it has been granted a Premier Division licence and place for the 2011 season.

The club had made a strong case for its inclusion in the top-flight after last week receiving official notification that it was next in line to fill the vacancy left by Sporting Fingal.

With the potential for increased sponsorship, commercial interest and gate income that life in the premier division affords, and following a strong start to its share issue scheme which in under a month has yielded over €80K, those now running the club look forward to building a stable and successful future.

“Taking our place in this season’s premier division gives us a terrific opportunity to move on from the turbulent times of the past, assuming our share scheme maintains momentum up to the start of the season” said Jim Agnew, club Director. “We’ve worked hard over the last few months on plans to make the club self-sustaining and to place ownership in the hands of the supporters and our community. We may not be winning the league or anything like that for a while but by the beginning of the season we believe we can have a club that is structured, vibrant and, most importantly, financially stable. Hopefully the award of this licence will encourage more people to become involved in our project and will boost membership of our Claret & Blue Club.”

Season tickets for this season’s campaign are on-sale immediately on www.droghedaunited.ie or from the Drogheda United club house from next weekend

142 Posts
    Premier: Bohs, Bray, Cork, Derry, Drogs, Dundalk, Mons, Shams, Sligo, Shels, Pats, UCD, Athlone and Longford First Division: Mervue, Wexford, Salthill, Waterford and Harps. Limerick awarded a "conditional" licence
    A Championship: Cobh, Galway Utd, Fanad, Carlow, Tralee
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

1,083 Posts
    So Mons to replace Galway? There's always a shock on Licence day!

Wow, shock of the day.

So what happens now. Is there another A championship team to come up? Or will they leave Cobh where they are and have 2 divisions of 10.

Condolences to Galway fans and the lads that've worked hard to try and sort the club out. Hopefully this time will help ye take back ye're club and come back stronger.

Page 5 of 27 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast