Page 20 of 27 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast

Thread: Licences 2011

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    I would think if the FAI delayed it by holding onto money then Galway should have said to the FAI that they needed the money and if they didn't get it they wouldn't have had a tax clearance cert in time. The FAI should then have released the money to Galway. If this in fact happened (Galway requesting the money for the revenue) and the FAI didn't release the money then they need to take some responsibilty, otherwise it is Galways fault.
    GUST were in almost hourly contact with the FAI and the revenue at times last week. Everyone was in the know about what was required well in advance of last week, never mind deadline day.

Anyone who has had dealings with the revenue knows that they will not do anything for you on the spot, nor am I suggesting this should be the case. A combination of the FAI not releasing the money in a timely fashion and the person who was to give the ultimate go ahead in the revenue being on leave was the cause of the problem.

There are/were a lot of problems at Galway United, but we didn't do this.

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    GUST were in almost hourly contact with the FAI and the revenue at times last week
    maybe if you stopped bleeding hassling they would've been able to produce the docs for you

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    maybe if you stopped bleeding hassling they would've been able to produce the docs for you
    Not while the man with the power was on leave they couldn't.

The other question you gotta ask is, why was all this being left so late?

812 Posts
    GUST were in almost hourly contact with the FAI and the revenue at times last week. Everyone was in the know about what was required well in advance of last week, never mind deadline day.

Anyone who has had dealings with the revenue knows that they will not do anything for you on the spot, nor am I suggesting this should be the case. A combination of the FAI not releasing the money in a timely fashion and the person who was to give the ultimate go ahead in the revenue being on leave was the cause of the problem.

There are/were a lot of problems at Galway United, but we didn't do this.
    "Hello, this is GUST."
    "You feckers again?"
    "Is he back yet?"
    "No, he did not get back from Malasia in the last forty-five minutes. Feck off, ye little pests."
    You can't spell failure without FAI

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doomofman View Post
    The other question you gotta ask is, why was all this being left so late?
    An agreement could not be reached with the revenue while the money from the transfer of Seamus Conneely was in the hands of the FAI for over a month.

38 Posts
    An agreement could not be reached with the revenue while the money from the transfer of Seamus Conneely was in the hands of the FAI for over a month.
    Why did the FAI not release the money?
    Had Galway United monies outstanding to the FAI that prevented them from doing this? This is not unheard of, where the FAI withhold part/all of prize money because clubs owe them money for fines, fees, international tickets etc.?
    If the FAI had the money for over a month, and Galway United knew this, why did they not demand this was released? A simple letter from a solicitor would have achieved this.

As was pointed out, the FAI were withholding money due to Galway United for one reason or another.

As I said in an earlier post, whatever about these monies it was the responsibility of Galway United and ONLY Galway United, to ensure they got a Tax Clearance Certificate from the Revenue Commissioners.

The other point, which seems to have disappeared since Monday, was the money due to a former player who wasn't prepared to accept that all was cleared with him until such time as a cheque issued by Galway (as late as last Thursday) was cleared by the bank. The player was therefore admitting that he was still due money from Galway United. Again, technically no agreement (between both parties) had been reached with this player prior to the deadline.

Galway seem to be blaming everyone from the FAI to one employee in the Revenue Commissioners for this. The fact is, if they had been paying their taxes all along, they wouldn't have had the problem with the Revenue commissioners so late in the day. There is no point in blaming the FAI, the previous Galway board, an employee of the Revenue Commissioners who was on holidays just because GUST have now taken on the day-to-day running of the club. Galway United IS Galway United regardless of who was in charge at the time of the deadline(s) or indeed now.

Earlier in the week, there was laods of sympathy out there for Galway United. But this constant blaming of everyone other than the club itself is starting to see that sympathy disappear.

Galway United - the club - failed to have vital documents with the FAI on the deadline. Up until a day or two ago, they still hadn't got a Tax Clearance Certificate for fecks sake - this was after all deadlines had passed and the Licenses had been issued.

If, and it's a BIG IF at this stage, Galway win their appeal tomorrow, it's another fudge from the FAI for failing to adhere to their own rules.
    Last edited by harps1954; 17/02/2011 at 3:49 PM. Reason: typos
    Up the Harps!!

The board of Galway United FC ltd (prior to handing over the daily running of the company to GUST) were responsible for the professional running of the club. Part of that involved an application for a licence. The job, ultimately, was the responsibility of a certain Mr. Leeson who had been the CEO. He failed in this duty, one of many failings, many would argue. The board as his employers failed to remove him from his post and instead agreed to his becoming a major shareholder. The failure to get a licence lies with the board of United alone.

The problem for most fans is that the members of GUST have been working tirelessly to pay bills, clear debts and work behind the scenes to get a licence for the club they love. Fans are gutted at the prospect of losing that club especially now because after 34 years there is a real hope that the club could become a community club run by the fans. I don't really care who is to blame for not getting a licence but I care deeply that we do get one. I believe that GUST would run the club with honour, professionalism, passion and dignity. I just want a chance to show that we can.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post
    Why did the FAI not release the money?
    Had Galway United monies outstanding to the FAI that prevented them from doing this? This is not unheard of, where the FAI withhold part/all of prize money because clubs owe them money for fines, fees, international tickets etc.?
    If the FAI had the money for over a month, and Galway United knew this, why did they not demand this was released? A simple letter from a solicitor would have achieved this.

As was pointed out, the FAI were withholding money due to Galway United for one reason or another.

As I said in an earlier post, whatever about these monies it was the responsibility of Galway United and ONLY Galway United, to ensure they got a Tax Clearance Certificate from the Revenue Commissioners.
    The other point, which seems to have disappeared since Monday, was the money due to a former player who wasn't prepared to accept that all was cleared with him until such time as a cheque issued by Galway (as late as last Thursday) was cleared by the bank. The player was therefore admitting that he was still due money from Galway United. Again, technically no agreement (between both parties) had been reached with this player prior to the deadline.

Galway seem to be blaming everyone from the FAI to one employee in the Revenue Commissioners for this. The fact is, if they had been paying their taxes all along, they wouldn't have had the problem with the Revenue commissioners so late in the day. There is no point in blaming the FAI, the previous Galway board, an employee of the Revenue Commissioners who was on holidays just because GUST have now taken on the day-to-day running of the club. Galway United IS Galway United regardless of who was in charge at the time of the deadline(s) or indeed now.

Earlier in the week, there was laods of sympathy out there for Galway United. But this constant blaming of everyone other than the club itself is starting to see that sympathy disappear.

Galway United - the club - failed to have vital documents with the FAI on the deadline. Up until a day or two ago, they still hadn't got a Tax Clearance Certificate for fecks sake - this was after all deadlines had passed and the Licenses had been issued.

If, and it's a BIG IF at this stage, Galway win their appeal tomorrow, it's another fudge from the FAI for failing to adhere to their own rules.
    There was an Undertaking by GUFC and the FAI to forward the monies from the transfer to the revenue.The money was transfered last tuesday more than a month after it had been forwarded by Sheffield United. That gave us 3 days to get the Tax clearence sorted.We got verbal agreement on Thursday but unfortunately the person who has to sign off these agreements was on leave. The TCC was issued on monday morning and the debt is far smaller than the majority og LOI clubs €11,500.

Limerick have been given a full week to sort out their problems all we are asking for is fairplay.

it wasnt a player that was owed money and the person in question had faxed the FAI confirming the agreement with the club subject to our cheque clearing which it did on Monday.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

1,104 Posts
    They dont accept conditional agreements and like it or not "subject to the cheque clearing" is a condition. If you'd given him a draft there'd be no problem. We've had to do it in years gone by.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Somethign similar happened to Portadown when the IFA set up their premiership a few sesons back, they were a few hours late I think with making a payment or showing evidence, and they were relegated to the lower division, I thik their appeal failed.
    That was nothing to do with Licencing though. That was their application to join the new league. They were not relegated, they just failed to apply.

garyderry
    When will all the appeals be finished with and we actually know the makeup of the divisions?
    has there been a date set?

gufc appeal is tomorrow morning, i believe we will know the result immediately after. P.S. Good luck to the gust reps tomorrow.

19. Thanks From:

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    gufc appeal is tomorrow morning, i believe we will know the result immediately after. P.S. Good luck to the gust reps tomorrow.
    Best of luck to ye anyway.
    I anyway would hate to see the LOI Premier divison without Galway United as the LOI fan .
    Hope the FAI have some sense.

21. Thanks From:

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry-Lander View Post
    The board of Galway United FC ltd (prior to handing over the daily running of the company to GUST) were responsible for the professional running of the club. Part of that involved an application for a licence. The job, ultimately, was the responsibility of a certain Mr. Leeson who had been the CEO. He failed in this duty, one of many failings, many would argue. The board as his employers failed to remove him from his post and instead agreed to his becoming a major shareholder. The failure to get a licence lies with the board of United alone.

The problem for most fans is that the members of GUST have been working tirelessly to pay bills, clear debts and work behind the scenes to get a licence for the club they love. Fans are gutted at the prospect of losing that club especially now because after 34 years there is a real hope that the club could become a community club run by the fans. I don't really care who is to blame for not getting a licence but I care deeply that we do get one. I believe that GUST would run the club with honour, professionalism, passion and dignity. I just want a chance to show that we can.
    Did you get that from a z-rated court drama?
    Sporting F*ck All!

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Did you get that from a z-rated court drama?
    What attempted intelligent point is it you are trying to make? Seriously, what's your point? Or are you just being a (failed) smartarse trying to be clever in belittling a passionate post from a fan who has spent the last 34 years of his life supporting Galway Rovers/United?
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Limerick have been given a full week to sort out their problems all we are asking for is fairplay.
    Big difference between the two situations though. Limerick don't have any problems. Limerick had all the necessary documents, certs, letters of guarantee etc... in in time for the deadline. This extra guarantee the Licensing Committee/FAI are looking for had nothing to do with the actual original application. Also Limerick upon hearing what needed to be done to secure it had it sorted the same day. Through no fault of theirs they had to wait till Thursday and now Monday.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Limerick don't have any problems.
    Best not make statements like that, they have a tendency to come back to bite fans of League of Ireland clubs!

I've only been to Jackman Park once following Finn Harps and, although the number of Limerick fans was disappointing, I thought the were the best craic I'd come across at all the away grounds I've been to. It strikes me that the F.A.I., after a bit of posturing, will give them the benefit of the doubt and upgrade them from a conditional to a full licence.

1,552 Posts
    Galway's meeting was due to start at 8am according to a post on the GUST forum.

fair play.one point though is that limerick never requested this extension and i see a galway fan asking for "fairness" limerick had to come up with over 200,000 yo yos in three days while no other club had to have this "condition" sounds fair to me

28. Thanks From:

Page 20 of 27 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast