Page 13 of 27 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: Licences 2011

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mario View Post
    Aren't there strict employment law regulations around laying staff off and then hiring replacement staff later on lower wages to ensure people are not messed around with by employers?
    The players weren't laid off. That's why the players could hold on for (in theory) their full contract. The nature of working as a footballer means you can't be made redundant.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    And out of the 5 largest cities in Ireland, only one will have any representation in the top flight.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Derry not one of the 5?
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Cough.
    But they're in the United Kingd.....oh now I see!

Hope Galway get sorted. Always the 1st away fixture I look for since I started college down there. Be waste to have such a good ground not used in Premier.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I see Limerick's condition is that they have to provide security for their budget by Thursday. Presumably in the form of a guarantee.
    Sounds like a bit of horseplay from worried John and his merry band of lackies to be honest.

If we get kicked out of the League on some nonsense considering how well ran the club is I'll actually be able to walk away and not really give a toss, amazed how non annoyed I am by the whole thing.

With regards to all the other nonsense surely the sensible thing (i know, i know, bear with me) to do would be to bump monaghan up to the premier with drogheda (lol btw) and have galway and cobh take their places in the first.

After 30+ years of ups and downs with this club today is the lowest ever.
    Thanks to those who are not celebrating our aparent demise.
    Gutted beyond words
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    I'm surprised Waterford United weren't granted a Premier licence, thought they'd have met the criteria.
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Henderson doesn't have the required coaching badges
    Yeah that's part of it. Supposedly cos our referee's facilities aren't big enough (I think you need separate ones for female refs/assisatnts) and we don't have a separate first aid room as far as I know. Wasn't a problem before - we always got a Premier licence - so not sure if it's true. We have 3000 covered seats because the FAI wanted that, we have a second entrance because they wanted that, we have a kids academy and are setting up a ladies team because they wanted that. It wouldn't have made a difference to which division we were in, but I'm still surprised as to where the priorities lie. Could we have presented them with a plan for a bigger refs room to fob the FAI off?

I have to say I was shocked about Galway and surprised about others. I thought they'd be ok. I was just expecting it to be between Mons and Drogs for the last spot. From any outsider's view it really is crazy. For various reasons the teams who came 4th and 8th in the top flight won't be in the league at all next year, but the 9th and 10th premier teams will be in the top flight as well as 1st and 3rd in the first division. The teams who came 2nd and 4th in the first stay in the first, but the team who came 5th mightn't be in the league at all and we don't know how many teams will be in the first division or how many times they'll play each other. Luckily they published the fixtures in December!!! Y'know the thing that happens from March to November where we play loads of games - does that really have any bearing on what happens?
    Last edited by bluemovie; 14/02/2011 at 4:28 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    Is the reason not obvious?

Galway owe money to three players.Bohs owe money to none.Simple really!
    How can BOHS say they dont owe Money to anyone. You needed the FAI to BAIL you out, yous didnt pay your players, yous couldnt honour your players contracts. Your financial state is a joke. THe FAI are a joke, the LEAGUE is a joke. Cork werent bailed out, Derry werent bailed out, Shels werent, Shamrock Rovers werent, and you still get a licence. Feel sorry for Galway fans and rest of the clubs in the league.

1,552 Posts

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Flexy View Post
    How can BOHS say they dont owe Money to anyone. You needed the FAI to BAIL you out, yous didnt pay your players, yous couldnt honour your players contracts. Your financial state is a joke. THe FAI are a joke, the LEAGUE is a joke. Cork werent bailed out, Derry werent bailed out, Shels werent, Shamrock Rovers werent, and you still get a licence. Feel sorry for Galway fans and rest of the clubs in the league.
    hmmm, you'd want to read his post again there Flexy and see if you get it at the second time of reading. You also might provide a bit of proof that the FAI bailed Bohs out while youre at it as it goes against all media reports and releases. And also chill out. Theres a good lad.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    seems pretty cut and dry from this

'Nevertheless, the FAI have also confirmed to ExtraTime.ie that no new material may be submitted in the appeal. If that is the case, then it looks unlikely that Galway will be in the Premier Division next year.'

I mean if you say now that they didn't deserve to fail, than why fail them in the first place?

1,104 Posts
    Yep it's just a way of making another couple of grand out of the process. I'm struggling to think of any successful appeals in recent years.

I'm just amazed that apparently all the other clubs had a valid tax clearance cert.

Could we see a bit of a push from Mervue or Salthill now, there's potential for a mediocre Premier club in that town if twas run right like.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    ...From any outsider's view it really is crazy. For various reasons the teams who came 4th and 8th in the top flight won't be in the league at all next year, but the 9th and 10th premier teams will be in the top flight as well as 1st and 3rd in the first division. The teams who came 2nd and 4th in the first stay in the first, but the team who came 5th mightn't be in the league at all and we don't know how many teams will be in the first division or how many times they'll play each other. Luckily they published the fixtures in December!!! Y'know the thing that happens from March to November where we play loads of games - does that really have any bearing on what happens?
    It determines which teams get to sue each other for the title.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

1,552 Posts
    Might Waterford consider an appeal? And if they were successful would they then get the premier place?

Hendo isn't qualified is about the long and the short of it, regardless of anything else.

Suppose they could sack him and get in Roddy Collins or someone.

398 Posts
    Sounds like a bit of horseplay from worried John and his merry band of lackies to be honest.

If we get kicked out of the League on some nonsense considering how well ran the club is I'll actually be able to walk away and not really give a toss, amazed how non annoyed I am by the whole thing.

With regards to all the other nonsense surely the sensible thing (i know, i know, bear with me) to do would be to bump monaghan up to the premier with drogheda (lol btw) and have galway and cobh take their places in the first.
    I wondered what was going to happen when decisions on licences had to be made. You only have yourselves to blame, shame on you for trying to point out the flaws in obviously intelligent, transparent and correct communication and administration from those who would rule us :-)

164 Posts
    Apparently that would be unbecoming of us! I'd believe no one man is bigger than the club, but I'd say that's a side issue anyway. Not going to be relevant. I had no expectations of promotion. Seems Mons leapfrogged us after winning the first part of the play-off series. The one where it was Waterford United 1 Monaghan United 3 reffed by P.McLaughlin (Monaghan). Now if Drogheda, Bohs or anyone else should go bust in the next few weeks, we'd seemingly be passed over for promotion in favour of Shels whose Tolka Park ground is now a beacon of Premier-standard beauty. I'm messing though - not worried one way or the other. I'm prepared to spend another season fretting over results and travelling around the country and then waiting til next February to see whether we're deemed worthy or not.

It finally confirms what an absolute joke the Independent Assessment Group was in 2006. Did Galway finish top of the off-field criteria? The model to which we were all to aspire. Now they're not good enough for the league. That's not a cut at Galway fans - I have deep sympathy for ye - just the running of the league. How would Monaghan, Mervue, Salthill fare on those criteria - potential attendances, etc?

Nick Leeson is on his way to Abbotstown as we speak with a can of petrol!

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry-Lander View Post
    After 30+ years of ups and downs with this club today is the lowest ever.
    Thanks to those who are not celebrating our aparent demise.
    Gutted beyond words
    I think you'll find that most LOI fans are very dissappointed for Galway. On a personal level I've nothing but good memories from many visits/overnighters, be it victories or defeats, and many great games of footie played between fans outside a certain pub.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

23. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post

It finally confirms what an absolute joke the Independent Assessment Group was in 2006. Did Galway finish top of the off-field criteria? The model to which we were all to aspire. Now they're not good enough for the league.
    One can only presume they were promoted based off the lies of those that have now dragged the club down to the A Championship

I recall the fans celebrating then, so I have no sympathy for them. A few of us made mention of Leeson's past misdeeds, gave warnings not to trust the man even, but we were told we were bitter about Galway's promotion.

A sad day for those who don't believe in ironic retribution

Think the fai should just ditch the traditional method of who should be champions, promoted relegated and instead award these honours to clubs with best/worst licence application alone. At least it would save on players wages
    Weaseling out of things is important to learn, it's what seperates us from the animals!! Well... except for the weasel.

26. Thanks From:

Page 13 of 27 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast