Thread: Derry Disgrace !!

Derry Disgrace !!

From Todays Irish Times

Derry City yesterday informed the FAI, through their solicitors, that the club will take legal action in the event that it does not recieve either one of Irelands places in next seasons UEFA cup or compensation. Club officials claim they are entitled to the place on the basis that the Brandywell outfit was the only one to achieve UEFA's A licence standard.

Absolute disgrace - we need the best results we can in europe. they had their chance last year and blew it.

already up and running here

Derry Disgrace

They have a neck like a jockeys equipment.
    Their results in Europe representing the Republic of Ireland in UEFA Club competitions have been universally awful. Starting with the Cardiff City result back in 1988. Not to mention losing to Maribor over two legs at a time when they had never repeat NEVER been in a European club competition prior to this.

You've some f***ing neck!!!. When were UCD ever in Europe you gack? Come back with argument when your team has been in Europe a few times and won.

err, UCD have been in europe a good few times. In fact they have never lost a home game.

they played Everton in the Cup-Winners Cup and lost 1-0 on aggregate.

That was over two legs. That was the best any club did in europe that particular season against everton. In the final Everton beat Rapid Vienna 3-1.

In fact Bayern played Everton over two legs and lost 3-1.

In UCDs last appearance in europe they only lost on away goals after two draws.

Erm Sorry eoinh but theyve been in Europe ONCE, in 1984/85 season. But yes they were beat 1-0 by everton on aggregate. But ONCE hardly constitutes a "good few times".

Also Collegetilidie, Derry havent had the best of results in Europe, I'll grant you that but the majority of representatives have taken more serious hammerings than us. Our worst was against Benfica (at that stage one of the best teams in Europe) and that was 6-1 aggregate. Unless you're trying to suggest that UCD would have come away from the Stadium of Light in Lisbon with a better result than a 4-0 beatin'.

3,488 Posts
    You want to go and count the games again, Dancinpants? 1984/85 against Everton (lost 0-1 on aggregate) AND 2000/01 against Velbazhd Kyustendil (lost 3-3 on aggregate).

And about that silly Benfica comment - I wonder how we'd do if we ever came up against one of the best sides in Europe? I wonder would we hold them to a 1-0 margin, hitting the bar late on, and earning a standing ovation from the team's fans? Like has happened?

Don't know Derry's European results well enough to make comment on them, but your ignorance of what you're talking about is both irritating and embarrassing.

3,488 Posts
    Just got Derry's European record off UEFA.Com...

Competition---AP-Pld-W-D--L-GS-GA
    ECCC----------3--7--1--0--6--9--24
    ECWC---------3--6--1--1--4--1--11
    UEFA Cup------3--6--0--1--5--2--11
    Total----------9--19-2--2--15-12-46

It may hurt, Dancinpants, but CTID has a point...

Derry Disgrace

Dancin Pants
    Are you for real ?
    Losing 4-0 to Cardiff?
    You cannot be serious. Your European Record is DIRE !Give me A break

Anyway played twice in Europe UNBEATEN AT HOME.
    1984/85 U.C.D. 0 Everton 0 European Cup Winners Cup
    2000/01 U.C.D. 3 Velbazhd Kyustendil Intertoto Cup

For the record here were the away results
    1984/85 Everton 1 U.C.D. 0 European Cup Winners Cup
    2000/01 Velbazhd 0 U.C.D. 0 ( We lost on Away goals)

Read it and weep

P.S. My original point about a Neck like a Jockey's B****** is still valid !
    Only avoided relegation on the last day last season, ( and one of our Judases scored for ye..a freebie on a bosman see below) and ye have the cheek to try to get into Europe by the backdoor.

Come back and lecture me next time Derry manage not to embarass the League in European club competitions .

P.P.S. Stop using the Bosman as if you are playing in a foreign jurisdiction!
    If we are good enough for ye to play in our League ; then you are technically with us in all things. You ethically should not enjoy the best of both worlds. Pick up your freebies from the Irish League instead.
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 29/05/2004 at 6:48 PM. Reason: addition

Ok fair enough you've been in Europe twice sorry about that. But Pineapple, I dont see why I should feel embarassed because I was "ignorant" enough to forget that ye made a recent appearance. If anything it says alot about how little UCD bring to the League of Ireland. Bottom line is we were good enough to get there more than twice.

And Collegetilyoudie, our European record may be dire if you look at the grand scheme of things...so in that context UCD's DOMESTIC record is abysmal.So come back to me when you win another few honours.
    Last edited by dancinpants; 30/05/2004 at 3:22 AM.

Derry Disgrace

Three points

1/ Pat Jennings Junior

2/ Ciaran Martyn

3/ Clive Delaney

These 3 current Candystripes were developed, and turned into Premier Division players at Belfield. If you want to know why UCD don't have more trophies... you got all of them for SWEET F*** ALL from us.
    We got no transfer fees from you for James Keddy either back in 1996 and he only won the League with you.

In fact the only ex UCD player signed by Derry directly from us we ever got a fee for was Tony McCarthy and that was back in the LAST MILLENIUM!

So don't get high and mighty with me till your club starts to behave like it is of us and not merely with us. I have never had a problem with Derry playing in the Eircom League, but if you are in the LEague you are in for a cent and in for A EURO. Behave like a full member of the League. IF the Republic of Ireland is good enough to represent in club competitions then it is also good enough to be a complete member of it's upper football echelons... PAY YOUR WAY

If we have made such a little contribution to the Eircom League you can send them back to us by parcel post
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 30/05/2004 at 9:08 AM. Reason: omission

The point is that Derry DO NOT DESERVE to be in Europe.
    Simply because you close 3 sides of your ground, does not give you the right to claim a place in a European competition.
    On top of that, shouldn't ye be more interested in your relegation battle with Home Farm?

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    The point is that Derry DO NOT DESERVE to be in Europe.
    Simply because you close 3 sides of your ground, does not give you the right to claim a place in a European competition.
    Exactly-I used to like Derry as a club, but they have really dropped in my estimations now. This is a disfrace. It should be about football, not f'in licences and legal courts.

To be fair to the candystripes, their record of two wins in UEFA competitions compares well with many IL clubs. The mighty Zalgiris (Lithuania) have never been the same since the disgrace of taking a beating at Crusaders
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Pick up your freebies from the Irish League instead.
    Ignorant response but here....

Feck off you *****. UC fecking D.....your having a laugh.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

The amount of unionist drivel on the message board is appalling from people who cliam to be "irish" get a ****ing grip. Although Dortie what can we expect from someone living inside the pale. Dublin hahaha you treacherous ****er
    F.H.F.C - 74/04 - whats it like to win **** all.
    F.H.F.C - forever in our shadow

Quote Originally Posted by Red_terror
    The amount of unionist drivel
    I dunno about unionist drivel but i will agree .... some people have really shown their colours since this whole cropped up. You'd wonder !

Derry Disgrace

I shall attribute that outburst to the British Education you guys suffered in the occupied territories shall I fellas ?

Quote Originally Posted by Red_terror
    The amount of unionist drivel on the message board is appalling from people who cliam to be "irish" get a ****ing grip. Although Dortie what can we expect from someone living inside the pale. Dublin hahaha you treacherous ****er
    Could you explain Red? Do you mean anyone criticising Derry's legal action is a unionist? Or that Dublin's a hotbed of unionism?

The unionist media in NI seems rather underwhelmed by your rush to law I have to say...
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

Hmmm, do some Derry supporters now think that if you criticise their club, that makes you a "unionist" ?