Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Here we go again.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by max power
    you could find yourself not needing to cross the boarder to play your football as you might not be very welcome in OUR league any longer....
    Max, what sort of a statement is that to make? That we are only guests of 'your' League and that we better keep our mouths shut and not complain or else we'll get sent packing by the FAI?
    You seem to resent the fact that we were admitted into the LoI in the first place.

89 Posts
    See us Northerners

"Lisburn Distillery today confirmed they will go to court in order to gain a place in the Inter-Toto cup. The Whites finished third in the Irish Premiership and qualified for a place in the competition, but were turned down by the Irish FAs Independant Licensing Body, for failure to meet the criteria set down by UEFA. An appeal against the decision failed, but with Ballymena UTD waiting to replace them, Distillery are refusing to lie down"

A face-the Derry fans are four square behind this, the baord consulted with us and made us aware of the case and why we are pursuing it- therefore it is understandable that we are going to fight tooth and nail on internet boards to defend the position.

Some of the argument has been reasoned and those posters have been engaged and a fairly level headed debate has ensued. However some of the abuse regarding the Irish League and nationality was completely uncalled for but not altogether unexpected. Derry City are not using and will never use a "return to the Irish League" as a bargaining tool. The fans have been asked their opinions on this numerous times and the vast majority prefer to remain within the framework of the eircom League.

A number of respected posters on this and other board, especially those who have had practical experience of trying to implement the licence at their own clubs can see the validity of the case. While they may not agree with the course of action,and they are perfectly entitled not to, they at least understand Derry's furstration at the disregard for the licence which numerous clubs appear to have for the process.

If this debate does nothing other than bring the licence back front and central to the domestic game then it has already been worthwhile.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Firstly i rather see Derry get compensation rather than be entered in Europe as i feel money would go down better with Derry cause lets face if we went into Europe we would get tanked!!

Now i still think that as Derry are the only team to have the supposedly required A license you should not be bitching at us all as we have the upper hand on the whole league(not including on the pitch.)

Everyone was supposed to attain the A license and since only one club did so and the FAI didn't do anything about it, i feel it is a joke!!!

Just think if it was your club in our position then would you not feel the same woiuld you not want a reward instead of being bitched at???

If the other EL clubs had chairman like Jim Roddy it would be a far better league
    Ye know Ollie would be looking for something!!
    We shall not be moved!!!!
    Red & White Army
    BEST FANS IN THE LAND

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    A face-the Derry fans are four square behind this, the baord consulted with us and made us aware of the case and why we are pursuing it- therefore it is understandable that we are going to fight tooth and nail on internet boards to defend the position.

Yeah ... thats fair enough (when did the board consult you, i hope not last Monday, or something like that). But the thing is .... when you knew you were the only club with an A licence, why didn't you going booking flights etc. seeing as you knew you were guaranteed a spot in Europe. Why were the club going ot the papers and drumming up support etc. .... you'know .... all that goes with.

At the moment, it looks like (just my opinion) Derry saw something similar to a loop hole way off in the distance and made a b-line for it. And some of your reactions are kinda "circle the wagons boys, we'll be here for a while" .... i mean if it appeared to be more legitimate, you wouldn't have the whole "back to the wall" thing going on.

This situation could turn out to be very similar to the "i swear we posted it, ya just gotsa believe us" letter that S.P.A. sent to register Marney a while back. I mean that was just a complete nightmare for the league.

Plain and simple, if anyone thinks they deserve a place in Europe for the quality of their (half)stadium ahead of how their team performs, then they seriously need to get wired. That's spitting in the face of everything football's meant to be about and youse know it.

What none of the Derry lads have drawn attention to is the fact that the Brandywell is owned by the council so DCFC don't actually have to pay for any of the work to become licence-compliant, unlike the rest of us poor f***ers. Tell youse what, we'll all go out of business trying to become A-licence compliant and youse can be perpetual champions of a one-team League. Hope it makes youse feel better.

As regards the idiotic comment made by someone about Pats' "tarmacadam terrace", get with the 21st Century - it's concrete steps, same as any other terrace in the country. OK, it may not come with an asbestos roof, but you can't have everything. But then again, f*** it, if we let off enough flares and smokes and fireworks I'm sure we could get the Health & Safety to shut the Camac terrace and then we'd be sorted too.

As ever (and yes I am harping back to the registration sh1te), everything in this League is decided by legal wrangles, whether in court or threatened. Congratulations, Derry, you've just become a "Big Club".
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Plain and simple, if anyone thinks they deserve a place in Europe for the quality of their (half)stadium ahead of how their team performs, then they seriously need to get wired. That's spitting in the face of everything football's meant to be about and youse know it.

What none of the Derry lads have drawn attention to is the fact that the Brandywell is owned by the council so DCFC don't actually have to pay for any of the work to become licence-compliant, unlike the rest of us poor f***ers. Tell youse what, we'll all go out of business trying to become A-licence compliant and youse can be perpetual champions of a one-team League. Hope it makes youse feel better.

As regards the idiotic comment made by someone about Pats' "tarmacadam terrace", get with the 21st Century - it's concrete steps, same as any other terrace in the country. OK, it may not come with an asbestos roof, but you can't have everything. But then again, f*** it, if we let off enough flares and smokes and fireworks I'm sure we could get the Health & Safety to shut the Camac terrace and then we'd be sorted too.

As ever (and yes I am harping back to the registration sh1te), everything in this League is decided by legal wrangles, whether in court or threatened. Congratulations, Derry, you've just become a "Big Club".

Has it not been stated that the majority of Derry fans would be happy with compensation ?? As for your theory of our cash filled council SHOWERING us with funding, thats pure crap !!! They might have put new gates on the correct way around. We wouldnt have your quote 'half a ground' if it wasnt for our wonderful council.
    And YES, that was me who made the so called 'idiotic' comment about your ground....never seen concrete steps on your slanted dusty hill behind the nets ?? Your corragated tin roof over your other stand beats our asbestos roof hands down, but hey catch yourself on your grounds Just as much of a KIP as ours mate.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Sure what do youse have to worry about? When youse Dubs are shy of a few quid yeez just go crying to the FAI and get grants fired at yeez. NO club out of Dubland (especially not Derry) would get that.

Regarding the whole European carry on. I personally don't like it. I would be embarrassed if Derry City got into Europe ahead of those who deserve it.

As far as I am concerned, there are 2 criteria which have to be met to qualify for European football:

1) Finish in a European spot in your domestic league

2) Obtain a UEFA "A" licence.

Since no club in Ireland has met these two criteria, no Irish club (yes people we are Irish more Irish than some of the sell-outs on here...) should be allowed into Europe.

Now, compensation is a whole different ball-game. I think we are owed a large financial compensation for the league campaign.

Every club was made aware that you needed an "A" licence to play in the Premier Division, therefore theoretically no Irish club apart from Derry (yes, we are Irish) should be in the Premier Division this season.

The fact that another 9 clubs are in the Premier Division without deserving to be there means they have an unfair advantage because if they finish in a European spot and manage to get an A licence at some stage this season, then they will be eligible for the next spate of European competitions, whenthey shouldn't have actually been playing in the Premier Division in the first place.

Now this simply isn't fair and Derry deserve to be compensated for this.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by Red_terror
    Macy as far as I can see your the typical muck savage fine gael supporter. By your comments you dont deserve to call yourself Irish never mind us british. We have risked relegation two years in a row to fufill ythe rules of this disgraceful corrupt league, do you expect us to sit and accept this ****e. Derry City must protect their interests and the interests of this league. CITY TIL I DIE!!
    I'll repeat what I said earlier - are you saying that Longford haven't put in the effort? JCL who was never at Flancare before the redevelopment, never mind at Abbeycartron.

I'll also repeat whats the excuse going to be this year? You've spent the money in previous years (how much to the detriment of the team I'm not convinced given the size of the bids for Hasbeen and McHugh a couple of years ago, and what has (or rather hasn't) changed at the Brandywell). Now all the other the teams are playing catch up with regards the licence, you're spending money on players (e.g. Murphy and Delaney), and you're still shít - whats the excuse going to be now? If you suffered in previous seasons, you should now be reaping the benefits as the others play catch up.

Can we all catch ourselves on for feck sake.

Right then. We all think that uefa are mad b*****ds and make up s*hite rules cause they're only interested in the health of the top teams in the top leagues.

Personally, i'b be well embaressed if we finished outside the european places and then ended up playing Champions League or UEFA Cup Qualifiers.

Forget the UEFA Bullsh*te. You get what you get from performances. This is football, not the courts.

Compensation is all that i want for the club as in all honesty, we've had to turn the Brandywell into half a stadium and in the process lose "The Jungle" whilst others spent their money on staff.

Cut the cr*p now lads. Its giving us a bad name. Try walking a mile in another mans shoes. If we were top of the league and Harps were the only team with an 'A' license, what would we be saying then???...Exactly!!!

p.s. and as for the conduct of some of these Longford Supporters... What would Brian Boru have made of it all...tsk!
    Last edited by doirecity; 28/05/2004 at 10:25 AM.

i think a good idea would be any club who wants to go into europe has to own thier own ground....where would derry be then, your only tennents...

when you own your ground and have a true HOME game come back to me, sorry your tennents on half a ground.....

compensation for what by the way ????
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

but hey catch yourself on your grounds Just as much of a KIP as ours mate.
    But theres only one ESTADIO DA LUZ in Ireland and its in INCHIORE

48 Posts
    Quieres decir "estadio de mierda," coño.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by max power
    compensation for what by the way ????
    Read my post above u dimebar, and you'll see why we should get compensation.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    I'll also repeat whats the excuse going to be this year? You've spent the money in previous years (how much to the detriment of the team I'm not convinced given the size of the bids for Hasbeen and McHugh a couple of years ago, and what has (or rather hasn't) changed at the Brandywell). Now all the other the teams are playing catch up with regards the licence, you're spending money on players (e.g. Murphy and Delaney), and you're still shít - whats the excuse going to be now? If you suffered in previous seasons, you should now be reaping the benefits as the others play catch up.
    Anyone going to answer the question about what the excuse is going to be this year?

1,104 Posts
    They dont need to bother playing as theyre going to win the league by default anyway, being the only A team

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Anyone going to answer the question about what the excuse is going to be this year?
    We're not giving any excuses. We're very poor and we know we are. What's your problem with Derry? Don't say it's just because of this letter that was sent to the FAI. You seem to have some sort of deep-seated resentment towards us.

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe
    We're not giving any excuses. We're very poor and we know we are. What's your problem with Derry? Don't say it's just because of this letter that was sent to the FAI. You seem to have some sort of deep-seated resentment towards us.

He supports Longford.....youd have a chip on your shoulder too Gary....Their trophy room is as big as my bedroom side cabinet.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Read my post above u dimebar, and you'll see why we should get compensation.
    once again from a legal point, you must be an irish club, your case would fall on that alone, you are a guest of the league, were you promoted into our league ????

all the clubs would have to do is envoke a rule sayng to play in our league you must be in the state.....then it would be bye bye derry
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

What's your problem with Derry? Don't say it's just because of this letter that was sent to the FAI. You seem to have some sort of deep-seated resentment towards us.
    No deep-seated resentment, it is really is all down to the attitude since the licencing issue first came out. Threats of court action and the like are exactly the reason I (and I would suspect you) hate Ollie and Shels, why wouldn't I hate the new kids on that particular block - Jim Roddy and Derry. There is no difference between you anymore - both only interested in looking after their club, damn the rest of the league.

Actually add in the high and mighty attitude to clubs having financial difficulties in recent seasons. It's not too long you were in a similar situation yourselves, yet your club feels the need to berate other clubs that find themselves in the same position as you were. Prime example was the whole Drogheda thing.
    Last edited by Macy; 28/05/2004 at 11:48 AM.

they are lookin to make this a scapegoat for how ****e they have been this season.
    Copperknob!!!

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast