Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Here we go again.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by max power
    could it also be argued that your not in Ireland so you can't represent a country your not part of, that is a legal standpost and not a political one...
    You're starting to sound like a Harps fan now, Max. What ****in age are ye? Coming out with ****e like that makes me think that taking your European spot off ye's wouldn't be such a bad idea.

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    Im not surprised one bit to be honest.
    Well whatever differences of opinions we have, and there are quiet alot of them, that comment was a bit uncalled for.

But that still doesn't change the fact that Derry have spent loads of money on players, more than some other clubs they claim have neglected their licence obligations and are still up sh1t creek in the league. Listen when this licence was first announced, everyone knew it would be a farce as the league is not run properly at all. Derry can put the blame on other clubs but when the FAI and league don't give a crap why should the clubs care also??
    Which is why it would be wrong for them to be in europe instead of the other clubs.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

246 Posts
    you are not in ireland as the law stand so you can be removed at any time if the league and its members wish to...simple fact...
    Christ, gon listen to yourself mucker. Like it or not, we're as much part of the eL as youse are.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire
    Christ, gon listen to yourself mucker. Like it or not, we're as much part of the eL as youse are.
    Except you get exempted from parts of the licence critea based on your location...

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Except you get exempted from parts of the licence critea based on your location...
    I take it you're on about police? You're not seriously suggesting that we have the RUC in the Brandy?
    I'd have no problem with an acceptable police force present in the Brandy. (not that police are needed at the vast majority of eL matches mind)

Wasn't there financial documents that you got exempted on too? If the rest of us have to put up with a corrupt police force in our grounds, I don't see why you lot shouldn't as well...

Here, instead of youse all givin Derry grief about having an A license and trying to get compensation or whatever for it...maybe some of you lads could ask why YOUR club DIDNT get it. Why did your club not bother its hole to do anything to get it? Everyone knew it had to be done but yet 21 clubs in this league done sweet f**k all to obtain it. If ye did this discussion wouldnt be necessary. So start asking questions closer to home.
    Last edited by dancinpants; 27/05/2004 at 3:53 PM.

Wasn't there financial documents that you got exempted on too? If the rest of us have to put up with a corrupt police force in our grounds, I don't see why you lot shouldn't as well...

Jesus Macy yer as ignorant as you are bitter.

246 Posts
    There are some diffrences in financial regulations applying to us. We had to get our accounts verified in the north. The FAI then had to make sure that the regulations in the north were in line with those in the south, then approve our accounts.

All police forces are corrupt, the difference between the RUC and an Garda Síochána is that the Gardia aren't a sectarian force controlled by the British govt responsible for countless murders, beatings and torturings over recent years.

89 Posts

Due to our "unique" position, we were not exempted from financial documentation- had to be filed in a special process which was unbelievably slow- hence the reason we weren't given a licence in the first place. Suppose it beats knowing you're going to struck off and not doing anything about it.......

The PSNI are in regular consultation with Derry City/FAI/Derry City Council and they themselves have deemed it unnecessary that there is a police presence in the ground. Our insurers are happy enough with it, the FAI are happy enough with it.

We were more than happy to go with one league of twenty two- we accepted the decision of the clubs to continue with 10/12 despite voting against it.

Max power- as for you seat breaking conspiracy,at least you gave me a laugh. Your right, I drove round the country to find a stadium with the same seats, removed every second bolt in the row, then set it up, with a team in Candystripes and another team in red and black playing in the background and the scoreboard. Then I got someone to sit down on the seat and take a photo as the whole row moved back and forwards. Grow up
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

1,103 Posts
    Surely the point is that each club, in order to get into Europe has to be up to A standard on all except infrastructure, and if your ground is not up to UEFA standard you cant use it for Europe, which could cost you financially (well us anyway, mightnt bother Dublin clubs).Its not as if the issues are not being dealt with and everyone is carrying on regardless of their Licence, a lot of hard work has been going on to get up to standard and if the grants had come through the infrastructure could have been well on the way by now. Its true clubs didnt take the Licence as seriously as they should have but thyre having to do so now, they're not just being allowed to ignore it. In fairness lads ye say ye didnt spend any money on players but ye were prepared to pay 30,000 for Lavine and 40,000 for McHugh, the fact that the bids weren't accepted doesnt mean ye didnt have any money for players..
    Last edited by Longfordian; 27/05/2004 at 4:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    The PSNI are in regular consultaiton with Derry City/FAI/Derry City Council and they themselves have deemed it unnecessary that there is a police presence in the ground. Our insurers are happy enough with it, the FAI are happy enough with it.
    Well I was more aiming at the Financial side of things, rather than the police... Got the desired effect though....

As for the rest of it, how do you know that the rest of the clubs didn't put in the effort. Some no doubt didn't, others did and just didn't get it. It's ridiculous for Derry fans to claim clubs like Longford haven't put effort into meeting licencing requirements - obviously part-timers who weren't in Flancare a few years ago, let alone in Abbeycartron. Much rather go on about some broken seats than the progress that has been made.

Well Macy you should question your boards thoroughness. If they were more so, yer European place wouldnt be in "jeopardy".

ok now you see what its like when some one talks through their ar*e, your chairman has been talking through it for some time now, arsenal didn't play at highbury a few years ago, no one wanted them thrown out, you cna play where ever you wish once the ground reaches the proper standards......

you have an A licence,thats a fact....

you did not qualify for europe....thats a fact also

get over it and wish your fellow clubs well, or you could find yourself not needing to cross the boarder to play your football as you might not be very welcome in OUR league any longer....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

get over it and wish your fellow clubs well, or you could find yourself not needing to cross the boarder to play your football as you might not be very welcome in OUR league any longer....
    I think that alot of DCFC fans would prefer financial compensation as opposed to taking another teams place in Europe. If you went into the Derry forum you'd see that. But to suggest that we'd get thrown out of the league just because we contested something is just..well...laughable.

1,103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Well Macy you should question your boards thoroughness. If they were more so, yer European place wouldnt be in "jeopardy".
    Most problems our board may have had were mainly down to the negligence of previous committees. You remember what its like to have problems,you were days from going out of business if i remember rightly, and as for banging on about being struck off you'll find that the Limited company which wa struck off had nothing to do with running the club, it was late filing of paperwork, nothing more serious than that and it was reinstated handily enough. you weren't always the perfect club, just because some clubs fell a little short dont dismiss the effort that has been put in by them.

Ok Longfordian thats fair enough...but...what penalty should be paid for NOT obtaining it? What ever about falling short and making an effort at getting it. Do you think there should be a penalty? If you miss a deadline in most things in life theres a price to pay. Have you looked at this whole mess from the Derry City point of view? Put Longford in Derrys position...would you not be ****ed at being shafted again by the FAI? And moreover, would you not do something about it?

1,103 Posts
    I can see where youre coming from and I could see why you would want to be compensated but I just dont agree with the argument that ye should be in Europe instead of a club that qualified on the field. If ye had just looking for monetary compensation then i'd say it was a matter between ye and the FAI but threatening to deprive another team of a place in the UEFA Cup is going too far in my opinion. As i said I can see why you feel aggrieved but trying to stop other clubs playing in Europe isnt the way to go.

Macy as far as I can see your the typical muck savage fine gael supporter. By your comments you dont deserve to call yourself Irish never mind us british. We have risked relegation two years in a row to fufill ythe rules of this disgraceful corrupt league, do you expect us to sit and accept this ****e. Derry City must protect their interests and the interests of this league. CITY TIL I DIE!!
    F.H.F.C - 74/04 - whats it like to win **** all.
    F.H.F.C - forever in our shadow

Jebus ... where did that come out of.

I think the whole idea is mad to be honest and i'd regard it as Derry trying to get the best out of nothing. Which is kinda fair enough in another situation but to be honest, if you didn't qualify on the pitch (competing in games) then you shouldnt get a place, simple as.

Derry put alot in to get the A licence, but the fact that they are the only ones that have it right now (or they are the only club that has one YET) should not mean that they automatically get a place. It is like Derry trying to run off with the goal posts (as opposed to moving them)

After this season, that argument might change, but we'll cross that bridge when we come to it. And everyone will know where the goal posts are that season.

Thats just my take on it, and only an opinion.

I will say i am suprised at some of the Derry lads though, never had ye down for arguing this kinda thing.

Anyway .... lets sit back and relax and see where to one takes us all.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast