Sorry to bump such an old thread but what's the craic with the 2012 super cup it's all very quiet in terms of dates, teams etc I know they signed a 10 year deal and a 3 year deal with sky but after such a poor showing last year will they maybe scrap it? Or with the euros on this year leave it for a year?
Even though the games were pure sh1te last year I still enjoyed going up to the Aviva and seeing all the big names that's why I was wondering have they any date in mind so I can free myself up for it, as for a sell out can't see the fai managing that anyone else yes but that lot nota hope
My Sister is a big Liverpool Fan, so would probably go along with her as she goes to a lot of Bohs games with me.
My sisters a barstooler so she wants to go too, as ever il be one of the aliens supporting the Irish lads, imagine
Looking at the calender august 5th and 6th is the bank holiday weekend so prob the likely date.
There's league fixtures that weekend.
Think I read in some paper a few months ago, that the Dublin super cup will be scraped due to poor attendances, and the Fai will have to pay Compensation to Endemol as they signed up for 10 years
You know the fai don't give a ---- about the league.
10 years?!
Ye they signed a 10 year deal, 3 with sky to broadcast the games. You think a more clever route would be see how the first year went and take it from there.
Its run by endemol. So if it doesn't happen, presumably the FAI can sue (rather than the other way around)
Endemol have pulled out, still going ahead though this year. 10 year deal wasn't it with Endemol? I'd say the FAI saw a few bob for that.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/7347/
The FAI and Iconic Worldwide Events have teamed up to run this year’s version of the Dublin Super Cup, with the news announced today that the previous partners Endemol Sport have ended their involvement in the competition by mutual agreement.
The new partnership ensures fans in Ireland will have the opportunity to see some of football’s current starts do battle in this pre-season affair.
Manchester City were the first side to lift the trophy, which ran from the 30th – 31st July 2011, as they overcame the challenge of Inter Milan by 3-0. The high profile event also attracted Scottish outfit Celtic along side an Airtricity League XI managed by Damien Richardson.
The Airtricity select propped up the bottom of the table, failing to score during the 180 minutes of play. Celtic finished second in the table thanks to a 5-0 drubbing of the Irish side on the second afternoon. Inter Milan lost out to the eventual winners City, thanks to goals from Mario Ballotelli, Edin Dzeko and Adam Johnson.
Iconic Worldwide Events are responsible for the creation of Football’s Next Star, the Sky One show which awards one young player with a professional contract with Inter Milan. The company were involved in the creation of last year’s competition.
Whilst no team’s have been confirmed to participate in the 2012 competition as of yet, an announcement is expected in the near future to include some high profile clubs from Britain and Europe.
I hope to god theres no LOI select and they just opt for a league team in itself.
Ye totally agree it would be a lot better but how would you detirmine which team to enter and then you have to remember it's bang dead center in the middle of a hectic time in the calender so it would be very tough for a LOI team to play world class opposition back to back then throw in the fact our best teams and players are away in Europe it's just an awful headache. I hate to say don't put a LOI 11 in it because I'm sure the lads that do get picked cherish that but it's not looking good right now.
On the tournament as a whole I think the fact Endamol have pulled out says it all really.....poor attendances, poor football (it is pre-season in fairness) with last years tournament only been saved by the fantastic Celtic fans and Skys excellent coverage of the tournament which seemed to bring in a few Bob.
Spurs, barca, Celtic and Longford Town my dream (a wild one at that) line up.
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Maybe the team that finishes just outside the Euro spots could play in it. Who would that be this year? Bohs? I suppose you'd have to make sure that the team taking part could field two teams two days in a row also. Give them a free week in the league by postponing whatever league fixture they have and it should be no problem.