Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Cycling 2011

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Glad to see Roche attack yesterday, even if he didn’t get away. I think today is the last hope for a break away
    Only listening on the radio - but Roche is in a breakaway of 3 along with the man who beat the barbed wire Hoogerland and Kevin De Weert and these 3 are chasing the main breakaway of the day. Currently about 2.30 behind the leader Ruben Moreno who has gone clear. Roche's group are about 5.30 clear of the peloton - might move back into the top 20 if nothing else.

2,796 Posts
    I have mixed feelings about Voeckler remaining in yellow. Didn't he only get his big advantage in the first place because Hushovd got the peleton to slow down after the car crash in week 2, allowing Voeckler's break an additional time advantage?

The Schlecks are tedious beyond belief. I'm cheering for Evans, even if he is a big drama queen.

I can't get worked up about Cavendish, it's too repetitive at this stage, even if it is brilliant. Hushovd has been the most entertaining rider so far.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I have mixed feelings about Voeckler remaining in yellow. Didn't he only get his big advantage in the first place because Hushovd got the peleton to slow down after the car crash in week 2, allowing Voeckler's break an additional time advantage?
    No, he got it because he attacked. He's a far more agressive rider than any of the main GC lads. Crashes happen every stage. Always slows the peleton down. part & parcel of the game

The Schlecks are tedious beyond belief
    Latest moan was Frank saying Contador was attacking because 'he's nervous'. He doesn't get that Contador is attacking because he wants to win the bloody thing.

I didn't think they were particularly slowed - that break was going to stay away anyway.

The Schlecks are tedious beyond belief. I'm cheering for Evans, even if he is a big drama queen.
    I was on the fence about the Schlecks until this week. First there was the half hearted attacks and then the whinging about the descents. All bikes have brakes ffs! But I'd still pick one of them ahead of Contador to win, notwithstanding Contador being forced onto the attack. Always had a grudging admiration for Cuddles even during his wheel sucking years - sits better with me to see riders clearly on the limit rather than cruising it up cols. Now he's shown he can win too. So Cuddles my favourite too.

I can't get worked up about Cavendish, it's too repetitive at this stage, even if it is brilliant. Hushovd has been the most entertaining rider so far.
    It's still awesome when you see Cav put the hammer down, imo. Although you only really appreciate it when they have a side on, like they generally do on the champs elysees.

I wouldn't have the man love for Thor that some others have, but can see why they do! Much better to see that riding for the stage wins rather than 6 intermediate sprint points though.

In fairness he wasn't just doing it for show, he was doing it to win the green jersey.

And yeah, I'm biased

1,552 Posts
    Just finished "Racing Through the Dark" by David Millar there last night. Thoroughly enjoyed it although Millar does come across as a bit of an arse at times. His descent into doping and later road to Damascus were very interesting, although it's depressing how few previous dopers have said anything much about it. It seems that at least up until quite recently that the attitude pervaded in a lot of the peloton that the clean riders were nearly more of a problem than the dopers.

He has a right swipe at Wiggins, which didn't really feel necessary, if anything it felt like something tacked on that he may well later regret. Would still recommend it though.

On a different note- go on Roche! In a break that's at around the 9 minute mark currently.

250 Posts
    Roche away in a big group (19 riders) with 8 mins on the peleton,3 big climbs ahead of them today,107 kms to go.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Just finished "Racing Through the Dark" by David Millar there last night. Thoroughly enjoyed it although Millar does come across as a bit of an arse at times. His descent into doping and later road to Damascus were very interesting, although it's depressing how few previous dopers have said anything much about it. It seems that at least up until quite recently that the attitude pervaded in a lot of the peloton that the clean riders were nearly more of a problem than the dopers.
    Been mulling over getting it. Not to be all cyclingnews clinic forum about it, but it does kind of grate with me that he still seems to love Vino and Contador. He confessed his own, after getting busted, not sure he grassed too many others.

I think he's apologised to Wiggins, while saying part of it is because he'd love to be at sky too

If you're looking for a follow up, I can recommend "Slaying the Badger" about the '86 tour, and Hinault and Lemond.

It seems that at least up until quite recently that the attitude pervaded in a lot of the peloton that the clean riders were nearly more of a problem than the dopers
    As one journo recently tweeted; "if the cyclists moaned as much about the dopers as they do about the dope testers we'd all be better off"

1,552 Posts
    In the book his comments about Vino were that he was devastated when he heard he was doping because he'd been such a fan of his and it brought home to him how much his own doping had hurt all the people who supported him.

He also indicates that he contacted ASO and the UCI several times about goings ons in his Saunier Duval-Prodir team after the comeback and names everyone involved.

He did shield a few of the people at Cofidis though for some reason.

Edit: Cheers for the recommendation Macy, was thinking of getting that at some stage. Might chance Laurent Fignon's book as well. That said will give cycling books a break now after Rough Ride and then Millar's book.
    Last edited by Mr A; 21/07/2011 at 1:49 PM.

Edit: Cheers for the recommendation Macy, was thinking of getting that at some stage. Might chance Laurent Fignon's book as well. That said will give cycling books a break now after Rough Ride and then Millar's book.
    Yeah, the Fignon book is on my list too, haven't got around to it yet though. The Millar book is excellent too. Ned Boulting's book has got some good reviews as well.

2,796 Posts
    I read The Times' guy's (Whittle?) book "Bad Blood". Very much an anti-Atrmstrong rant, but I liked it.

Dodge, I appreciate that Voelcker attacked but I'm sure I read that at Hushovd's orders the peleton slowed the chase for safety's sake. More fool them I suppose, but still...

However, he's been a credit to the yellow jersey. Eurosport (Harmon?) were shouting "Go Tommy, go Tommy!" from 3k out today.

Alpe d'Huez tomorrow I think. What's on Saturday? Is there an individual TT to come?

Saturday is the TT. Tomorrow seems them over the Galibier again, then up Alpe D'Huez

1,025 Posts
    Don't really have much interest in cycling (none at all actually), but changed channels last night just after midnight, and saw Schleck and some other guy out in front with 8.1km to go. I said to myself that it surely couldn't take long to go 8.1km, and I'd stay up and watch it. I was still there...what, 45 minutes later?

First time I've really watched it since Stephen Roche was contending, and I'd forgotten what an absolutely gruesomely difficult sport it is. Voeckler was unable to even move having crossed the line.

Fair play to the schleck's - perfect tactics. And kudos to Cuddles too, for getting in there and pulling back the time. I thought Voeckler was a bit disingenuous in suggesting that Rolland helped to any great degree. And why the feck wouldn't he anyway, given his team leader was in Yellow.

Best comment on the stage goes to Boardman on the ITV podcast (which probably only those watching on ITV will get) that he knew Voeckler had put in enough effort, because he had to lifted off his bike!

2,796 Posts
    I don't think Boardman has a second career in commercial voiceovers waiting.

1,552 Posts
    On Voeckler.. I think the break certainly benefited from the crashes behind. On the other hand a crash wiped out 2 of the 5 attackers. I think overall it probably helped him. That said he's been superb so far.

1,552 Posts
    Great stage today. Feeling pretty good about my punt on Evans at this stage but who knows what the energy levels are like among the contenders.

Amazing stage, amazing race. Brilliant stuff

Apparently they went up Alpe D'Huez 5 minutes slower than the 90s times....

2,796 Posts
    They still averaged 34kph though, if I heard that bit right. In my triathlons on the flat I average 33kph over 40k! My max speed EVER is 57kph down a hill and I was planking myself.

57 seconds. Come on Cadel. I'll be in transit to Mallorca while it's happening.

Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast