Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Cycling 2011

I really think he is that good though. Although it's a weak field, and nobody has any kind o team around them. The tour would be different

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    CAS hearing delayed. He might make Le Tour after all.
    This stinks to me, especially given it was his lawyers request. I hope ASO do have the power to block him, as if he rode and won, and then had to be stripped of two titles, then it would do even more damage to the sport.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I really think he is that good though. Although it's a weak field, and nobody has any kind o team around them. The tour would be different
    Things that make you "hmmm". Although probably not as much as the shack guys riding away from the field in California!

Yeah, I know I know but sometimes the cyclist is just better (and again, its a weak enough field)

The California thing is a bit different...

773 Posts
    Thats the lingering problem with cycling now - always suspicion before admiration.

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Thats the lingering problem with cycling now - always suspicion before admiration.
    Not necessarily, and I say that as a cynic (about everything), but certainly some riders will forever be tainted for me.

244 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Not necessarily, and I say that as a cynic (about everything), but certainly some riders will forever be tainted for me.
    On a very basic level,I think the general public (me included) want to see riders banjaxed when they ride a very long hard stage or up a vertical mountain instead of not even being out of breath.I honestly think there is a hunger out there for the sport and a potential for a lot more people to watch cycling again but the drugs issue hangs over the sport like a bad smell and seems to overshadow anything positive about it (in the eyes of the public).

The latest Armstrong accusations another damaging blow
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 28/05/2011 at 11:44 AM.

20 Posts
    for me Contador was caught cheating. He shouldnt be cycling. The contaminated meat thing is a bit unrealistic. He also had plasticisers in his blood(as far as I remember). Have no doubt he would still be a top rider without drugs but dont think he would be so dominating. Think everyone desrves the benefit of the doubt but not in this case where he has been caught.

On a brighter note - is it just schleck or contador for tour? anyone think any other contenders? Basso?

Nicolas Roche just tweeted

"For a quick update on my race program:
    Dauphine, irish champs, tdf, san sebastien, vuelta"

Good news

Kinda under pressure now, given Gadret's performance in the Giro.

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man View Post
    I honestly think there is a hunger out there for the sport and a potential for a lot more people to watch cycling again but the drugs issue hangs over the sport like a bad smell and seems to overshadow anything positive about it (in the eyes of the public).
    I agree, but I also think there's a lot of hypocrisy from sportsfans about cycling/ doping. No one bats and eyelid at a footballer taking a painkilling injection - in fact they'd be held up as hero for being so committed - yet that'd be a failed test and 2 year ban and endless stories about how fecked the sport is, if it was a cyclist.

There's as many stories/ rumours about football (and other sports) being linked to the very same doctors at the centre of many of the cycling doping programmes, but that information appears to be surpressed. And those allegations have been leveled at the best, most skillful team in the world ever too, and no one even questions could it be true and whether it could be to their advantage. There's been the allegations in Italy too that even went as far as trials, and I've read that one of the players in a recent enough world cup final had a hematocrit level of 60% - that's Riis level ffs!

I know it's a whataboutery defence, it just pees me off - until all sports have the same testing procedures, we won't know whether cycling is really the basket case of the sports world it is assumed to be.

Kinda under pressure now, given Gadret's performance in the Giro.
    Maybe but Roche was 7th in a more talented Vuelta field so its not like he's lacking his own chops. And, of course, his whole season seems set around the tour for the first time

1,524 Posts
    Roche was right up there throughout in the first stage of the Dauphine.. came in 5th in a very fragmented field. Not a big mountain stage but good to see him going well.

Martin was 25th, 54 seconds down.
    Last edited by Mr A; 06/06/2011 at 7:34 PM.

2,693 Posts
    I agree, but I also think there's a lot of hypocrisy from sportsfans about cycling/ doping. No one bats and eyelid at a footballer taking a painkilling injection - in fact they'd be held up as hero for being so committed - yet that'd be a failed test and 2 year ban and endless stories about how fecked the sport is, if it was a cyclist.

There's as many stories/ rumours about football (and other sports) being linked to the very same doctors at the centre of many of the cycling doping programmes, but that information appears to be surpressed. And those allegations have been leveled at the best, most skillful team in the world ever too, and no one even questions could it be true and whether it could be to their advantage. There's been the allegations in Italy too that even went as far as trials, and I've read that one of the players in a recent enough world cup final had a hematocrit level of 60% - that's Riis level ffs!

I know it's a whataboutery defence, it just pees me off - until all sports have the same testing procedures, we won't know whether cycling is really the basket case of the sports world it is assumed to be.
    I reckon soccer & rugby union are weak on doping.

A year before the 2007 RWC the NZ team had a training camp and they publicised it by relaesing photos, designed to initimidate the other teams. The players were all absolutely ripped. I immediately thought they looked like American gym fanatics who all take Human Growth Hormone.

Is that true re-pain killing injections? Would they fail a cycling doping test?

I think the suspicion with Contador is that he was blood doping. He infused himself with a sample of his own blood that had been refrigerated, but the offending subtance (chlenbuterol?) hadn't fully removed itself from his blood when he froze it. He's doubly tainted anyway, because his initials were on a blood doping list found in Operation Puerto I think.

A real shame. US track & field is riddled with doping abuse I'm sure. The whole of the US fitness business is.

1,524 Posts

1,524 Posts
    Roche 9th today and up to 5th in GC. No word on Martin yet. Edit- Martin lost nearly 8 minutes. Ouch.

It'll be interesting to see how they go in the big mountains.
    Last edited by Mr A; 07/06/2011 at 4:58 PM.

Wonder what happened Martin. Must've been caught behind a crash as a few good riders in that group (his nominal leader Zabriskie included).

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Wonder what happened Martin. Must've been caught behind a crash as a few good riders in that group (his nominal leader Zabriskie included).
    Could he have just been on domestique duties?

1,524 Posts
    Roche was 43rd in today's time trial and is down to 16th overall. Martin 90th today and 118th overall.

Roche promising aggression in the mountains via Twitter.

Could he have just been on domestique duties?
    Yeah, that's why I mentioned Zabriskie. Could be freed up for the mountains now too

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Roche was 43rd in today's time trial and is down to 16th overall. Martin 90th today and 118th overall.

Roche promising aggression in the mountains via Twitter.
    He has no choice now but to be aggressive, he will never achieve his ambitions as a team leader unless his TT's improve.

Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast