Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Cycling 2011

1,524 Posts
    Only Deignan in it from an Irish perspective. Roche planned to do it at the start of the year if I remember correctly but I guess the form just isn't there.

Martin was another who had it pencilled in as it is mental with mountains, but he's been told he's going to Le Tour apparently

2,693 Posts
    That's good. I was disappointed he didn't make it last year.

773 Posts
    For anyone with iPhone / Android, the Giro 2011 app is excellent. Bit slow to update but contains descriptions of all the stages, stage profiles , rider profiles as well as highlights and results. Really good.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Martin was another who had it pencilled in as it is mental with mountains, but he's been told he's going to Le Tour apparently
    It was put out that he was targetting the Giro - think we even discussed it here, but now it's as if that didn't happen and it was never the plan. Could be the allergies not being completely solved, and I'm pretty sure Lemond blamed a similar issue for him never really performing at the Giro. He could do well in California though.

1,524 Posts

1,524 Posts
    A UCI list of the suspicion levels around each rider in the Tour De France last year has been leaked. Nicolas Roche was among the riders who rated as a zero or not suspicious.

Cycling News piece: http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/ucis...tour-de-france

ITV4 have live coverage of the Tour of California everynight this week from 9.30. Stumbled across it last night - Matt Rendell and Ned Boulting in studio, Ligget and Sherwen commentary. ITV4 have a +1 channel as well.

(Not sure if it's on UPC, but those with sky rather than Freesat/ FTA, you can add the ITV channels via "Other Channels" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2055520627 )

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    It was put out that he was targetting the Giro - think we even discussed it here, but now it's as if that didn't happen and it was never the plan. Could be the allergies not being completely solved, and I'm pretty sure Lemond blamed a similar issue for him never really performing at the Giro. He could do well in California though.
    I think the last week has shown that California is a higher priority for Garmin (and Radioshack) than the Giro. Martin is 14th with only a doddle of a stage left. Was in a breakway taht didn't make it a couple of nights ago (Eurosport had live coverage too). Not bad considering he's been a domestique for Danielson and Van de Velde

Deignan in a long break today in the Giro. Finished 14th on stage and is now 55th overall

773 Posts
    Anyone know the longest ( by time ) stage of a grand tour in recent years. Today was over seven hours and took a phenomenal effort, even Contador was done at the end of it!

It seems to be a particularly savage Giro this year as well, anyone think this will take the edge off Contador for Le tour?

It was great to watch over the last 2 days

2,693 Posts
    Apparently George Hincapie's testimony to the US grand jury investigating Lance claims that he & Lance were both doping. This is acc to CBS news I think.

Source

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Apparently George Hincapie's testimony to the US grand jury investigating Lance claims that he & Lance were both doping. This is acc to CBS news I think.
    If Hincapie did testify as such, Armstrong is really fecked - he can't be written off as bitter (for whatever reason) or a proven cheat like the others. Still a fairly big if, though at the moment. And that shouldn't be taken as any kind of defence or belief in Armstrong btw, it's just until it's published, I'm not sure Hincapie would spit in the soup.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I think the last week has shown that California is a higher priority for Garmin (and Radioshack) than the Giro. Martin is 14th with only a doddle of a stage left. Was in a breakway taht didn't make it a couple of nights ago (Eurosport had live coverage too). Not bad considering he's been a domestique for Danielson and Van de Velde
    They were debating the Garmin performance last night on ITV, including specific mention of Martin, basically saying it's too early tell how good or bad their going as they're clearly focussed on the Le Tour. Whereas Radioshack, and the only rider up there with Contador (according to himself) where specifically building for this event.

Quite enjoyed the ITV coverage, but then I also enjoy the "Real Peleton" podcast which is Ned Boulting and Matt Rendell too, just a pity it's so infrequent. Can't say the same about the commentary. I know Ligget was always a bit dizzy, but the number of mistakes and repeats of the same comments he made was ridiculous - kinda started to wreck my head a bit.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Anyone know the longest ( by time ) stage of a grand tour in recent years. Today was over seven hours and took a phenomenal effort, even Contador was done at the end of it!

It seems to be a particularly savage Giro this year as well, anyone think this will take the edge off Contador for Le tour?

It was great to watch over the last 2 days
    dont think he will end up riding the tour. was great stage yesterday. Deignan did particularly well not to be totally shot out the back into oblivion once he was the break away was eaten up.

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    dont think he will end up riding the tour. was great stage yesterday.
    Yeah, I really can't see him starting the Tour - either CAS won't have ruled and ASO won't let him, or they'll have given him a (year) ban. Not sure how I feel about mad stages like that, or mad grand tour routes - they're a great for TV, but maybe they're pushing the limits of natural endurance just a little too far.

1,524 Posts

Deignan on his Giro http://tinyurl.com/43rrkqb

He's on the long list for le Tour

19. Thanks From:

Deignan started the break today. Got too big though and he missed the split in the lead group when it happened. Finished 14th and is now in 50th overall

2,693 Posts
    Jeepers. Drug whistleblower dies in freak accident with nobody looking.

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Yeah, I really can't see him starting the Tour - either CAS won't have ruled and ASO won't let him, or they'll have given him a (year) ban. Not sure how I feel about mad stages like that, or mad grand tour routes - they're a great for TV, but maybe they're pushing the limits of natural endurance just a little too far.
    CAS hearing delayed. He might make Le Tour after all.

20 Posts
    He has kinda ruined the giro with his invincibility. I hope he isnt on the tour. he hardly has a team supporting him but he has totally dominated. Its a bit unbeleivable. So many consecutive mountain stage and not so much as an uncomfortable day in the saddle. look at some of the other guys who won stages totally blown out the following day.

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast