Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Rugby 2011

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Not according to this.
    I stand corrected! Can't believe people haven't made more of an issue of this regarding Connaught ! They have a great chance of qualification to HC with this rule.

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cornflakes View Post
    Can Leinster use the Aviva for the semi?
    I was told they cant cos they used it as a home venue in the group stages
    Have I been told a load a ****e or is it true
    Well my record on the rules on this thread is already in tatters, but Leinster can use any ground that's not thier home ground. So they can use the aviva. I wonder would Croker be considered for the semi final, assuming they get there.

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Well my record on the rules on this thread is already in tatters, but Leinster can use any ground that's not thier home ground. So they can use the aviva. I wonder would Croker be considered for the semi final, assuming they get there.
    Yeah, they can use any ground other than the RDS with a capacity over some amount (25,000 springs to mind but that could be wrong) for the semi. I've heard that Lansdowne is actually cheaper to rent for a game than the RDS because of preferential IRFU rates so Croker might not make any more money.

1,522 Posts
    Bit of a boost for Ulster as Northampton forced to move the game: http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rug...288273076.html

Don't agree with the decision, they should have been allowed to play at home.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Don't agree with the decision, they should have been allowed to play at home.
    They lost my sympathy when I read that they could've got the capacity up, but wouldn't because of the corporate's being effected. Economic realities or not, sod them.

672 Posts
    Ireland's injury crisis deepens

So who's in contention to come in? Fitzgerald at full-back, Earls on the wing but one winger berth to be filled. Can McFadden play there? Looks like it's him, Johne Murphy or Gavin Duffy although Fionn Carr must count himself unlucky not to get involved in at least the Wolfhounds at this point.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 27/01/2011 at 10:06 PM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

McFadden was excellent on the wing for Leinster in the couple of Heineken Cup games he played there. Gavin Duffy is playing in the A game this week and if he does well he's likely to start at full back against Italy I'd say. Fitzgerald didn't play well in the last two Leinster games so I'd start McFadden and Earls on the wings.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Gavin Duffy is playing in the A game this week and if he does well he's likely to start at full back against Italy I'd say. Fitzgerald didn't play well in the last two Leinster games so I'd start McFadden and Earls on the wings.
    Earls has to consider himself lucky over the injury situation or else he wouldn't get in. His forms not been good either. Kidney is a creature of habit and will be loathe to have to change things too much. Given whats fit, I'd love to see Earls play full back with McFadden and Fitzgerald on the wings. Three explosive runners there.

672 Posts
    Ireland team to face Italy

McFadden on the wing, Fitzgerald at full back, O'Leary, Ross and O'Brien all start. Sounds about right to me though choosing both Wallace and O'Gara on the bench gives us no wing cover, would've made more sense to stick Duffy in there.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

1,522 Posts
    Can't really argue with that except I'd have Leo Cullen in the team instead of O Callaghan.

Yeah, I think Cullen ahead of O'Callaghan and possibly incorporating Jennings somehow are the only close calls. Ross has benefited from injuries but deserves his place on form and McFadden has the chance now to jump up the list.

Ross has been the best Irish tighthead by far all season - a no brainer even for Kidney. Mind you, I would've thought the same regarding Cullen. Leamy lucky enough to get in ahead of Jennings too.

Hard to know how the Championship will go, but if it doesn't go well Kidney's leaving himself very open given the way some players are overlooked regardless what they do at their provinces, while some players seem immune no matter what.

http://www.lorealmenfantasyrugby.ie/Index.aspx

League Pin 7479 if anyones interested.

398 Posts
    Wales look like they could be beaten this year, England played well and their pack could cause problems. We need a win tomorrow and a solid pack to do well this year. Poor standard of rugby tonight I felt.

I don't know what to think about Ashton - he got two tries tonight, but he just doesn't seem like a good player. He is such a bulky player but I'd back the comparatively diminutive Earls to take him.

Neither side looked good. England have a strong pack but were so predictable that Wales could stop them forcing their way over. England's lack of a cutting edge will do for them against France at least.

398 Posts
    I'm delighted Ireland had a struggle, though each time they put their foot on the pedal and looked strong. It's going to be a good championship.

Shoulda, woulda, coulda, but not too bad a performance overall by Ireland, should've been out of sight. Stupid yellow at that stage of the game by Leamy when we were already under pressure at scrum time. I actually thought we could've gone through the phases a bit longer before the drop goal tbh, but fair play to O'Gara for nailing it.

214 Posts
    I don't think we played that badly. Italy are at their most dangerous on the first day of the 6N. Any fan/pundit who thought we'd put 40 points on em needs their head examining. D'Arcy had a shocker but I thought our scrum held up (despite ref pinging us a fair bit). Having PO'C is a big lift, particularly at the lineout and for restarts.

France next and it's the one 6N game I always dread. When they are good they are good. Looked a bit suspect defensively against the jocks and I hope we can take advantage.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Having PO'C is a big lift, particularly at the lineout and for restarts.
    True, I wouldn't fancy lifting him.

The overall performance wasn't awful but I'd be really worried about the error count. I reckon we left 5 tries behind due to unforced spills and wayward passes. Against France, we're going to need close to a 100% conversion rate, not <20%.

Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast