Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Summary of clubs in difficulty at the moment

Of course there's tons of stuff out there, but I couldn't follow them so I was seeing was I up to date. As marino showed above I wasn't...

1,813 Posts
    But the attempt was worthy.
    Anybody got any craic on any other clubs bar the 'Usual 4'?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

3,269 Posts
    How bout yourselves? Are ye safe in Tolka for a while yet?

733 Posts
    And on that subject, how are Longford and Athlone doing regarding paying off historic debt?

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    What's the point of this thread? There are enough topics about the clubs in "difficulty at the moment"

Geek central.
    It's a good one-stop shop. If anything it should be stickied - 'Club Meltdown Watch - Pre-Season 2011'?
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Ah OK, this makes more sense. Whats the latest in terms of a)funds raised and b)money pledged in loans? Theorhetically Bohs could come to agreement with players, and still not get a Premier license. In this case, the fundraising would have to pay for players (etc) with loan money reverting to fans. Bohs working on tiny enough budget? (and I don't know if there are definite reasons why they would be denied a license)
    Dodge, not 100% certain (nobody is at Dalymount ) but think the following is where we are at - Some of the funds raised went to pay players for November (players were originally told they could/would not be paid once season ended). Unless deal done with all players then we cant apply for a licence so there would be less (no ?) urgency in doing any deal with players at all. As has been said elsewhere an element of brinkmanship between the parties (club and players) which may run all the way to end January. Not a chance members/fans could raise enough to complete deal with players so if loan deal does not work they are not getting paid (our next fixture would be the courts)
    Outside of 3/4 players that resign on reduced terms I dont think we will have any budget for next season.
    Apart from reaching agreement with the players I am unaware of anything stopping us getting a licence.

217 Posts
    How can the league look to expand with so many clubs in trouble? While I'll like to see it expand and hopefully it will in time, the league should reduce size from 22 to 20, with 10 in each division.

Back on topic, are Fingal definitely out of the woods? I was surprised they were not mentioned at the beginning of this thread.

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    But the attempt was worthy.
    Anybody got any craic on any other clubs bar the 'Usual 4'?
    According to the well placed "inside sources" on the always-ultra forum we are but a step away from implosion.
    The marathon FAI investigation into our finances will surely be out soon, surely?

2,657 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    According to the well placed "inside sources" on the always-ultra forum we are but a step away from implosion.
    The marathon FAI investigation into our finances will surely be out soon, surely?
    oh, did they write a letter again?

Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    How can the league look to expand with so many clubs in trouble? While I'll like to see it expand and hopefully it will in time, the league should reduce size from 22 to 20, with 10 in each division.
    Clubs being in trouble is nothing to do with the number of clubs, and everything to do with bad financial management. One of the things a 10 team premier was supposed to do was concentrate resources - that worked out well!

733 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Back on topic, are Fingal definitely out of the woods? I was surprised they were not mentioned at the beginning of this thread.
    See the exchange between me, The Lep and Dodge. The short of it is that they're supposed to have found some funding - not clear where - so they're not going pop just yet. (Also, they paid a transfer fee for Bolger, and outbid Dundalk for his wages, which suggests confidence in their budget. Well, that or insanity, it being the LoI.) Anything longer term is just speculation.

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    oh, did they write a letter again?
    Stu please, how could I possibly know any of the inner workings of my own club.
    At this stage our fans and indeed the MC are now getting all information we need from the well placed "inside sources" on the always-ultra" forum.
    It is indeed a great resource to have.
    I just hope the "inside sources" know when this tribunal like financial investigation into our finances comes to fruition.

64 Posts
    I disagree with the "debts not too bad" part. They're not exactly good!

1,082 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    And on that subject, how are Longford and Athlone doing regarding paying off historic debt?
    We're getting there, slowly but surely as far as I know. Don't know what the story is with Athlone.

205 Posts
    No idea about Athlone, but apparently we made a profit of €4k last year, and I heard that the Trust have reduced the debt significantly. Martinho would be the man to ask though.
    Sporting F*ck All!

3,269 Posts
    How much did the Trust raise last year? And how many people are involved?

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Clubs being in trouble is nothing to do with the number of clubs, and everything to do with bad financial management. One of the things a 10 team premier was supposed to do was concentrate resources - that worked out well!
    Agreed, clubs in trouble is to do with bad financial management. With so many in trouble, it does not seem to be the time to be looking for an expansion of the league. If Boh's and Drog's situation gets worse and they have to settle for an A licence, the FAI should leave the number of clubs in the top two tiers at 20. It should have happened last season with Derry and Cork.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    I disagree with the "debts not too bad" part. They're not exactly good!
    As I said lads, I was doing more for myself than to be a historical record. Bits and pieces eke out all over the place so good to get somethigns straight

For the record, I hope all clubs survive, and want Bohs to be refused a European license (for selfish reasons obviously)

217 Posts
    See the exchange between me, The Lep and Dodge. The short of it is that they're supposed to have found some funding - not clear where - so they're not going pop just yet. (Also, they paid a transfer fee for Bolger, and outbid Dundalk for his wages, which suggests confidence in their budget. Well, that or insanity, it being the LoI.) Anything longer term is just speculation.
    Thanks for the update. I hope all the fees and wages are under a sound financial plan and not a casino financial plan on Europa League success.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast