Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: 1st Division Odds

238 Posts
    How does everyone see themselves lining out this season.

For Harps id say something like:

Gallagher
    Doherty
    Mailey
    McLaughlin
    Coll
    Harkin
    O'Grady
    Forker
    Bonner
    Brolly
    McHugh

with good options off the bench too.

1,103 Posts
    Hard to know but I'll guess at

Rouse
    O'Reilly
    Hope
    Deans
    Lee
    Brady
    Salmon
    Hyland
    A Roche
    Skelly
    Cowan

Delaney
    Haverty
    S Byrne
    Paisley
    Boyle
    C Byrne
    Mulhall
    D McGill
    Cassidy
    Corcoran

Subs: Skinner, Ryan, B McGill, Clancy, Sullivan, Mulvenna, Hughes

I think the strength of our bench will be our key asset this season. I'd be surprised if any other side in the league could match it. Really impressed with what Matthews has done with our squad this year. Super strong from front to back, even if we are maybe missing that one top class striker. I had to leave Gareth Dawson and Ray Scully out of that squad and all, Matthews will have some headaches this year assuming James, Corcoran, Sullivan, Scully do end up signed.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    Matthews will have some headaches this year assuming James, Corcoran, Sullivan, Scully do end up signed.
    Is that Sullivan who was with us last season? If it is, I was disappointed we didn't keep him.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Is that Sullivan who was with us last season? If it is, I was disappointed we didn't keep him.
    That is him yeah. Looks a cracking player.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

1,025 Posts
    That is him yeah. Looks a cracking player.
    He's not the most creative eplayer, but good at disrupting play and guarding the back four. Give him a few years ofdoing that and getting more experienced, and I'd say he'll be very good.

31 Posts
    Delaney
    Haverty
    S Byrne
    Paisley
    Boyle
    C Byrne
    Mulhall
    D McGill
    Cassidy
    Corcoran

Subs: Skinner, Ryan, B McGill, Clancy, Sullivan, Mulvenna, Hughes

I think the strength of our bench will be our key asset this season. I'd be surprised if any other side in the league could match it. Really impressed with what Matthews has done with our squad this year. Super strong from front to back, even if we are maybe missing that one top class striker. I had to leave Gareth Dawson and Ray Scully out of that squad and all, Matthews will have some headaches this year assuming James, Corcoran, Sullivan, Scully do end up signed.

Kevin Dawson?

61 Posts
    What odds will you get for Conan Byrne to be the first division top scorer this season ?

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Hard to know but I'll guess at

Rouse
    O'Reilly
    Hope
    Deans
    Lee
    Brady
    Salmon
    Hyland
    A Roche
    Skelly
    Cowan

I have the same opinion as Longfordian but I'd have Morley in place of Brady on the wing.....never rated Brady last season and from what I've seen in pre-season not much has changed.....very little skill and I've never seen him get by his marker!!

1,103 Posts
    Yeah just what I've seen of Morley he's played on the left and Aidan Roche would probably be first choice there so I don't know if he can play right wing. Looks a good little player though so wouldn't mind getting him in somewhere.

448 Posts
    How Vinny Sullivan settles with Cork will be very important aswell. If Cummins does himself a fairly serious injury at any stage, based on last year, they might aswell just forfeit games.
    i dont think vinny will be starting for us based on the performance against sligo on Friday.

we started 4-5-1 (sorry 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3) with cummins on his own up top, supported by Escude-Candau. I think those two could form a great partnership.

Our starting XI is quite strong now, and if we could get a decent keeper we'll be in great shape. however it looks like were going to have nults in goal for the time being

McNulty

Hoggy/Turner Gav Kav Spillane Danny Murphy

-----------Morrisey Duggan------------
    O'Brien - Escude-Candau - Davin O'Neill
    ------------ Cummins----------------

I think thats among the best sides in the division, and we have Stephen Mulcahy to come back into the team

we have questions over McNulty and O'Neill needs to show what we know hes capable of

I think Morrisey is one of the best young players in the country and will be a star for us this year

The good thing about this season is that 4-4-2 is an option with Vinny in the squad.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    i dont think vinny will be starting for us based on the performance against sligo on Friday.

we started 4-5-1 (sorry 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3) with cummins on his own up top, supported by Escude-Candau. I think those two could form a great partnership.

Our starting XI is quite strong now, and if we could get a decent keeper we'll be in great shape. however it looks like were going to have nults in goal for the time being

McNulty

Hoggy/Turner Gav Kav Spillane Danny Murphy

-----------Morrisey Duggan------------
    O'Brien - Escude-Candau - Davin O'Neill
    ------------ Cummins----------------

I think thats among the best sides in the division, and we have Stephen Mulcahy to come back into the team

we have questions over McNulty and O'Neill needs to show what we know hes capable of

I think Morrisey is one of the best young players in the country and will be a star for us this year

The good thing about this season is that 4-4-2 is an option with Vinny in the squad.

Davin is a proven goalscorer as this level in particular from his time at Ramblers and its that Davin we will hopefully see for City this season .
    We over relied on Cummins last term and so ideally not only we will hopefully see him do something similar to last season but goals will be spread around the side a bit more aswell.

Based on pre season performances from what ive seen , Morrissey looks like he is going to come of age this season and himself and Shane Duggan should hopefully make a good central midfield partnership. Like Morrissey, i reckon Spillane could be one to watch this year for us aswell at the back because he is a decent prospect.

From talking and hearing from the players, they seem intent on getting promoted by trying to top the division .
    Our squad is a good one and this season should be an exciting one on leeside.

420 Posts
    I think we will be the same as last year beat the lower teams which will keep us around the top teams but not doing anything against the teams around us like we struggled against the likes of Mons Waterford and Derry(Cork at home too) last year .

And just on this part of sheao post:

"From talking and hearing from the players, they seem intent on getting promoted by trying to top the division ."

Id say you would hear the same from Us,Waterford,Shels,Monaghan and maybe Harps too doesnt mean much.
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 20/02/2011 at 10:35 PM.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I think we will be the same as last year beat the lower teams which will keep us around the top teams but not doing anything against the teams around us like we struggled against the likes of Mons Waterford and Derry(Cork at home too) last year .

And just on this part of sheao post:

"From talking and hearing from the players, they seem intent on getting promoted by trying to top the division ."

Id say you would hear the same from Us,Waterford,Shels,Monaghan and maybe Harps too doesnt mean much.

I guess that shows you how competitive the first division is and also how difficult a division it is to get out of .

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sheao View Post
    I guess that shows you how competitive the first division is and also how difficult a division it is to get out of .
    True.

Would have loved if Shane Duggan had come to his hometown club. Our lads that played in home-based u21 said that Morissey was class too. Like us with O Flynn though how much of a threat would ye be without Cummins.

1,103 Posts
    Latest Boyles odds
    2/1 Shels
    10/3 Limerick
    7/2. Waterford
    4/1. Cork
    10/1 Monaghan
    16/1 Harps
    25/1 Longford
    50/1 Athlone
    66/1 Wexford
    150/1 Mervue
    150/1 Salthill

Quote Originally Posted by sheao View Post
    Based on pre season performances from what ive seen , Morrissey looks like he is going to come of age this season and himself and Shane Duggan should hopefully make a good central midfield partnership. Like Morrissey, i reckon Spillane could be one to watch this year for us aswell at the back because he is a decent prospect.
    Saw them playing for the Irish U-21s the other day.

Morrissey looks like a serious bit of player alright.

Spillane struggled to be honest.

The three lads we had in the midfield for that impressed aswell and will be very important to us. Dave O'Leary (A Cork lad!!) is absolutely brilliant, I wouldn't be a bit surprised if we lost him cross channel midway through the season, Garbhan Coughlan is coming on leaps and bounds and Paudie Quinn we signed from Tralee looks like he could be a great player, arguably the stand out for Ireland on the day (there was a foreign looking right full from Bohs aswell who looked like an excellent prospect) and he's been having an impressive pre season. Jeffrey Judge would have played the other day aswell if he wasn't injured, another very important youngfella for us.

It's looking very competitive alright.
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 21/02/2011 at 1:26 AM. Reason: judgie

22 Posts
    Very hard to judge us after the past week's disruptions which had PD level playerson trial and in talks and 3 friendlies off. Our display and lineup against Shamrock Rovers last week was enouraging though. Should know more tomorrow when we get players registered. Either way, Shels, Cork and Waterford look strong on paper. Lims too. Going to be tough division to escape from. Any of those four and ourselves looks stronger at this stage than Drogheda or GUFC.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    how much of a threat would ye be without Cummins.
    None at all. We have a decent starting 11, bar Nults, but very little in reserve.

That said every club that gets promoted tends to have a stand out 20 goal a season striker. I think all the top teams would struggle if they lost that player.

Far too tough to call this year. While our first 11 is decent, it'l depend a lot on how they settle together. We're a bit short for cover at the back and very short for cover on the wings and upfront.

If we stay injury free, settle quickly and learn how to put teams away we are in with a shout, but it is a big ask. At the moment I think Waterford and Shels are ahead of us based on squad and stability. I'd have us and Limerick on about the same level and it could go either way. Monaghan could be in either group, I don't know how they; react to the disappointments and how the squad will settle and Harps could be the dark horses.

I'm not very confident but at the same time not finishing in the playoff place would be a disappointment. It'l certainly be interesting!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    None at all. We have a decent starting 11, bar Nults,
    We were only bemoaning how poor choclate wrists was the other night when he pulled off an absolutely amazing save.
    He is still the weakest link though.
    James McCarthy ex-Cobh was on the bench the other night.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast