Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Media's Role in the Election

521 Posts
    I wouldn't be too quick to write off FF. They've polled badly in the past and they've bounced back from the "undecideds" who're too cowardly to admit they're just so utterly retarded they'd continue voting for FF if Bertie Ahern visited them personally and stuck a red hot poker up their holes. They'd probably view it as an honour.

20% undecided now versus 15% undecided the last time. They're out there. Sure Lowry's* probably going to get in in Tipp again, and he's an actual crooked politician.

Of course I don't want to see it, but this country has an enormous Moron contingent.

* Not FF I know, but let's be honest, he's as FF as you can get, despite history.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 22/02/2011 at 5:45 PM.

1,550 Posts
    Miriam O Callaghan is pathetic, she is letting Martin run the feckin debate.

1,025 Posts
    Is anybody watching RTE 2 now?

"Ok so the debate is over, let's get some opinions on it. Mr Fianna Fail strategist, who do you think won?

"Well I feel Micheal Martin was the clear winner.

"And Mr Fine Gael strategist?

"Well I feel Enda Kenny was the most impressive.

"And Ms Labour strategist?

"Gilmore was the resounding winner."

THIS is what I pay E140 something for?

F**K OFF RTE.

"People are being literally crucified by the banks."

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    20% undecided now versus 15% undecided the last time.
    I think "don't knows" is now down to 11% in the current poll. I share your concern about FF, but the don't knows won't all break for FF, so they'll still be under 20%. However, I think a lot of the "others" will be FFers masquerading as Independents a la Lowry and Healy Rea.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A
    Miriam O Callaghan is pathetic, she is letting Martin run the feckin debate.
    She was brutal yet again. Allowing Martin shout down and interrupt in the good old fashioned FF way, with the usual RTE collusion.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan
    Is Sean Dorgan Martin's fat twin? Every time he's on the TV he shouts down other panelists a la Martin, and they even have the same mannerisms. The 11th Hour has gone to crap, I hope tonight is the last one. And yer wan is a minger - if she was in a club, you wouldn't go near until 10 to 2.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    She was brutal yet again. Allowing Martin shout down and interrupt in the good old fashioned FF way.
    It's what Martin does in every argument.

The 11th Hour has gone to crap, I hope tonight is the last one.
    It is. It's one of the last election programmes allowed to broadcast before Polling Day. There'll be little election coverage after it, until the exit poll is released early on Saturday morning, which will give us a very clear indication of the outcome, before a single seat is won.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post

"Ok so the debate is over, let's get some opinions on it. Mr Fianna Fail strategist, who do you think won?

"Well I feel Micheal Martin was the clear winner.

"And Mr Fine Gael strategist?

"Well I feel Enda Kenny was the most impressive.

"And Ms Labour strategist?

"Gilmore was the resounding winner."

THIS is what I pay E140 something for?

F**K OFF RTE.
    They did the exact same after the last one too, I think with the same people. Somebody needs to tell them that doesn't count as balance.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    They did the exact same after the last one too, I think with the same people. Somebody needs to tell them that doesn't count as balance.
    The last one was even worse, with the 5 party strategists (or former strategists) as the studio panel. It's completely pointless. Vinnie completely wiped the floor with the 11th Hour last night, even if Vinnie had that stupid bee in his bonnet about no programme for Government before the people.

1,025 Posts
    VB was advertising tonight show during last night's show, and he said that there would be a representative from each of the 5 parties, Hanafin from FF, Reilly from FG, Ryan from the Greens, and then he said confusedly, "and, and...there's another party isn't there?" Not impressive.

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    VB was advertising tonight show during last night's show, and he said that there would be a representative from each of the 5 parties, Hanafin from FF, Reilly from FG, Ryan from the Greens, and then he said confusedly, "and, and...there's another party isn't there?" Not impressive.
    Some lefty crowd. you know, the ones with the rose. And the beardy guy who blew up that thing...

Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    Some lefty crowd. you know, the ones with the rose. And the beardy guy who blew up that thing...
    The hippies not involved ?

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    The hippies not involved ?
    Oh, they're in it up to their crusty armpits!

221 Posts
    Going back to the original topic, does tomorrow's half-day (2 p.m.) moratorium serve any useful purpose, if it ever did? As yesterday's polls showed, 89% of the electorate have already chosen their candidate, so won't need a silent period to meditate/reflect on who to select. Also, it's ridiculous in this digital age, that broadcast media are gagged from possibly disclosing pivotal breaking news, which would be freely available on the web.

229 Posts
    I think it's good to have a moratorium do degree. The way it is is grand. I've heard enough of it already. I've known all along who I'll be voting for. My mind was made up over the last few years.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    Going back to the original topic, does tomorrow's half-day (2 p.m.) moratorium serve any useful purpose, if it ever did? As yesterday's polls showed, 89% of the electorate have already chosen their candidate, so won't need a silent period to meditate/reflect on who to select. Also, it's ridiculous in this digital age, that broadcast media are gagged from possibly disclosing pivotal breaking news, which would be freely available on the web.
    RTE can't be trusted. It's only right imo, otherwise you'd have stuff like the indo's "payback time" headlines on broadcast media as well.

942 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    Going back to the original topic, does tomorrow's half-day (2 p.m.) moratorium serve any useful purpose, if it ever did?
    Ah it's great. It gives us political junkies a decent rest before the marathon on Saturday. Won't be at a count centre this year (for the first time in yonks) so it's a sofathon and the telly for me...

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82
    I'll agree with you, there is no point to the moratorium. People don't need a "rest day" to make their mind up. The ones that have already voted didn't need one, and neither do we. Especially when the coverage is covered all over the print and digital media.

Ten Years Not Out

is there any argument against the moratorium? Whether its logical or not I don't see the harm in it

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    I'll agree with you, there is no point to the moratorium. People don't need a "rest day" to make their mind up. The ones that have already voted didn't need one, and neither do we. Especially when the coverage is covered all over the print and digital media.
    The point is to stop people being influenced, especially with dirty smears that don't have time to be responded too. You can go looking for coverage, but people aren't exposed if they don't want to be. I can't believe people seriously think FF aided and abetted by RTE wouldn't be pulling stunts right up to poll opening, and even during the polling day!

176 Posts
    I don't believe RTE, TV3, or radio stations are out to help one party or another, the day before the poll. If people want election stunts, there are other ways of finding it today.

The moratorium, much like the tv licence and other outdated customs we have, was designed for a different time, not the easily accessible press, and 24h tv culture prevalent today.
    Last edited by mypost; 24/02/2011 at 8:38 PM.

Ten Years Not Out

24. Thanks From:

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345