Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Seems Lizzy's on the way...

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post

Brilliant photo, grey haired man decides to go protest about Britain in Ireland wearing a British football top. Younger looking fella with his back to his camera decides to stock up on Dennys ham before joining said protest. You don't get Dennys in Dublin do ya? Genius!
    Whole host of them there wearing that garish Celtic away top as well.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paudie View Post
    AFAIK all visiting heads of state lay a wreath at the Garden. She had to go really.
    All visiting heads of State on official State visits lay a wreath, Obama won't lay one next week. However this is not a normal head of State and it's not a normal wreath and it's not a normal ceremony so you know yourself that there's always a bleedin' heart republican who would have a problem with it regardless of the protocol.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,284 Posts
    Morrisey gets a bit heated and likens the Queen to Gadaffi: http://www.nme.com/news/morrissey/56728

The former Smiths frontman wrote: "The Queen's visit to Ireland is part of a new Palace PR campaign to re-invent the Windsors. The message from The Queen will be the same as ever: who we are born to is more important than what we achieve in life."

Elsewhere, he appealed directly to the Irish people's own interests: "The Queen also has the power to give back six counties to the Irish people, allowing Ireland to be a nation once again. The fact that she has not done so is Fascism in full flow. What else could it be? Name one other European country that is controlled by its neighbour."

433 Posts
    Philip seems to be a bit of craic, always stops to talk to the women any chance he gets Just waiting on him to say something offensive!
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

170 Posts
    Descendants of ex-Taoiseach Sean Lemass have snubbed Brenda's visit to the Bloody Sunday reconciliation ceremony at Croke Park. "We have to shoot off earlier" said a spokeswoman for the family.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    All visiting heads of State on official State visits lay a wreath, Obama won't lay one next week. However this is not a normal head of State and it's not a normal wreath and it's not a normal ceremony so you know yourself that there's always a bleedin' heart republican who would have a problem with it regardless of the protocol.
    The only people of any principle who stand up for what they believe in and actually get out and protest in the whole country, like the rest of the gob****es, who sit and have a crumble but do absolutely nothing as our gombeen politicians destroyed the country and sold it down the river.
    Last edited by TiocfaidhArmani; 18/05/2011 at 10:19 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Morrisey gets a bit heated and likens the Queen to Gadaffi: http://www.nme.com/news/morrissey/56728
    I wish musicians, especially good ones, would shut their mouth over politics and current affairs. They always sound like idiots.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    "The Queen also has the power to give back six counties to the Irish people, allowing Ireland to be a nation once again. The fact that she has not done so is Fascism in full flow. What else could it be?"

Democracy?

Over 94% of the people of the Republic Of Ireland (who voted) endorsed the settlement agreed viz a viz the "constitutional question".

The terms for Ireland "becoming a nation again" are quite clear.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

398 Posts
    Apart from some ould German biddy and her Greek fella clogging up the streets, apart from the goons wearing british football kits to protest against (understandably) against a british ruler, the greatest shame is that toolkit Ryan Tubridy making a shame of himself. Wold someone not shove him off the tpo of the Gravity bar? Good god.

214 Posts
    Is Lizzie gonna have an overpriced pint in Temple bar at any point?!

Laughed at this morning....from the Torygraph

"Republican terrorists had tried, predictably enough, to hijack the visit by planting a bomb on a bus, hours earlier, but nothing was going to allow a vanishingly small minority to thwart the will of the Irish people and their president, Mary McAleese."
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    I wish musicians, especially good ones, would shut their mouth over politics and current affairs. They always sound like idiots.
    I don't see any good musicians in that quote, only a whiney self-obsessed little b*tch.

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    The Smiths were a great band, but have made good career out of slagging off the queen going back to the 80s. Take what he says with a pinch of salt.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Is Lizzie gonna have an overpriced pint in Temple bar at any point?!
    Apparently she refused a pint this morning at the Guinness Storehouse. Probably for the best seen as she's heading for croker later. I can vouch from personal experience that the toilets there aren't the greatest.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 18/05/2011 at 12:50 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    The only people of any principle who stand up for what they believe in and actually get out and protest in the whole country, like the rest of the gob****es, who sit and have a crumble but do absolutely nothing as our gombeen politicians destroyed the country and sold it down the river.
    I'm a republican ( people should be allowed protest) but you'd never see me roiting with that crowd yesterday.

20 Posts
    she will probably go back and tell people "dublin is dead"! Empty streets and rows of gardai in their bright yellow jackets. Cant see it being the boost for tourism it was claimed it would be. Lets hope Cork people arent as good at hide seek as the dubs.

As for the protesters they are an embarrassment. Judging by the photos, the Spar on Talbot street must have ran out of chicken fillet rolls so the scumbags had to move on for a while.

People have the right to protest - it only crossed the line with the missiles etc, if that happened. Bar the obvious of protesting against the visit in British football tops, I'm not sure I'm totally comfortable with some of the commentary regarding the protesters. God forbid the working classes protest against the visit of royalty and upset their betters who are creaming themselves?

19. Thanks From:

944 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    Like this, do you mean?
    Attachment 1758

They'll get their just desserts after the revolution, comrade.

21. Thanks From:

522 Posts
    Attachment 1758

That's /exactly/ the image I had in my head when I read that post!

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Apparently she refused a pint this morning at the Guinness Storehouse.
    There were photographers present and you're not allowed film the Royals while eating or drinking,her husband looked like he would have liked to down it as he took ages to walk away from it

777 Posts
    Everytime I see the Duke of Edinburgh, all I can think of is Hugh Dennis and his Voiceover on Mock the Week.
    Last edited by Real ale Madrid; 18/05/2011 at 3:10 PM.

Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast