Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Seems Lizzy's on the way...

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense
    The BBC (and most other British media) normally refer to the country as 'Ireland', unless (as in this case) there's a potential for confusion. "Queen to make first state visit to Ireland" would obviously fall in that category, as viewers would think of previous trips to NI.

So actually, it's neither usual nor nonsense.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Jeez lads, ye're fierce sensitive altogether. Would ye like me to send ye flowers to make it all better.
    No, donations to the distressed diaspora fund would be fine, thanks.

446 Posts
    Erm, of course. That makes us all wrong.

500 Posts
    ArdeeBhoy banned from CA.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    The BBC (and most other British media) normally refer to the country as 'Ireland', unless (as in this case) there's a potential for confusion. "Queen to make first state visit to Ireland" would obviously fall in that category, as viewers would think of previous trips to NI.

So actually, it's neither usual nor nonsense.
    In which case they should use the term 'Republic of Ireland'. They never do, they always use the incorrect term 'Irish Republic' instead. Search on the BBC website and you'll see this. It is never correctly put as the 'Republic of Ireland'. The incorrect 'Irish Republic' is the usual BBC way of referring to the state and as it is has absolutley no official usage here, it is nonsense.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Yeah, it's one of those things that really irritates me. That, and "Southern Ireland" which they'll also slip in sometimes.

1,524 Posts
    Irish Republic, Republic of Ireland- sorry, but who flipping cares?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Irish Republic, Republic of Ireland- sorry, but who flipping cares?
    I know I shouldn't, but I just do, A Mr.

500 Posts
    Well said Mr A.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    In which case they should use the term 'Republic of Ireland'. They never do, they always use the incorrect term 'Irish Republic' instead. Search on the BBC website and you'll see this It is never correctly put as the 'Republic of Ireland'. The incorrect 'Irish Republic' is the usual BBC way of referring to the state
    A quick search on the BBC website reveals:

Republic of Ireland 10,106 mentions indexed
    Irish Republic 6,185

So, as I said, it isn't "usual" is it?

and as it is has absolutley no official usage here, it is nonsense
    OK, I can see that as well as irritating you, it's possibly against protocol. Perhaps your embassy could make a gentle complaint or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Yeah, it's one of those things that really irritates me. That, and "Southern Ireland" which they'll also slip in sometimes
    I'm pretty sure that one's a wind-up. (By them I mean, not you).
    Last edited by Gather round; 08/03/2011 at 6:04 PM.

999 Posts
    There's only one way to settle this....

There's a difference between grovelling and respect. The way those muppets go on, you'd think Liz herself invaded the country just yesterday and raped the natives one by one. It's just ridiculous in this day and age. Move on for god's sake, there are more important things to be protesting and worrying about. The country is in ruins, we could do worse than have a few british tourists over
    peope are entitled to their views no matter how much you disagree .. alot of people out their could not care about lizzy coming over .. the country is in ruins and we the taxpayers will be also be picking up the bill for her visit ... oh yes on respect what has she done for ireland to earn our respect .
    Last edited by dahamsta; 09/03/2011 at 12:06 AM. Reason: fix quote

" football is a simple game "

500 Posts
    People are certainly entitled to their opinions. As am I.

Since the visit hasn't even been agreed yet, you have no idea who'll be paying for it. I'd be very surprised if the costs weren't shared. I'd also be very surprised if the resulting tourism wouldn't cover a multiple of any costs to Ireland.

And respect is an individual thing. I wouldn't be a huge fan of monarchies on health grounds alone, but I have a lot of respect for Elizabeth. She'd kick your ass for a start.

20 Posts
    Why do you respect her hamsta? If people want to protest let them they have every right too I don't see why your getting your knickers in a knot
    Misfits

899 Posts
    You just know a thread has taken a wrong turn when Newton Emerson makes more sense...

"Armoury of facts a perfect defence against anti-queen whingers"

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...291667802.html

My favourite line:
    7. Her real name is Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha
    Is anyone in Ireland seriously going to sneer about being ruled by Germans? Seriously?

500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    Why do you respect her hamsta?
    I think she's a strong, independent woman (bursts into song) that doesn't take crap from anyone. She also seems like quite a nice lady, someone I'd like to meet and talk to. I'd like to meet Charles too, isn't that awful?

Now it's your turn, what exactly did she do that makes you so keen to keep her out of the country?

If people want to protest let them they have every right too
    They do, and again, I have a right to think they're idiots. You're not really getting this whole free speech thing are you?

Thanks for that EG, this line tickled me:

Quote Originally Posted by IT
    Not exactly. Policing the protesters will cost a fortune. Policing the queen is completely unnecessary, while policing Prince Philip can usually be left to the queen.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 09/03/2011 at 11:34 AM.

20 Posts
    Never said I want to keep her out of the country. Did I? Personally I don't really care about it. Given the history of this country it's only natural some will still oppose her visit. Do I think they are idiots? Of course not but why is it when you don't agree with someone they automatically become idiots?
    As for her been independent? I don't know would the average British tax payer agree with you on that one.
    Misfits

500 Posts
    They're idiots because they're talking about protesting something as inane as this, when they should be protesting about something important. The rape of this country by the banks, for example, or the other bunch of idiots we've just gotten rid of. The closest they can come to that is this idiocy. Hence, idiots. They're a bunch of spastics.

And on independence, 10 gets you 20 that if the British public cut her off tomorrow, she'd have no problem surviving. Charles is a money magnet, despite his morals and ethics. Not because of who he is, but because he knows what people want and how to sell it to them.

170 Posts
    Last edited by Gather round; 10/03/2011 at 8:10 AM. Reason: duplicate post

170 Posts
    I'd also be very surprised if the resulting tourism wouldn't cover a multiple of any costs to Ireland
    A spokesman for the British lobby Republic claimed recently on the BBC that tourism here actually fell in 1981 (when Chas and Di married), compared with the pevious year. I think there was also a similar effect around Euro 96. Overall visitor numbers didn't rise, basically because the football crowds replaced other tourists, rather than adding to them.

And on independence, 10 gets you 20 that if the British public cut her off tomorrow, she'd have no problem surviving
    So you respect her for being independently wealthy? It's hard to claim she's independent in other ways, when the whole point of her long era is never saying nor doing anything that hasn't been scripted for her by the government of the day. She's discreet- and since her uncle (King Edward 8, who resigned the job to marry his divorced girlfriend), husband, sons and grandson Harry clearly haven't followed her example, maybe the end of that era may prove a watershed.

I'm guessing most people in RoI are basically indiferent to her visit, as they would be if it was the Queen of Belgium/ Norway/ Western Samoa. At the fringes there'll be a fuss in the sleb-obsessed press, and at the other extreme demos by some political lobbies. Hopefully the organisers/ Guards will be on top of ensuring neither brings the country to a standstill. (I'm not suggesting her political opponents are inherently likely to riot, btw).
    Last edited by Gather round; 10/03/2011 at 8:14 AM.

20 Posts
    Good post gather round. Also Hamster do you think it will just be eirigh who will protest or do you think the actions of one protesters looking for media attention shares the views of all who will protest about the visit? To tar them all with the same brush is a 'idiotic' view. I should also add if your directing your comment at eirigh when you say they should be protesting at something important like banks. Well as far as I know that group have been doing plenty of protesting about banks and the last government.
    Misfits

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast